We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good buffet feast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pin Wei Oriental Cuisine

Pin Wei Oriental Cuisine
35 High Street, Abbots Langley WD5 0AA, England
01923 268028
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $36
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Japanese, Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good buffet feast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Arrived with a group of friends on buffet night. At £18 it is expensive but its nice to have meals cooked freshly and brought to your table.
The starters were good especially the salt and pepper squid and chicken wings. The spring rolls were also well filled. We followed this with crispy duck which went down well.
Main portions were boot huge but by now we were full. We particularly enjoyed the crispy chilli beef and sweet and sour pork. We were too full for the sweets.
The beer is slightly expensive at£3.95 a bottle.
All in all the service was good and we had an enjoyable evening.
Parking is good but watch the ramp on entry.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely waiters/waitresses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food is good and the people are nice. It's reasonably priced and never too busy. I would go again and recommend to friends.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dissapointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Visited the pin wei on the 11/7/2013 had read good reviews so gave it a try, found the service not very friendly, but the food was pretty poor, left most of the meal, my friend had the lobster at £23, lots of shell and head and legs, but virtually no flesh, my sweet and sour chicken balls were also not very nice, the chicken was tough and the batter a bit thick, I had a diet coke my friend had a glass of white wine, the bill came to nearly £70 which I felt was very expensive for such poor quality and service, still they won't see me again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lovely food, lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

really tasty food. and small portions which was brill for us because we normally end up wasting if the plate is piled high
plus easy to find and easy parking out front of restaurant

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Visited restaurant late Sunday afternoon. The place was relatively quiet but the service and the food was great. Particularly loved the lamb in black bean. Will definately return again soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pin Wei Oriental Cuisine also viewed

Abbots Langley, Hertfordshire
Abbots Langley, Hertfordshire
 
Abbots Langley, Hertfordshire
Abbots Langley, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Pin Wei Oriental Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pin Wei Oriental Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.