We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Daggers

The Three Daggers
47 Westbury Road, Edington, Westbury BA13 4PG, England (Formerly The Paulet Arms)
+44 1380 830940
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Edington
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Trowbridge Wiltshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I lived in the village of Edington many years ago when The Three Daggers was a small village pub called The Lamb, what a transformation. We booked a table with some friends for an evening meal and we were very satisfied with the ambiance, quality of the food and the service. The massive rebuilding/refurbishment was spot on and impressive. Now with three letting rooms and an adjoining farm shop, selling local produce as well as a micro brewery, the ideal spot for lunch dinner and shopping.

We will come again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin-t-h, Marketing Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
What a lovely review.

Thankyou ever so much for your kind comments, they are much appreciated!

The Farm Shop and Micro-Brewery have recently opened and have caused much excitement!

We hope to see you again soon whether it be for a shopping trip to the Farm Shop, a tasting session at the brewery or a meal at the Inn!

Kind Regards

Caitlin Thomson-Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    83
    38
    17
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Valentines meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visited the 3 daggers over valentines weekend. had heard many good things about it - slightly disappointed. The food was good - but not outstanding. Husband had pate starter - he said it was excellent. I had mushrooms which was a dry piece of toast with a handful of mixed flavourless mushrooms. for mains my husband had a pork dish - again he found it very tasty (I tried it and agreed). I had the homemade burger with apple. And thats what it was. a burger, slightly overcooked,with a slice of apple on it - could have done with more relish or flavour/moisture - with homemade chips (delicious and a nice touch). A pint of lagr and 3 glasses of wine brought the bill to over £70. We went home for pudding, slightly disappointed. Good - but not good enough. on the positive - the building has been restored beautifully. I would consider going back for a light lunch - friends assure me the lunch choices are limited but very tasty.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A classy refurbishment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We picked the Three Daggers firstly because our London clan members were roaming the area on research mode and needed lunch before the train home and checking the times of sunday service found that this was from 12noon to 8p.m. perfect for a very late lunch.Our first visit since this was the Lamb and what a quality job has been done but the warm friendly atmosphere still remains,brilliant staff.We all enjoyed a selection of dishes of a varied menu,very well cooked and presented,also some nice wines.We would return to this excellently run establishment and recommend it as a fine example of what a village inn should be.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin-t-h, Marketing Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello,

I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your experience at The Three Daggers and have raved about multiple aspects including both the food and the staff.

A massive thanks for your brilliant comments and the time taken to give us a 5/5!!

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards

Caitlin Thomson-Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

After a family visit to Westbury we stopped off for lunch at The Three Daggers on our way back to Surrey. The building & decor is beautiful & the staff were polite - but that was it as far as positive feedback is concerned. The menu was standard pub food, but you imagine the high price would be reflected by quality ingredients - not the case. When the food arrived EVERYTHING had been overcooked, triple cooked chips should be crispy on the outside & fluffy inside - these were limp & dry - we couldn't eat them. The burgers had no seasoning, were dry & you had to search for the smear of relish on the roll (the childs size is no bigger than a meatball). Will definitely be driving past this place on our next visit & trying somewhere else!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin-t-h, Marketing Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to The Three Daggers on TipAdvisor.
I am delighted to hear that you found the decor, surroundings and team members pleasant.

I am saddened to learn that you did not have a positive experience during your visit. The majority of our ingredients are locally sourced and the dishes are created by our Chefs in the kitchen. We are always more than happy to get our guests extra of whatever they would like, more relish would not have been a problem. We often get told the children's portions are over sized, however i appreciate that all children's appetites differ!

Perhaps you may change your mind and pop in on your next visit to Wiltshire.

Kind Regards

Caitlin Thomson-Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have visited a few times now and have always found a very warm and welcoming atmosphere with friendly staff. The food has always being to a very high standard and the service good - all reasonably priced too, I would re-visit

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin-t-h, Marketing Manager at The Three Daggers, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi There,

I am delighted to hear that The Three Daggers has delivered an all round high standard on every occasion you have visited. We very much look forward to welcoming you back!

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards

Caitlin Thomson-Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Daggers also viewed

Westbury, Wiltshire
Westbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Three Daggers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Daggers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.