We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Donagh

Cafe Donagh
The Diamond, Carndonagh, Ireland
(074) 937 4191
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 10 Restaurants in Carndonagh
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Dundonald, Belfast.
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had lunch here and although the soup and sandwich were tasty enough and the staff friendly the little cakes were definitely shop-bought !!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    0
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing on a Sunday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was the first time I visited this little Gem! Pascal and staff are friendly and make customers welcome. Food was lovely as was the coffee and fresh cream! Next time I will sample the goats cheese brushetta. Pascal's canvas paintings (in oils) on the walls going up the stairs is worth seeing. Nice lamps on the window ledges!
I'm told there is traditional music on a Saturday afternoon upstairs. Cafe Donagh is open every day of the week. Go on, pay a visit - you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great food at a good price , staff are friendly too . Seafood chowder is well worth a go and the breakfast is by far the best in town .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently took a drive around the innishowen and surrounding areas and got pretty hungry and needed a refueling so we stopped off in Donagh Café I had a lovely chicken baguette and my girlfriend had the goats cheese bruchetta and both of us had a realty nice feed. Thanks Donagh Café for a great refueling.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went first in February and again in June when we visited the area again. Wonderful food, all cooked on the premises by a delightful French owner. A good selection of delicacies, some quite different from the usual fare.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Donagh also viewed

Carndonagh, County Donegal
Carndonagh, County Donegal
 
Carndonagh, County Donegal
Carndonagh, County Donegal
 

Been to Cafe Donagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Donagh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.