We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice environmentally friendly resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort
Sabang Beach, Sabang, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sabang
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice environmentally friendly resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

In our oppinion, coming from backpacker quality hostels, this is a luxury resort. The rooms are great, clean and air conditioned. The surrondings are very relaxing with the mountains meeting the sea. Food is great, but you can get as good food just a couple of hundred metres away at half price. The ambience is better there too.

The staff speak very well english and are of course very service minded. We took the luxury of laundry service, and were lucky the sun was up - they hang them out to dry. If it's raining, it could take weeks before you get your clothes back! Another environmentally frindly feature is that they are using solar energy to get warm water.

The place is great if you want to mind yourself and relax. But if you want more hustle and bustle you should pick a resort further down the road. The standard is less, but the surrondings are genuin and full of life.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    94
    19
    1
    4
See reviews for
103
139
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chisinau, Moldova
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

This place is in the middle of nowhere an has just amazing view.. and hotel is just really nice, garden and decorations restaurant was good too i enjoied staying at this hotel..

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Although a lovely place with a nice beach and beautiful surroundings I did not feel this was good value for money. It is the kind of resort that would cost maybe two thirds of the price in Thailand. The service is not European standard - I sent back cold food for example, asked for fries that were fresh and not warm ups - which they were. The beach huts are ok but for the price you expect something more luxurious. A cold shower in the morning anyone? No, we could not even have a hot shower as the water is heated by solar panels and takes all day to heat up! Plus, we got bitten by insects - there are gaps in the window slats and insects can get in. I would not go back there. I also do not want to hear thumping dance music at breakfast time which was another annoyance!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Lovely and friendly staff, good location for people who like to stay close to see the underground river. Clean room with own spacious balcony. Lovely beach. The resort also organise a tour to the underground river. Its a bit of a shuttle ride from the airport but its all worth it if you want to see the underground river without queing for the boat ride and avoid the crowd. But beware of the honey bees!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

This was the third to last stop on my first trip to the Philippines. Having spent three weeks travelling around including; Bohol, Iloilo, Boracay, Cebu I can honestly say that this was my favourite part of my jouney (well, equal favourite with the penultimate stopover in Dos Palmas, Palawan). The hotel and surrounding area was a welcome break from the travelling around and numerous flights and was a truly wonderful place to relax and enjoy all that nature has to offer. The beach was wonderful and the sea was a joy to swim in (not crystal clear like Boracay but much warmer and a lot less crowded).

The trip to the underground river was well worth it but the journey back (we decided to take the jungle trail) was a lot further and more strenuous than I thought it would be - hundreds of steps up and down) but glad I managed it as we got to stop off at some lovely and deserted beaches. The rooms at Daluyon are a little compact but beautifully appointed with comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and wonderful relaxing views of the ocean. The staff were warm and friendly but the service in the restaurant was a little haphazard and inattentive - but not really an issue (just sit back and go with the flow). It's a long journey to get to Sabang but not a chore as the scenery is lovely all the way.

I would recommend anybody planning a trip to the Philippines to include Palawan on their itinery and Daluyon in Sabang as the most natural and relaxing place to stay. I surely hope that I can manage to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

I fully paid my three night stay in a ground floor family suite in Manila. A good friend highly recommended Daluyon. The reason we had to have a ground floor beach front Family Suite is because my husband and I traveled with our three daughters: 9, 8 and 2. So a tall staircase would not do. I am very particular about rooming arrangements to assure my utmost pleasure and convenience.
We took a 1.5 hour long and winding road from Puerto Princessa airport to Daluyon - please make sure to bring Bonamine, this will be your lifesaver.
As soon as we got to the resort - the front office manager told me that our ground floor family suite was not available due to leaks in the bathroom and living room.
They were giving us two separate rooms, each on the second floor. All I ask is for the Daluyon front office to give us a choice. We decided to stay in the original Family Suite - this was non-negotiable, and as soon as I said: "I hope I am not paying full price for this leaking room." - the GM said: 'I'll give you 20% off".
This GM Ed, must have felt really bad about giving that discount because during the next few days - he no longer greeted me.
Moving on to other things that matter - the sand was beige, not white. Nevertheless it was fine, and the kids enjoyed making sandcastles by the beach. The waiters and bartenders were friendly and courteous. There was a huge menu - so if you stayed for three nights, you wouldn't have to repeat food. I must say the food was good - service was highly satisfactory.
The beach is powered solely by a 24 generator - this means they burn diesel 24 hours a day. I felt guilty having the AC on, and burning fossil fuel. Lighting in this resort is poor.
But what matters most is the kids thoroughly enjoyed the resort. THey wanted to stay longer. But what can I say? My kids are very easy to please.
I on the other hand have stayed in other Palawan resorts such as Amanpulo and Dos Palmas. I know it is unfair to compare - but the GM should have managed expectations and not assume that we were fine with being put anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

loevly place. rustic style in keeping with the environment but all the comforts - air con, plush bed, hot shower, bathrobes.. lovely pool for an evening swim. nice food and service. feel so relaxed during our stay there. totally worth it. and all envoronmentally friendly etc.
it rained while we were there - but the rooms were so nice to chill in - and they had dvds to borrow (free)! perfect. a much needed comfort break from backbreaking back packing!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort

Address: Sabang Beach, Sabang, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Sabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on secluded Sabang Beach by the Underground River, a Unesco World Heritage site. 12 Modern-Asian beachfront cabanas comprising 27 rooms with private verandas, 24 hr. Generated power supply with air-conditioning, solar powered hot water and energy efficient light bulbs. Facilities include a restaurant serving Asian Global cuisine, a large adult swimming pool and a kiddie pool. It is surrounded by an old growth rainforest with limestone cliffs and a mangrove lined river flowing into the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daluyon Beach And Mountain Hotel Puerto Princesa
Daluyon Beach And Mountain Resort Sabang, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.