We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could even better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort
Sabang Beach, Sabang, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sabang
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good but could even better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Lovely cottages in great location by nice stretch of beach and close to town. Service very friendly but could use a little polish e.g. very hard to get service at pool bar, no soap in our room on arrival. Good spread for breakfast. We did get ill after eating dinner in the restaurant but staff dealt with it well. We ended up staying in both superior and deluxe rooms and would recommend the former - cheaper and although smaller just as nice and better storage.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    94
    19
    1
    4
See reviews for
103
139
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanjing
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great rooms, good swimming pool ( though slippery surface around ... Be careful), ok restaurant, fantastic beach. In all a super pleasant experience highly recommended for families, lots of space and beach for the kids . Many things to do around (zip line a must).

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

At first look via the web page I thought oh well, not much to do here. When I arrived I was correct...there is no night life, there are no water recreational activities except for board paddling which I did not do because of the rough waters...with that said, it was a wonderful vacation. If you're looking for a place to relax, get away from the city life and just enjoy being pampered by the excellent staff and an absolutely delicious cuisine, then this is the place for you! Another plus is if you want to see the Underground River then then you have to stay here. No need to wait for a long line because you can walk to the bangka that takes you there which is just up the beach. I stayed at the city and tried to see the river and had to wait 5 hours because of the long line. For those that like trekking, you can actually walk through the forest via a guide and get to the entrance of the river if you so choose. Only thing bad I could think of was that there is no wifi, but what do you expect since it's in the mountains!

Room Tip: all rooms have Ocean view but try to get on the 2nd floor so you don't hear the people above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This property was really nice, unlike my other stay in the north in El Nido. What a difference! First off, we arrived about 10:00pm after traveling the bumpy road from El Nido, so we were very exhausted. When we arrived, our name was listed on a board welcoming us to the resort, a very nice touch. All the rooms are 2 story cottages. Our cottage was on the second floor and by all standards, very plush. We had three separate rooms in the cottage which comfortably slept the 8 of us in our party. It was fully air con and also had a wraparound deck, which was very nice, especially for coffee in the morning. The view was also nice. It faced the ocean, as well as the garden area leading to the ocean. The room also included a buffet breakfast for our stay, and it was very good. Service was also a plus, even when my wife got bitten by a centipede, which she probably picked up somewhere outside on the grounds somewhere. She had 2 big bumps on her back from this, but when we notified the front desk, they promptly responded with ointment as well a vinegar that we asked for, and thankfully, the next morning she was doing fine. All in all, this was a great stay, and I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The main reason I chose this hotel was to be near the Palawan Underground River. I think I chose wisely, as being at Daluyon helped us get to the Underground River much earlier than we would have managed if we had come from Puerto Princesa, and allowed us to enjoy the serenity of an early morning visit to the area.

Even if you were not planning to visit the Underground River, I think that this resort is still a good choice, if you want to unwind in beautiful and quiet surroundings. Not only do you have a picturesque beachfront, but also chain of mountains that make the scene quite stunning. There are also much fewer people than in other resorts that I have been to in the Philippines, certainly a big plus for me! The only disadvantages are that the sun rises from behind the mountains, so you won't really see the sunrise (I'd recommend an early morning walk anyway), and the ocean waves can be quite strong, so sometimes it is not possible to swim in the sea. If you are content to swim in the resort's pool and to lounge along the beach, then you should be fine.

I liked the traditional architecture of our cottage (as opposed to the concrete structures in the nearby Sheridan resort). In spite of its bamboo exterior, the room itself had all the modern comforts (air-conditioning, hot water and cable). I also noted the little touches like the windows with slats that allowed you to let natural light filter in while keeping the windows closed and the bins inside the room and around the complex that encouraged waste segregation. Each cottage has a balcony from which you can relax if the hammocks and the recliners on the beach don't tempt you. We stayed on the ground floor of one cottage and hardly ever heard noises coming from the occupants on the upper floor.

The restaurant offers a wide variety of Filipino and European dishes and a very decent dessert selection. The buffet breakfast would please most guests and is vegetarian friendly. Food at the restaurant is not cheap (be prepared to shell out at least PhP 500 per person per meal at a minimum), but its proximity to the cottages, the quality of the food and the service that you get make eating there worth it (something I cannot say about another restaurant that I tried in the neighborhood).

The resort is about two hours away from Puerto Princesa Airport. Fortunately, about 90% of the road is now properly paved, although the trip up the mountain may make some people queasy (do not eat too much before you make the trip!).

Room Tip: All rooms have a beachfront view, but if you are traveling in a big group, consider taking the cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here with my partner last November 28 - November 30, 2013. Booked this resort as it has the best reviews of all the resorts in the area. I booked it by emailing them and I dealt with Kristine Salazar. (I booked it way back in march i guess, and at that time they had no option to reserve online, but i think they now have that on their website)
Kristine salazar was accomodating and very easy to deal with. she responds to my email promptly and assisted me with all my queries. Originally I had booked a Junior suite but since some of the people decided not to go, I had to downgrade and Kristine was kind enough to offer me the new deluxe room B without any penalty. She also arranged the underground river tour and the puerto princessa city tour as well as the transportation: I would suggest you book the tours with them if you want to avoid being in a tour with strangers.
So when we arrived in the airport of palawan, the tour guides where already there. the tour guides were friendly and gave us bottled water for the city tour. After the tour, the actual van that will bring us to the hotel waited for us while we had lunch, and we were again provided with bottled water for the hour and a half trip from the city center to the the resort.
Upon arrival, the hotel staff took care of our luggagges and gave us welcome drinks and some refreshing towels. Check in was fast. The resort's ambience was pretty much homey and relaxing. The room was clean and spacious. It had a well stocked mini bar, welcome fruits, complimentary bottled water, nice balcony and clean toilet and bath. the balcony overlooked the beautiful sabang beach. The resort only had a couple of guests so it wasnt very noisy and crowded and it felt like we had the resort to ourselves during our stay.
the beach was clean and combed but we didnt get to enjoy it much as it rained during the afternoon. We loved the nice clean pool and the free billiard table and darts next to it: They also provided beach towels in a native bag which you can conveniently carry around the resort:
food was good but a lil too pricey for the serving size. plus they charge a lot for room service. Breakfast is served a la carte and was delicious. the staff were friendly and didnt hesitate to greet you with a smile. the only problem we encountered was the useless wifi and at check out where they ask you for your mini bar consumption, then double check it with a house keeping staff over the radio. You can,t remember all the drinks you took out of the mini bar, they should have a system in place for this to speed it up and not delay the check out.
Over all, amid the minor hiccup, the resort is the best option in the area; great friendly and helpful staff, good food, easy access to the beach, clean and spacious room, at a reasonable cost. Will definitely go back to this resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

the hotel is beautiful.
rooms are amazing and completely different then anything else we stayed in- a beautiful and spacious high tech room- shaped as a bungalow- right on the beach,
with a lovely balcony and complete privacy.
the beach is beautiful and quite.
the sea is not safe at evening duo to strong currents.
Good service.
perfect bed.

daluyon and sharidan are in a completely different league then the rest of sabang...
had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort

Address: Sabang Beach, Sabang, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Sabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on secluded Sabang Beach by the Underground River, a Unesco World Heritage site. 12 Modern-Asian beachfront cabanas comprising 27 rooms with private verandas, 24 hr. Generated power supply with air-conditioning, solar powered hot water and energy efficient light bulbs. Facilities include a restaurant serving Asian Global cuisine, a large adult swimming pool and a kiddie pool. It is surrounded by an old growth rainforest with limestone cliffs and a mangrove lined river flowing into the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daluyon Beach And Mountain Hotel Puerto Princesa
Daluyon Beach And Mountain Resort Sabang, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.