We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting around in inishowen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cycle Inishowen

Cycle Inishowen
8 Chapel Street | Inishowen Peninsula, Carndonagh, Ireland
+353 74 937 4856
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Carndonagh
Type: Gear rentals
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cycle Inishowen - cycling holidays, bike hire and bespoke tours. Cycle Inishowen offer a range of holiday options depending on your length of stay – be it a long weekend or a full vacation. We have self-guided tour packages of three, five or seven nights’ duration – all of which include a visit to Ireland’s most northerly point, Malin Head. We operate from the start of April to the end of September. All of these itineraries include accommodation in local, independent hotels with evening meals and breakfast. We offer complimentary transfer from Derry/Londonderry before and after the holidays, daily luggage transfer and detailed itineraries for each day's cycling. Cycle Inishowen provide all customers with a size-matched bicycle from our own fleet, and all the safety and convenience accessories you may need. We do also offer a ‘Bring your own Bike’ price, and have great deals for kids.Bike hire is available on a daily or weekly basis, and we offer group discounts. Our hire price includes drop-off and collection anywhere within Inishowen, along with all the equipment such as helmet, lock and pump. We can also do guided tours, or organise self-guided tours, for individuals or groups.
British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Getting around in inishowen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We rented a house in inishowen for a few weeks and decided to rent bikes during our stay there. Cycle inishowen delivered to our door with all the gear we needed and with perfectly maintained bikes and maps. We were able to tour around our area at our own leisure, bike to the local beaches, stores and just explore. Although being from Canada it was a little intimidating biking on roads with no shoulders we found the drivers very accommodating. A great way to see the area and a great little business.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaise H, Manager at Cycle Inishowen, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review, I'm really glad you enjoyed the bikes.
We go to a lot of effort to make sure they keep running that smoothly and it's great to know our customers appreciate it. Hope your journey home went well and that you can come back to us on the Emerald Isle again sometime. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carndonagh, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A must do in Inishowen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is a great day out for young and old. Cycle Inishowen can drive to your location to provide you with bikes or you can cycle to your destination and get a lift back home again. Oggy and Blaise were very friendly and helpful and it was great value to rent the bikes for the day (we were a group of 5 and got discount.) If you are visiting the area or even if you live in Inishowen you should def give this a go!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaise H, Manager at Cycle Inishowen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review! It is fun to be a tourist at home sometimes and we are really glad you choose to do that with us. :) Thanks for taking the time to review us - we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect trip for birdwatchers and families.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My son and me spent absolutely lovely afternoon on Inch Wildfowl Reserve tour. Blaise, our guide was very entertaining and full of information on wildlife and history of the area. I highly recommend the tour for everyone, specially birds' lovers and families with kids.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaise H, Manager at Cycle Inishowen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm really glad you both enjoyed your tour, I love that route at Inch myself and enjoyed sharing it with you! Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Donegal. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great day no matter what the weather!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We spent the better part of a very rainy day with Blaise, cycling from Carndonagh to Malin Head. We were treated like old friends by Blaise and Oggy (not sure of spelling), from the moment we arrived. The bikes were of excellent quality and in perfect condition. We hired Blaise to guide us on our ride.
We were fitted for our bikes, helmets and rain gear and off we went. Blaise grew up here so her knowledge of the area is extensive and entertaining. No matter if it's history, faerie tales or local interest, we loved learning about this beautiful area from someone who obviously is proud of her heritage.
We took back roads so traffic was rare. Some of the hills were difficult for me (I'm no spring chicken), but Blaise never made me feel rushed or inadequate. She just got off her bike and walked along side of me, chatting amiably, although she easily could have gone on.
The scenery was incredible, even through the rain. Every turn in the road brought new wonders.
We stopped at a lovely spot and had a delicious lunch with a great view. Then, when we arrived at Malin Head, the sun came out, as if on cue, and we relaxed on the grassy hillside overlooking the ocean, and dried off in the warmth of the day.
Definitely one of the highlights of our two week trip to Ireland.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaise H, Manager at Cycle Inishowen, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hi Shelley,
I'm so glad you enjoyed your day as much as I did! And on such a washout of a day too :) You were both really good company and a pleasure to spend the day with.
Thanks for the really lovely review - I really appreciate you taking the time to write it for us and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. All your talk of Nova Scotia has left me with wanderlust!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We love biking as a family and hired bikes from Cycle Inishowen to make a trip to the beautiful Malin Head. Oggy and Blaise were so helpful and friendly and explained the best routes, kitted us out with fantastic bikes, helmets, rain jackets, maps, repair kits etc. - everything we needed!
the scenery and views were beautiful and we had such a great day - the sore bums were well worth it!!!
Cycle Inishowen is highly recommended in our book! Thank you very much :)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaise H, Manager at Cycle Inishowen, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We're really glad you enjoyed your day - and still impressed you all managed to cycle up that hill to Banba's Crown at Malin Head! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Inishowen. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cycle Inishowen also viewed

Carndonagh, County Donegal
Carndonagh, County Donegal
 

Been to Cycle Inishowen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cycle Inishowen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.