We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub, good food & lovely ambience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rising Sun

The Rising Sun
Iping Road, Milland GU30 7NA, England
+44 01428 741347
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Milland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, good food & lovely ambience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Milland, Rising Sun has some of the best steak I've had in the UK. Well flavoured and tender.
Very well worth the visit in winter months & a great sunny spot in the summer months.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    23
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best country pub in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We are regulars at this pub and travel from West Sussex just to go here. Whether it be for a long, lazy sunday roast or a quick in and out... the staff and food are BRILLIANT without exception. Highly recommend it, but don't steal our table in the window!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“a great country pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

very good food,and proper ale. Friendly staff led by Ben. A great garden in summer and hearty open fires in winter. Bit difficult to find but definitely worth the effort!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Home from home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Best atmosphere of any of the local pubs! And awesome food, great music nights, great staff, amazing garden and dog friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rising expectations, Sunilly fullfilled.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I live in Hampshire and have despaired at my chances of finding a warm, welcoming, pub with consistently great food.Well I despair no more, The Rising Sun is all of those things and more.

It looks a pretty average establishment on first impressions, but by parting impressions it scores a bulls eye.

I do not think I am easilly impressed, but from the warm welcome thru to the wine choice, the drinks/meal service I cannot fault this place......and then there is the food....wow.

Eaten here twice now( just in case the first time was a fluke, it was not), the steak, the salads, the belly of pork, the dessert, even the cheesesboard excelled , and I kept seeing other customers dishes delivered, and I wanted to try them all!

I cannot wait to go back ( They even do a lunch 2 course special for £11, what is not to like?).....FAB FAB FAB.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun also viewed

 

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rising Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.