We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in a beautiful restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebells Restaurant & Bar

Bluebells Restaurant & Bar
Shrubbs Hill, London Road, Sunningdale SL5 0LE, England
01344 622 722
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fine dining in a beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

From the moment you enter the service is excellent. Everything is MichelIn standard. Only criticism are the prices but you get what you pay for. Will definately return.

Thank you for a wonderful experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebellsSunningdale, General Manager at Bluebells Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear scraggandboneman,

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again before Christmas.

Regards,

Bluebells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    159
    45
    21
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Outstanding !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Food and service were both first class.
As soon as we walked through the door we were met with a warm welcome.
The staff were helpful polite and very knowledgeable.
The food was of a very high standard and served just at the correct pace.
We look forward to visiting again in the future.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebellsSunningdale, General Manager at Bluebells Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear je_waller66,

What a wonderful review and thank you for taking the time out to write this. Hope to see you again in the near future.

All the best,

Bluebells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Ok so its a littkle pricey , but the staff are wonderful, very helpful with wines etc. Great food as well, easily one of the best resturants in the area

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebellsSunningdale, General Manager at Bluebells Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear searchingforthebest,

Great to hear you enjoyed your experience at Bluebells and hope to see you back soo.

Many thanks,

Bluebells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Dinner for two was brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just come back home after a great evening dinner at Bluebells. I had Pork belly as a starter, followed by braised Ox cheeks and finished off with a tarte tatin and tonka bean ice cream. My wife had the artichoke starter, red mullet main course and pistachio Creme brûlée for dessert. With amuse bouche, canapés, great service and really brilliant food my only question is with such great cooking why haven't they got a Michelin Star? One point to note. If you live in the area and sometimes frequent the L'Ortolan then try Bluebells instead. In our opinion the food is now much better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebellsSunningdale, General Manager at Bluebells Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear ArtySin,

We are pleased at Bluebells that you enjoyed your dinner and we hope you will now continue to use us on a regular basis. Feedback like this is great for the team and we always push to be the best we can.

Kind regards,

Bluebells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A great restaurant and worthy of the good reivews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our first visit was more by chance than anything else, but having now experienced the food we will definitely be back. The downside is the price, but I am more than happy to pay 'top-dollar' for quality food in excellent surroundings, albeit it will be more of an occassional event than a regular feast.

The staff were attentive and helpful with suggestions when one of our party was undecided, the ambiance was also excellent and set the right tone from the beginning. However, it is the quality of the food (and the wines) that make Bluebells stand out head and shoulder over anything else nearby. The imagination and skill that went into each dish was superb and I would have difficulty faulting it. The bottom line is that if you are in the area and looking for somewhere special do not hesitate.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebellsSunningdale, General Manager at Bluebells Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Nigel R,

Many thanks for your kind words and we are very pleased at Bluebells that you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Bluebells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluebells Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Chobham, Surrey
Sunningdale, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Bluebells Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluebells Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.