We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat it for character and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bothwell Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bothwell Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Main Street, Bothwell G71 8EU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bothwell
glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Can't beat it for character and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We attended the Hogmanay dinner dance this year and stayed over and it was fab!! The only thing I would say is that the function suite was unbearably hot and the air conditioning REALLY needs looked at but other than that the food, service, rooms and entertainment were excellent.

The service really is second to none, despite the fact that there were at least 300 people at the dinner dance everything ran smoothly and the food was fantastic.

The band playing were Stewart Reid band whom we have actually booked for our wedding and could not recommend anyone better - they create an excellent atmosphere and the dancefloor is never empty and best of all.. they sounds great.

The rooms were lovely and have nice new flat screens and really comfortable beds.

We stayed here last January for our anniversary and loved it then too, we will be back for an overnight at the end of the month for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    100
    59
    32
    27
See reviews for
102
97
12
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The Bothwell Bridge hotel is a fabulous local hotel, set in a great location with easy access to town and city. The staff are pleasant, friendly, and professional. Stelios (Steven) is a delight, eager to please, offering a first-rate friendly service, on hand to ensure that the hotel functions & events run smoothly. The food is commendable, with an array of choice, and a selection of beverages, to compliment each course. This hotel truly is a great setting for any event adding a touch of class at excellent value for money. Whether using the hotel for an event, a relaxing stay or a combination of both, it is ideal in every scenario. I have used Bothwell Bridge hotel for four events now, and I am certain to be booking a fifth in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

4 of us went for dinner here for the couples menu they do, 2 courses with bottle of wine £28, we had phoned in advance to get an idea of the menu to see if there would be something on the offer menu we would all like.
menu sounded good and we were told it never changed. strange to arrive then and the menu was completely different! ha.
its a nice restaurant area, there was a big party in and a few other diners and it seemed understaffed to us.
so it proved as we waited at least 30 mins to have our order taken,
starter was good but then the main courses came out straight after starter plates were cleared and the mains were cold. not good. we all sent our cold dinners back and waited for fresh hot plates of food. food was good though when it came hot.
staff said poor service was due to big party being in but why should that affect our dining experience? (not a valid excuse if we are also paying customers)
in the end we were given some free drink and only paid for one couples menu but as this is the 2nd time a meal out there has been a slow, poorly served experience so wont be back.
thanks

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley-scotland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Unfortunately I didn't stay at this hotel but we did use the restuarant which served us an exceilent lunch. The price for the room and facilities and a choice for lunch was 1st class and the staff were very cheery snd helpfull. We will be using the hotel again as it is the best food and value we have had in a long time. I cannot personally review the rooms etc as I did not stay although 2 colleagues did and had only good things to say.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Recently got married in the bothwell bridge hotel on the 8th October 2011. Have to say it was the best day ever and attribute the seamless organisation to the tremendous efforts made by the staff. We were assisted throughout by Stelios (or Steven) who took care of absolutely everything. We were married in the hotel and had our reception there too. The ceremony passed without a
Blip and the room reorganised for the reception without us even noticing. Stelios told us we would be treated like prince and princess on our day, but in fact we felt like king and queen! Couldn't flat a single thing. The food was delicious and all the guests raved about it, the staff behind the bar were friendly and efficient and all... Absolutely all..of our requests were met without difficulty. If you are getting married and are anything like me (ie that you have little interest in organising the day) then I would recommend you go and see Stelios. He will care of everything! Couldn't have asked for a better day.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

First time at the Bothwell bridge Hotel & may not be the last. Had a wedding to attend here and decided to book a room instead of the old find a taxi on a saturday night carry-on. Glad we made this decision, the rooms were larger than most & the beds gave a great night sleep.
Breakfast was buffet style & loads of it. Car parking is secured by gate entry barriers though the car park could be bigger for a busy day.
The wedding party was great as was the food, the bar not to over-priced considering the location.
Well worth a try.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I tend to stay there quite often on business. Once you get over the fact that the majority of residents are rigger boot laced contractors invading from the South, the place is great. The restaurant (indeed the hotel) appears to be chaotically run by Italians but the food is great with sizeable portions.. The breakfast is the same and recommended. The rooms can be a bit hit or miss dependent on whether you turn left of right at the top of the stairs (a bit like boarding a plane) but generally the rooms are pleasant with good quality free wifi and a good selection of TV channels. You even get sky sports on occasions although not sure if syphoning the channels from the bar is fully legit! However I don't mind!

Heck - nice food, good free wifi and sky sports..What more does a man want from an hotel!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bothwell
1.1 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
3.2 mi away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Redstones Hotel
Redstones Hotel
#59 of 92 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dakota Hotel Glasgow
Dakota Hotel Glasgow
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Strathclyde
Hilton Strathclyde
#2 of 2 in Bellshill
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bothwell Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bothwell Bridge Hotel

Address: 89 Main Street, Bothwell G71 8EU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Bothwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bothwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bothwell Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bothwell Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bothwell Bridge Glasgow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bothwell Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.