We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay in outstanding hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Daggers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Three Daggers to your Saves list
The Three Daggers
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   Westbury Road, Edington, Westbury BA13 4PG , England (Formerly The Paulet Arms )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Edington B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay in outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at The Three Daggers for my boyfriend's birthday surprise and we were blown away by the fantastic hotel, superb staff and delicious food. From start to finish, everything with our stay was just perfect. Caitlin showed us to our room on arrival, and she was so welcoming and attentive, and really made us feel at home. She described everything in the room and the shared guest living room excellently, and had a great knowledge of the hotel and the surroundings. We stayed in the Coulston room, which is the master bedroom in the hotel. It was described exactly as on their website. The huge tv and amazingly comfortable bed made it almost impossible for us to venture downstairs for dinner. The views were also amazing, and we managed to get some lovely sunset pictures because the weather was so nice.
The menu in the pub downstairs had lots to choose from, but we both decided to go for a classic bacon and cheese burger! And it was probably the best burger I have ever had. My boyfriend tried the pub's own ale, and was so impressed by it that he bought 5 pints of it to take home!
We both slept peacefully, and even kept the curtains open because there were no annoying street lights to keep us awake at night! The surroundings of the hotel are beautiful, and it seemed a waste to shut them out.
We had a cooked breakfast in the morning, which was included in the price of the room - something that some B and B's can con you on!! The breakfast again was just amazing, it really set us up for our day and Chloe, who served us, was another fantastic member of staff and a credit to the Three Daggers.
Once we'd checked out, we explored the farm shop next door and had a look at the brewery. These were great additions to the hotel stay, and we took a few bits of local produce back with us.
Overall, we really couldn't fault the Three Daggers. Everything from the room to the food to the staff was all so well thought out and they've paid a lot of attention to detail. They have clearly listened to what their customers want and that's something than can be severley lacking in the hotel and restaurant trade these days. Well done to all at The Three Daggers, we will definitely be recommending the place and will come back for another stay in the future!

Room Tip: The Coulston room is the master suite and is huge, comfortable and well equipped. If it's availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheThreeDaggers, General Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for leaving such a fantastic review on trip advisor. Our team really appreciate your amazing comments and we are so pleased to hear that your experience at The Three Daggers ticked all the right boxes.

It's also great to hear that you singled out two members of the team. I make sure everyone read TripAdvisor reviews & it brought a very happy smile to their Faces! :-)

We look forward to welcoming you and all your friends to The Three Daggers & Edington Farm shop very soon

Kind Regards

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
24
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crediton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Three Daggers at Edington, Wiltshire,is a great place to stay. It is an hotel/restaurant which offers old world atmosphere in a landscape which has many historic associations, not least the site of the Battle of Ethandun, in AD878, between Alfred the Great of Wessex and the so-called Great Heathen Horde led by Guthram the Dane. The Westbury White Horse, inscribed on the Downs is nearby. The staff at The Three Daggers are cheerful and polite, and although we did not eat at the restaurant, having already booked a meal elsewhere in order to explore the area, the menu looked very attractive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheThreeDaggers, General Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your great comments & taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm really pleased you enjoyed yourself & were able to explore the local historic attractions.

We hope you get the chance to stay with us again & next time you'll be able to sample the menu here at The Three Daggers.

Kind regards

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the night of our wedding. What a fantastic place, staff were incredibly attentive, rooms were outstanding. Caitlin was fantastic in arranging a surprise breakfast for my new wife. I thoroughly recommend this as a luxury place to stay. We will be returning with the in-laws for a meal soon :-)

A perfect end to our perfect day!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin-t-h, Marketing Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi,

I am so so pleased that your wife enjoyed her breakfast! Breakfast in bed served on silver trays has to be a pretty good way to start the day!

Thankyou ever so much for your kind comments! We look forward to meeting the in-laws!

Many congratulations to you both, we wish you a very happy marriage together!

See you soon!

Kind Regards,

Caitlin Thomson-Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in The Three Daggers over the bank holiday weekend for one night in Caulsdon (not sure of the spelling ) room on our way to visit Longleat safari park.
I was really impressed by the whole place :
15 min drive from the park in an amazing countryside ( and I don't like countryside!)
Pub/restaurant great food
Room-amazing ...better than most of the places we stayed in the whole UK.
Has a leaving room to use with kitchen and huge TV to share between only 3 rooms.Even had a baby monitor to borrow!
The setting is amazing!
Outside a huge playground - really great feature
And the breakfast-wow!!!!! Amazing!!!! Truly!!!!
And not forgetting the farm shop :)

I am very very impressed and would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin-t-h, Marketing Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi Etito,

What great comments all round!

We are very lucky to be in such a great location. We are set in a rural location however have local attractions such as Stonehenge and Lacock within a 40 minute drive.

Edington Farmshop has recently opened and is proving to be a very popular destination both among locals and passers by!

Everyone here at The Three Daggers was delighted to read of such a great TripAdvisor review! Thankyou again, we look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards

Caitlin Thomson-Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked the Coulston room for me and my girlfriend, for the purpose of a nice weekend away near Longleat Zoo. When we arrived we were greeted by the Three Daggers staff and Jackie. The Coulston room was very nice and big with all the luxuries you could want from a room e.g. big bed, nice bathroom & big tv. What we liked which was different from other bnbs was the communal kitchen which was stocked with tea, coffee biscuits etc which was a nice touch.

Not only was the room itself really nice but if you get a chance go to the pub restaurant. The food was really good and can not speak highly enough of the all the staff who on both nights who were extremely helpful and served amazing food. Lastly, breakfast was also really nice with a big selection of food to choose from. It may be a bit more than some places but well well worth the money!

Thanks Again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin-t-h, Marketing Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Stefan,

What a great review! Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave your fantastic comments!
The Three Daggers team were thrilled when they read your review.

We hope to see you in the not too distant future!

Thanks again,

Caitlin Thomson-Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Beautiful room with free wi-fi, large TV, loads of beams, huge bed, comfy pillows, massive wet room, ipod dock, plus use of a stunning guest lounge and kitchen - fully stocked. A pleasant change from the usual corporate blandness.

Food good but not amazing. In the middle of nowhere Will be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheThreeDaggers, General Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hello Adam M

Thank you so much for your amazing review!

Many of our guests write fantastic comments in our visitors book but it takes an extra effort to leave a review on TripAdvisor for that I thank you very much.

Hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked a room a the Three Daggers at the end of October/beginning of November looking for a quiet, relaxing weekend away. We were very happy to get exactly that! The Three Daggers is a beautifully restored building in a quiet village, within easy driving distance of Bath, Stonehenge and the White Horse. The rooms were absolutely enormous, yet were warm and comfortable. We particularly enjoyed access to tea, biscuits and an honesty bar so that we could hole up in our room and enjoy the calm. Oh, and the very large screen television too!

The staff were very friendly, kind and attentive, and the meals in the restaurant were delicious and great value. One thing to note though, it is the only restaurant/cafe in the village though, and we couldn't find anywhere else within walking distance.

All in all, a recommended hotel for a relaxing weekend in Wiltshire.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheThreeDaggers, General Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your amazing review & taking the time to share your experiences with the world of TripAdvisor & our future guests.

It's great to hear so many positive comments

You mentioned we are "The only Pub" in the village which is correct, however in May we are opening a brand new Micro brewery & Farm shop (featuring lots of lovely fresh local produce) right next door so you will be able to do a spot of shopping & beer tasting....

Thank you again & kind regards

Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Three Daggers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Daggers

Address: Westbury Road, Edington, Westbury BA13 4PG , England (Formerly The Paulet Arms )
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Westbury > Edington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Edington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Three Daggers 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Three Daggers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Daggers Edington, Westbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Daggers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.