We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Xmas Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bothwell Bridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bothwell Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Main Street, Bothwell G71 8EU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bothwell
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Xmas Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Stellios and all the staff for a wonderfull Christmas dinner. The food was fantastic,service first class and ambiance just perfect.I was always wary of eating out on Christmas Day,but rest assured I will be booking early for next year! Once again many thanks for a perfect day.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    100
    59
    32
    27
See reviews for
102
97
12
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My partner and I had a meal at the Bothwell Bridge Hotel in the main restaurant a couple of weeks ago and sadly it was not good! He ordered steak and chips, medium done and the first meal arrived very very well done and cold. Staff who were more than helpful immediately changed this to another meal and stated it was the wrong meal unfortunately this steak was also well done, chips were burnt and crispy and the meal was again cold. On the third occasion a manager personally delivered the steak as ordered with two glasses of wine as an apology. We will not rush back although the setting and singer were fantastic, just a shame about the food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here 30th November for a dinner dance and although the actual hotel is great, the rooms were awful.

Having stayed twice previously, I was very disappointed with the rooms we were given. Rooms 201, 202 & 203 - very tired and desperate to be modernised!

On previous visits we have stayed on the 3rd floor and ground floor and rooms were much nicer. Very disappointed considering the rooms cost the same!!

The hotel itself is very friendly and reasonably priced for drinks. The dinner dance was great and the food too.

Breakfast here is one of the best I have had.

Overall, Bothwell Bridge is a great hotel and we would stay again - if we were guaranteed a decent room!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed in room 34 which was directly next to the 'smoking area' rude guests constantly talking loudly outside the room at unsociable hours. The room directly above actually felt like these guest were in the same room. The food however was excellent but the staff on reception quite rude and when we pointed out our restless night we were advised that the hotel was in fact quite and they found our comments hard to believe ! The rooms definitely need a re- vamp and some form of floor insulation .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The room was comfy but the décor (curtains, furniture, décor) is looking really tired. My room had a bathroom that had been modernised and refurbished but the whole hotel desperately needs some money spent on it. The food in the restaurant is very good (Italian in the evening) but some of the older waiters could do with attending the "customer care course"!!!! All in all ok for a night or two with business but would not choose to stay with wife or family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south lanarkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

On the 18/11/13 we booked and expected to be hosted with service to a funeral party of friends and family. Unfortunately it was a very sad and stressful time. Additionally the service provided, quality and quantity of foods provided were disgraceful. Secondly the attitudes and behaviour of staff was sickening and in turn elaborated on our emotions at this particular time. We approx booked for 40 guests £ 9.99 per head. A member of staff rudely approached me in an abrupt tone to inform me that there were more persons present than anticipated. Yes I agree 4 more. Our billing receipt should have been £400. The bill states £435.60. Am I paying for the extra 4 seats for the extra 4 persons as there was no sign of extra food service/ teas coffee which were minimal effort in the first instance. Furthermore some guests had booked to stay overnight and at that time did not feel the need to exit their seats but felt uncomfortable as again members of your staff were evidently staring, muttering to each other about the remaining persons that would not more or less clear off.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I visited the Bothwell Bridge Hotel with my wife in MAY 2013 fpr a family occasion. The service was very poor and the food was the worst we have experienced for a long time.We didn't even have time to get any tea or coffee as we had run out of time, as members of the family had booked a pre arranged taxis.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bothwell
1.1 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
3.2 mi away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Redstones Hotel
Redstones Hotel
#59 of 92 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dakota Hotel Glasgow
Dakota Hotel Glasgow
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Strathclyde
Hilton Strathclyde
#2 of 2 in Bellshill
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bothwell Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bothwell Bridge Hotel

Address: 89 Main Street, Bothwell G71 8EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Bothwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bothwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bothwell Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bothwell Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bothwell Bridge Glasgow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bothwell Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.