We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Good Days in Essex!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Rd, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Two Good Days in Essex!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel is very well run, comfortable and reasonably priced. The rooms are good, the restaurant serves a decent breakfast and we had a very acceptable dinner there one of the nights that we stayed .Car parking is outside the door and , although there is no lift, there is one flight of stairs to negotiate only. If you have difficulty with stairs, make sure that you tell them on booking. They also have specially adapted rooms for people with mobility problems. Well recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 230, which faced a field, so that side is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    192
    132
    75
    48
See reviews for
92
198
27
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Visiting Colchester, we chose this hotel because it was near ,without the inner city difficulty of overnight parking. This hotel is low rise and very pleasant of appearance. The lobby is quite Roman in design , but the bedrooms are modern, well equipped and roomy. The beds are large and comfortable and we found very quiet, we were facing the back fields. The restaurant was very good and we had one dinner and two breakfasts. The service was swift and the food well presented and served efficiently, and it was tasty. There is a leisure area and pool which looked nice though we didn't have time to try it. All in all a very pleasant experience and if we cam this way again we would certainly stay here

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

After our recent stay at this Hotel we left a positive review because my wife and myself had a very enjoyable 2 day/night break.
We had read a few reviews for this hotel and felt some of the comments were unfair as we had no problems at all and decided to book again for my wife's birthday.
I booked a 1 night stay for her Birthday on Friday 7th March and once again the Hotel and Staff were Fantastic and my wife had an enjoyable time.
When I booked by email I informed the hotel it was my wife's birthday and they immediately reserved our booking and enquired if I wanted anything in the room for our arrival from Champagne, Chocolate's and Flowers etc.
The price quoted for this was very reasonable so I did request Champagne and Chocolate's.
We arrived on the day just after 1pm with intention of having a swim and steam/Sauna etc before booking in the room at 2pm.
We were pleasantly surprised to be informed the room was ready and we were able to book in straight away.
This gave us the chance to take the luggage to the room and change before using the swimming pool.
We had an upgraded room which was slighter bigger with a Queen size bed, Air Con, Safe and Fridge in the room plus dressing gowns in the Wardrobe.
The Champagne and Chocolate's in the room when we arrived so it was a perfect start to our overnight stay.
We booked a table in the Restaurant in the evening and were informed we had a £21.50p allowance per person for the meal.
The Menu had a good choice and we took advantage of the 3 course deal for £23.00p per person.
The food was excellent, well presented and every course was cooked perfectly and very delicious.
The Restaurant was quite busy but the waitress was very nice and helpful and went out of her way to accommodate our requests.
After a few drinks in the bar we retired to our room and had a very good sleep in a very comfortable bed.
In the morning the Breakfast was well prepared and brilliant choice including fresh fruit, cereals, pastries and full English Breakfast.
Unlimited coffee and Tea was topped up without even asking and once again the waitress was excellent.
The room rate including a 3 course evening meal and full Breakfast was £85.00p for both of us.
How anybody can complain about this hotel for such an outstanding price is beyond belief so don't let a few petty complaints put you off from staying here.
I recommend this Hotel for a short break/holiday or business stay as all the staff are very polite and very helpful.
The rooms are comfortable and clean and the food very reasonable and cooked perfectly.
Somebody complained about the Bar drinks but I found them to be very fair.
The Hotel is just off the A12 and very easy to find and perfectly placed to visit Colchester, Ipswich and Constable counties.
We will booking another weekend break in a few months time

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms slightly more expensive but worth the additional money ,but the standard room are sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely place but food not that great needs to be more home cooked or fresh there a lot of quick food shame as we would eat there more often . But we go else were to the food hall as one the food is fab .come on. Hotel please up date your food same old thing not good . Missing coming. In but have to have great food sorry .

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Rooms a bit dated and room equipment a bit tired. OK for business trip but a little overstated for pleasure. Had a lot of building trade workman staying when I was there. The drink is well over priced at the bar and food average.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Easy polite check in. Good was ok, friendly staff. Although we dined as a party of 20 and good was still being served as others were finishing. 2 hours to get three courses is quite a long time.

The room 208 is a bit outdated in the bathroom. The tv is wonky and the trunking Is hanging off. Obvious things should be addressed before a guest arrives.

Breakfast although a good selection was pretty lacking in quality I'm afraid.

Check out was easy despite the fact the computer said i stayed for two nights, an error as I was only there for one.

This might sound a harsh review but its the little things that let the hotel down. I'm afraid best western are way behind Holliday inn and travel lodge now.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Address: London Rd, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Marks Tey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, modern 4 star hotel and leisure club situated on the outskirts of Britain's oldest recorded town. The BEST WESTERN Marks Tey provides 110 comfortable bedrooms, a range of meeting and events rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people, The Brasserie Restaurant, Lounge & Bar, and extensive leisure club facilities including indoor pool, hair & beauty salon, tennis courts, steam room, sauna and air conditioned gym. Free wifi and parking are available for guests. Within easy reach of Witham, Tiptree, Coggeshall and the Eastways, and Braintree Business Parks, the BEST WESTERN Marks Tey is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for a hotel in Colchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.