We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with great views.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heritage Killenard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Heritage Killenard to your Saves list
The Heritage Killenard
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Killenard, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with great views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Stayed for a wedding here in August, The hotel was lovely and plush with fantastic views over the golf course. The service was good and the staff attentive. The food was very good especially as they were catering for large numbers, but I am aware that it was expensive. I understand that they did negotiate on the prices, so if you are planning a wedding then well worth trying for a discount.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    280
    107
    36
    29
See reviews for
285
537
16
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

I have recently returned from a 3 night stay in the Heritage golf and spa resort in Killenard and I have to say everything about the hotel and the service was top class and truly deserving of its 5 star rating. We were celebrating a family occasion and we couldn’t have a chosen a better venue.

My initial phone call made one night to the hotel was answered by a lady who was so bubbly, courteous, enthusiastic and helpful that we decided we would pursue our interest further and we were not to be disappointed.

As the children in our family and extended family ranged in age from 5 to 19, I was a little concerned that they would not all be catered for, however I need not have worried as the activities provided for all ages were superb.

Arts and crafts occurred each morning for 2 hours which allowed me have some adult time with my parents and siblings. I assumed the children would do some colouring but the quality of material that they produced was fantastic. Equally the girl that was facilitating the sessions was a great hit with the children and was so enthusiastic that they looked forwarding to returning each morning rather than me having to cajole them.

The older children were equally thrilled with the additional facilities provided for them, the introduction to make up session facilitated by a beautician, the use of bicycles which allowed them explore the lovely surrounding countryside not to mention the concierge giving them a lift to the tennis courts in the buggy (which was only around the corner, but made them feel special). On the night of the main family dinner, the children went into the auditorium to watch a movie and the chef provided a few bowls of popcorn which left all the adults to enjoy an after dinner drink and a chat without the children interrupting.

For the adults there is the pool, the spa, golf, tennis and the floodlit 4 mile walk which we managed to do only once. The concierges were so helpful in every way and provided an excellent service. They brought us up and down to Sol Oriens restaurant in the buggys which was a real highlight for the children.

The rooms were lovely, food was great and all the staff were very helpful and friendly and ensured we had a wonderful and memorable stay.

I would highly recommend this hotel and we look forward to returning again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed in this hotel with 4 young children and we all really enjoyed ourselves. Staff were very extremely helpful and friendly - not snobby or stuck up!!. Kids had club in morning with lovely girl called Christina and cinema in evening. The staff even organised popcorn for them each evening in the cinema they got a massive choc chip cookie before bed. These little touches were great considering the hotel does not charge B & B for kids under 12!!! The walk around the golf course is lovely and a great way to get out in fresh air. We had a meal in the Italian restaurent and it was lovely, Again very child friendly. Rooms were lovely & the spa is wonderful. A real retreat. !!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed here for the wedding of a friend, and from the first person we met, Rebecca at the front desk, to the last, Dougie the concierge, we found that it was the staff that made our stay so enjoyable.

As is normal for such an occasion spent much of our time in the bar, where our only difficulty was attracting the attention of the overworked staff, who appeared to be very busy. However once we were seen, the service was exceptional and our every request was satisfied. Particular mention for JP and the bar supervisor, Majella, who in providing activity packs for our kids ensured we could enjoy the fabulous food.

The ballroom was fabulous and we could not have asked for more, fantastic food, good service and an excellent night was had by all.

Our bedroom was very spacious and well appointed, only sorry we didn't get to spend much time there.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed here with a young child recently. Reception could be friendlier and bar area is in need of refurbishment. There should be greater attention to cleanliness in some areas. Overall it's a good hotel but not a 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Spent 3 night in the Hertiage Golf and Spa recently. Now I would consider myself to be well travelled and have been in all sorts of hotels over the years, with this said I would say that the Heritage was one of the most Luxurious. We stayed in the Heritage Suite and it was the single biggest room I have ever booked. The is a grand hallway leading you into a choice of 2 very generous bedrooms and a exceptional open plan, lounge, dining area and kitchen. The lounge leads out to a large balconey overlooking the golf course. The fixtures and fittings and soft furnishings were very lavish and you could tell that no expense was spared. I would recommend this suite to anyone.
As for the rest of the hotel,;the lobby area is very impressive with mable stair case modeled on the titanic's stair case. The staff are without a doubt some of the friendliest and most helpful I have encountered.
My wife and I used the spa on one of the days and it was extraordinary, for this type of day out there is no better spa in the entire country, i kid you not.
Folks this is a world class hotel, a hidden gem in Killinard, if you want peace, relaxation and Luxury the look no further...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Co. Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed here for an overnight spa break. The hotel is easy enough to find but it is in the middle of nowhere, but that was perfect for us as we wanted a relaxing trip and to get away from it all. The Spa here is AMAZING. One of the best I have ever been too. We booked the Heritage Spa Experience and used the mud chamber as well. The Spa is spotlessly clean and has lots of facilities...there was also fruit, water and homemade lemonade left out for guests. The girls working in the Spa are extremely helpful - all in all, it was an extremely relaxing experience. We booked a Superior room and it was huge....massive bed and lovely view out onto the Golf Course. We had dinner in the hotel that night - very nice and attentive service, followed by a couple of cocktails in the bar.....the bar area is very relaxing with lovely couches that you sink right into.
We had brekfast sent to our room the next morning. It arrived at exactly the time we specified and everything was piping hot and delicious.

We loved our stay here and we will back the next chance we get!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killenard
9.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
24.9 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
12.3 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
20.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Killenard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Killenard

Address: Killenard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Killenard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Heritage Killenard 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Heritage Killenard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Golf Hotel Killenard
The Heritage Hotel
Heritage Killenard Hotel
Heritage Hotel County Laois
Heritage Hotel Ireland
The Heritage Killenard Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heritage Killenard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.