We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two thumbs down!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sabang Beach, Sabang, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sabang
Makati, Philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Two thumbs down!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed there for 3 days & 2 nights but got dismayed when we checked in. First, the front desk told us that they were just experiencing power interruption due to change oil so we understand that but we learned that it was almost a week that they dont have power supply. Second, we have reserved a deluxed room but they said they were fully booked that time and there's no available bed for couple so they gave us a room with 2 single bed, they just joined the bed so that my husband and I won't be sleeping separately. So sad, how come they run-out of bed when in the first place we already gave them our schedule so they can prepare it ahead of time? Third, when we got in to the room there's no aircon and no wi-fi connection available even the television did not work. Overall, i can give them an unsatisfactory rate and two thumbs down!!! It was just a waste of money but maybe it was our fault, we got carried away by the pictures they've posted at deal grocer. So next time we will be more careful..

Room Tip: Be careful on choosing the place you want to stay..Don't get carried away by pictures only make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelaTan, Guest Relations Manager at Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
On behalf of our entire staff, we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you regarding the unexpected power failure. It was unfortunate that this happened during the time of your visit with us.
As a partner of Deal Grocer, we are committed in providing best quality service to all our guests. However, we were very unfortunate to have our 3 main generators to fail all at the same time. The management has taken necessary steps to ensure that this will never happen again, by purchasing 2 more additional generators plus repairing the 3 current ones. We are now back to normal operations and would like to invite you to come back to our property, please do contact us for your next visit for us to make amends to ensure that your next vacation will be the best in Sheridan. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    158
    60
    30
    21
See reviews for
116
129
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Do not stay in this hotel until such time that they have replaced their generators. Stayed there for 3 nights with no air-conditioning and it was hot and humid. No ceiling fans no contingency plans. No offer to billet you at a different hotel. You are not informed of what's going on or the status on when power will be out or back on. You have to constantly look for someone to give you an update and no one - this is not an exaggeration - knows what is going on exactly. Communication among the staff and management and across departments is just horrible from a guest perspective. We were told our underground river tour was at 930, then we confirmed and was told 830 then got a call to say it was at 10am only to be called to be downstairs by 9. All by different people. Training the staff a must. Management was nowhere to be found. For the price of the hotel accommodations and the food it was a disappointing stay overall.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor if you want to avoid pool noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelaTan, Guest Relations Manager at Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
In behalf of our management and staff, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experiencedwith regards to the unexpected power failure during your stay here at Sheridan Beach Resort & Spa.
We are committed to provide quality service to all our guests. However, we were very unfortunate to have our 3 main generators failing all at the same time. The management had taken necessary steps to ensure that this will never happen again, by purchasing 2 more additional generators plus repairing the 3 current ones. Everything now is back to normal.

The underground river is managed by the local government. Even though any sudden changes that they would usually have on reservation schedules, we always try our best to accommodate all our guests, rather than the tour being cancelled. We apologize for the inconvenience this change of schedule may have caused you.

We hope to make amends on your next visit with Sheridan. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makati, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Sheridan. Of the 3 nights, 2 were without electricity and 1 day without flushing toilets. Rooms were beautiful with very comfortable (memory foam) beds, modern furniture and big restrooms. The pool is amazing with plenty of sun chairs. The beach is beautiful with large waves and a stong under current, but there is a very diligent life guard who is not afraid to use his whistle and keep everyone safe. At the end of the day, I understand that life on an island can bring about power interuptions, but a resort as large and expensive as the Sheridan owes it to their guests to have multiple back up generators.

Above all, what needs to improve is anything doing with FOOD & SERVICE. Its not unusual to hear things are "not available" in the Philippines, but hearing that after waiting over an hour for your food is not acceptable. This happened at EVERY meal service. We were told there was no coffee at breakfast, there was no attendant at the omlet station, there was no fruit, rolls, etc and this was in the middle of the breakfast service time window. At lunches and dinners, there was no pasta - or it "smelled bad, so they didn't serve it", there were no pizzas (after we saw one being served to another table), no soda other than Coke Classic, and our lunch and dinners took at least 2 hrs - because without fail, one or two dishes would be served a full hour after the initial plate was served. It takes a lot to make me complain to the waitstaff, but I just had to - it was getting past comical and very frustrating. We finally started asking - "What is available" - we were told to eat the buffet - which was white rice and garlic rice.

The staff is young and not well trained. The resort needs a strong Management team that cares about the service being provided. Upon check out, there were so many visitors "yelling" at the front desk about the service - and the Manager hid in the back room, letting the front desk staff fend for themselves. This could be an amazing resort - but if the management is not improved (thus, improving the service and ensuring the resort is well maintained) it will go out of business due to all of the frustrated visitors demanding a refund.

Kudos to Moses and Zam our tour guides - they were great, helping us see both the Underground river and experience the Zipline.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelaTan, Guest Relations Manager at Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Greetings from Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa! We appreciate you taking time to give feedback regarding your experience here at our resort. On behalf of our entire staff here at Sheridan Beach Resort & Spa, we sincerely apologize for the concerns you had, which is very inconvenient on your part. Our guest satisfaction is our main priority, it was not our intention to have made your stay unpleasureable, but due to unfavorable conditions, we have fallen short this time. The only source of electricity on the island comes from our generator set. And we are very unfortunate to have our 3 main generators to fail all at the time. But nonetheless, this problem has already been addressed. It is our commitment to give quality service to our guests. We are continuously conducting trainings to handle crisis situations to further improve in providing our guests the best service possible. Rest assured, we are doing the best we can to be on top of the challenges we experienced at the resort. We guarantee you that this will not happen again in the future. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I arrived at this hotel with a two night booking expecting to move along to Port Barton but 15 minutes after checking into my room, seeing the beach and the pool I extended and extra 3 days for a five night stay in total. The rooms are clean and comfortable maybe in the range of a Philippines 4 star, the pool is fabulous and the beach clean (they rake it every morning). The level of service still needs some work but nothing to really complain about. I made the mistake of overnighting in Puerto Princesa on my arrival to the island not knowing that the Sheridan provides complimentary top quality air conditioned van airport transportation with a minimum 3 night booking. The Wifi is slow as it is via satellite through Korea and there were several news sites I could not log into because they are blocked by the Korean Internet router. On the way to the airport, I had the pleasure of sharing the van with the architect who explained several concepts he embodied in his design as well as shared some of the expansion plans for individual bungalows in the near future.

This is a great place for couples, families and solo travellers and I would happily stay again

Room Tip: Get a pool view room on the lower level and there is direct access to the pool/beach along with a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I've stayed at Sheridan approximately 5 separate occasions. Each time was a wonderful experience. A combination of experiencing the luxurious architecture, amenities, rooms, and service against the serene backdrop of the mountains and the soothing crashing of the waves on the beach.
I tend to be picky with the amenities of hotels and resorts when I travel, Sheridan has the best room design, cleanliness, design, furnitures and appliances compared to any resorts and hotels in Puerto Princesa. There are two specific features of their rooms that my friends and I definitely enjoyed, the super comfortable bed and pillows and the super quiet Panasonic split type AC. Each night was a well rested night.
They are also the only resort in the area that has un-interrupted power supply 24/7 compared to other resorts that ration their power. I don't know about you guys but I can not sleep without power especially AC.
The food was great. The best cheeseburger I have tried. Although it would be better if they could add more choices of fresh sea-food. The prices were very reasonable too. We were expecting over pricing similar to other hotels but we were surprised that the prices of food were comparable to Manila. Overall we were well fed :)
The staff was very accommodating and friendly. There were several occasions where the staff had went out of their way to accommodate my friends and I.
We will definitely pick Sheridan every time an opportunity arises to travel to Palawan.

Room Tip: Take advantage of their deal grocer packages and book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This hotel is amazing! It is a piece of heaven in Puerto Princessa with great facilities and hotel amenities that is truly world class. Pnoy (the President of the Philippines) even stayed here. It is the resort of choice of most celebrities and VIPs and I can see why. The spa is very relaxing and the service is excellent. Massage on the beach anyone? Heaven! Food is also sumptuous and at reasonable prices. The swimming pool is a dream come true with a pool side bar and a very convenient pool lounge area with sun beds what more can you ask for? The staff are marvelous and well trained. The room was delightful with beautiful interiors, very modern and classy. The bathroom was spotless and nice. I recommend that you avail of the Underground river tour which the hotel will happily arrange for you. It was included in our hotel package but I'm not sure how much it costs seperately. Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa is THE place to stay in Puerto Princessa.

I llove love love Sheridan! I'm considering holding my wedding here as a destination wedding. It's a great alternative to Thunderbird or Bellarocca.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This hotel has the ambition of being a 5 star resort but is failing severely. We had several problems already at check-in. We booked the rooms through their sales office in Manila who told us it was not possible to stay more than two people in the same room. Since we were two big families we had to go for several rooms.even though we preferred to have the children in 1-2 rooms. Upon check-in it turned out that they in fact don't have any such rules. They were at first not willing to change the booking even though we had explicitly asked for this since "it is not possible to change it now". After arguing a while they agreed to have the children in 2 instead of 3 rooms.

We were asked to pay the complete bill upon check-in. When we asked for a receipt they gave us a hand written paper with no explanation what to pay for. We asked for an official receipt with a breakdown on what to pay for which they were not able to give us. They could neither explain the total price since "the system doesn't show that" until check-out. So why asking us to pay at check-in? This was also solved after some arguing and they agreed to have the payment at checkout but it was a bit of a tiring process.

The bad experience then continued. We had lunch and dinner here both days. At each order they were out of at least 2 things (Coca Cola, sparkling wine, juice etc etc).

The service was mediochre.

The rooms were nice and clean and nothing to complain about and the pool area nice which saves it from a 1 star rating.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa

Address: Sabang Beach, Sabang, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Sabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located on the west coast of the Philippine Island of Palawan, home of beautiful mountains, lush rain forests, and a variety of wildlife, this resort is a few hundred meters away from the Subterranean Underground River. Boasting 94 spacious guestrooms and suites, all are tastefully furnished and decorated in a contemporary Asian style with a touch of local culture. All guestrooms and suites are fully equipped with modern amenities for guests’ comfort. The resort also offers a wide range of facilities such as swimming pool, fitness center and spa. Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa is offering guests a luxury and quality services in hospitality, which has made this Sheridan property a top destination among accommodations in Palawan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheridan Beach Hotel Puerto Princesa
Sheridan Beach Resort And Spa Sabang, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.