We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice little resturant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knightor Winery and Restaurant

Knightor Winery and Restaurant
Knightor Manor Farm, Trethurgy, St Austell PL26 8YQ, England
01726 851101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Trethurgy
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: European, Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
south coast UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“a nice little resturant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This place is a little out of the way and well worth a visit we found the service freindly and welcoming being a winery you get a chance to sample the wine very nice. The food although well presented and cooked was adequate not special it isn't a place i would rush back to although i also wouldn't avoid the whole experience was a pleasant evening out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    22
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bugle, Cornwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was our second visit, the first as a couple and then we took our friends who were staying with us for the weekend (one who was a chef). The food is superb, very tasty and the staff were very helpful and gave us great advice about the wines. It was a shame that there were not more customers in the restaurant to support this establishment, but we still had a great time and were not rushed.
Our friends have asked us to book the restaurant again when they return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb for that special occassion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Visited on Saturday night - the food was excellent as was the wine. I would thoroughly recommend it for a special occasion - bit too pricey for that every day, and it would have had a better atmosphere if there had been more people in the main restaurant - there was our table of 4 and another table of 6. As this place is still fairly new and it was the first day in December suspect that it is probably busier in the summer season and that everyone has started christmas frenzy and will be dining out later in the month. Either way well worth the visit for the quality of food the, excellent presentation - not too much and not too little (unlike some eating establishment in the St Austell area who seem to think that the only to make people happy is to fill over fill their plate) and for the very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Terrible service, good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We have visited Knightor three times as local people wanting to support a new business.

All I can say is that the food is good, a nice choice with some delicious cooking. However this is very spoilt by the terrible service.

Having eaten in restaurants all over the world from a pop up next to a car park in rural Italy to Heston Blumenthal's Fat Duck it really is the service which makes the evening.

Here sadly that concept is ignored.

The waiters know nothing about the food or the menu, nor do they seem to think it important that they should. One one occasion I suggested to our waiter he should try all the dishes and learn how to describe them to which he said, 'well I only got here 5 minutes ago!', he didn't even offer to find out anything from the kitchen.

On another occasion we waited almost 40 minutes for our wine to be told they didn't have it and then another 15 minutes whilst they found a suitable alternative - and this is a vineyard and wine shop.

An argument then commenced with the manager who argued that it wasn't his fault.

If the standard of service improves then the food is good enough for this to be a credible night out, but until then, avoid this place.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianDerx, Owner at Knightor Winery and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Uk Traveller,
I am sorry that you say that you came three times to receive such poor service and have gone from wanting to support a local business, to warning people against using it. We have no one working with us who has started with us so recently,that they could say that they have only been here 5 minutes. If they did say this being flippant, it would be very helpful to know when you came so I could identify who you dealt with. I am on 07815 196199 or you can email me.
The core staff who take orders from tables were Ash and Sarah, both of whom know the menu, and Angelo who is head chef. None of them can recall the situations you describe and as you can see from the other reviews their service is often highly regarded.
Normally we can identify where we have made an error ,as you can see in my response to other reviews, so it is disturbing not to be able to do so in this case. The manager thinks that you were a customer that was also looking for a front of house role with us.
Clearly we do not want to give bad service. Though it does not make up for it, I am glad that you liked the food and the menu so much.
Kind regards,
Adrian Derx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Very impressed! Not the cheapest, but amazing food. We need more establishments like this in St Austell!

Will definitely be going back.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knightor Winery and Restaurant also viewed

 
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Knightor Winery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knightor Winery and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.