We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Rd, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was a lovely hotel with good food... But oh! My room was still very good but the food offering was totally uninspired and I saw 3 meals sent back, and one of the even gave up on the replacement dish (offered with good grace). The promise of a good evening has been replaced by expensive drinks and not very good food. Best Western get your act together and decide on your direction..... A quality experience, or reduce your prices to match what was on offer

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    192
    132
    75
    48
See reviews for
92
198
27
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kegworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were a coach party of around 40 people, mostly seniors and as this hotel only had 2 floors most were happy with their room access. As other people have said certain things need updating, a carpet here and there and my husband went to use the swimming pool and there were problems with the changing areas. Our room was fine, everything worked infact i thought it was quite spacious. We had a good bathroom with no shortage of hot water. Our room was on the ground floor with a view of a small grassed area where staff moved between parts of the hotel. From a noise point of view we are used to traffic noise anyway but i slept very well with no noise from other rooms or other bathrooms as you sometimes have.
We ate Breakfast and Dinner in the Hotel and we couldn`t fault it, there was plenty of it and the Buffet Breakfast had something to suit everyone. There were people in our group with special diets and most were catered for. The staff were great and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. For me the relaxed atmosphere made the stay even better. The bar staff were friendly and yes the drink prices were a bit expensive. There is a food pub nearby called the Swan. Turn left out of the Hotel and walk for about 15 or 20 mins along that road, it`s then on the right. We didn`t eat there but it`s a friendly place for a drink.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The rooms need to be updated. The TV is too small for the distance away from bed. The front of the hotel is the best side to sleep on as the A12 at the rear is very noisey. Staff helpful and breakfast reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing car park are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Was staying here for a wedding. The management were really helpful. They arranged for an area of the restaurant to be reserved for family and friends the night before, then when we got back after the wedding they kept the bar open for us for as long as we wanted. Our room was modern with good facilities. Overall experience really good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very disappointing. Supposed to be four star but very dated with cheap decor in bar area. Food very expensive and limited choice and not very special. Did not stay the night as disappointed but after expecting the hotel to be as it used to some years ago! However the staff were good, courteous and polite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marks Tey hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hello this is a very good hotel it is in a great location as it is just off the A12. The station is nearby to get in and out of Colchester. The rooms are a nice size and the bar is comfortable to sit it.
Unfortunately the hotel seems to focus on conferences and not its guests.
The Restaurant is rubbish, it is overpriced and low quality. The menu is cheap and nasty and appears to be competing with the local Hungry Horse but without the choice. The service is also substandard so it is not surprising that no one seems to use it. Fortunataly there is a cheaper alternative nearby.This is a shame as the rest of the hotel is so good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

From booking to checkout we found the staff to be helpful, friendly and efficient. Our room was very good - but starting to show signs of wear. The menu for bar meals was very expensive so we went out for meals except for breakfast as this was inclusive in our deal. Breakfast was buffet style so you could have as much as you liked including full English. All in all a very pleasant stay in a very large hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Address: London Rd, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Marks Tey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marks Tey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful, modern 4 star hotel and leisure club situated on the outskirts of Britain's oldest recorded town. The BEST WESTERN Marks Tey provides 110 comfortable bedrooms, a range of meeting and events rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people, The Brasserie Restaurant, Lounge & Bar, and extensive leisure club facilities including indoor pool, hair & beauty salon, tennis courts, steam room, sauna and air conditioned gym. Free wifi and parking are available for guests. Within easy reach of Witham, Tiptree, Coggeshall and the Eastways, and Braintree Business Parks, the BEST WESTERN Marks Tey is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for a hotel in Colchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.