We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ostentatious! Nice on the surface but lacking depth.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort to your Saves list
The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Killenard, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ostentatious! Nice on the surface but lacking depth.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

The Heritage is without doubt a nice hotel resort, but those seeking a true 5-star experience will be disappointed, mainly due to lack of cleanliness and attention to detail.

Starting at the beginning, check-in was a breeze and we were walked to our accommodation by the girl who checked us in. Indeed, in general all the staff were friendly, courteous and efficient. No problems there.

Our 2-bed penthouse apartment overlooking the golf course was extremely well appointed. Unfortunately, though, it wasn't very clean. The carpets were stained, as was the seatpad of a chair in the hall (we turned it over but the other side was even worse with burn marks on it so we turned it back again). There were also cobwebs on the ceilings of both bedrooms. Lack of cleanliness and attention to detail also extended to the main hotel bar (the walls were splashed with drink, the carpet was dirty, patches on the ceiling were painted in a different shade etc.).

Back to the apartment. The en-suite bedrooms were both nice but were very unequal in size, one being at least twice as big as the other (as was its bathroom). The beds themselves were very comfortable. The main living area was large and had a very nice fully-equipped kitchen, even if it did seem to be mostly for decorative effect (although everything in it worked). The apartment was also *very* warm on the first night, and the only possible source of ventilation in the smaller bedroom, a Velux window, didn't work so the unbearable heat led to a sleepless night (there was no air-conditioning). However, in fairness the concierge got it promptly sorted out the next day.

There was a lift from the apartment complex to the spa/health complex, but unfortunately it didn't work so we had to wander out into the car park area in our towelling robes and go in the front door. Luckily it wasn't raining. The staff of the complex arranged for us to use a different lift to get back to our apartment afterwards though. The pool was nice but not huge, the jacuzzi was fine, but while the steam room was effective, the sauna wasn't hot and there didn't seem to be a way to make it hotter so we didn't stay there any length of time.

The golf course looked nice (we didn't use it) and we did the 5.5km walk around it, which was grand (if a little unkempt in parts). The large lawn bowls complex was closed while we were there (a Monday and Tuesday night), as was the Italian restaurant mentioned in other reviews (the Sol Oriens). The main restaurant was booked up so we had some main courses in the bar area, which varied in quality.

All in all, we enjoyed ourselves at The Heritage but the overall attention to detail expected was lacking. Nice (but fairly typical) touches such as little boxes of chocolates being left in the rooms and the covers of the beds being folded back don't make up for lack of basic cleanliness and working facilities. Overall, a bit too much bling and not enough real depth. A shame, because the potential is there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    228
    79
    32
    22
See reviews for
225
415
12
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

I had heard a lot of my golfer friends speak very highly of The Heritage so we decided to take a weekend break and stay at this 5 star hotel.
Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a bad hotel but it’s certainly not a 5 star hotel, I presume it has received this status as a result of the golf course and health spa. The check-in staff weren’t very welcoming, in fact, mid way through our check-in the lady who was serving us took off without any explanation to help her colleagues with some other guests. No apology was given to us either when eventually she did return.
The room itself was fine; no mini bar which I thought strange as any other 5 star hotels I’ve stayed in have always had that temptation around the television area! The bed was extremely comfortable and the room ultra dark, perfect for a good night’s sleep! The corridor noise was clearly audible in the rooms, luckily it was a quiet night in the hotel so it didn’t bother us too much. The bathroom was very spacious and not short on toiletries.
The breakfast was very disappointing; we came down mid way through the breakfast serving and found the buffet of the traditional Irish to be almost cold. We had to ask for tea and coffee as we sat for a number of minutes without, I didn’t see any orange juice either, unless you also had to ask for this? The porridge was very watery and the toast was cold and very doughy, it was barely toasted.
I don’t feel this hotel deserves the top rating, it’s a good hotel but when something is branded as being a 5 star, you expect the best. It’s certainly lacking the little extras that 5 star hotels are providing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Fabulous Hotel. Beautiful Room. Staff lovely. Italian restuarant on grounds - wonderful. Great buzz in the restaurant. (Via complemtary taxi - if required - possible to walk to)
All in all a great stay - couldn't fault this hotel

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We travelled with our two daughters aged 6 and 4, a surprise night away for Fathers Day.
On arrival the reception was above our expectations, a very kind gentleman walked to our car and met us and carried all the bags, teddies and swim bag. ( you get the picture). Delighted with large room, and the decor was fab.
We had lunch in the bar, the kids were given two colouring books and crayons(small touch but buys you 20 minutes peace). We enjoyed the pool which was spotless !! Loved that we had forgotten our hats but were given some and not charged for them !
Dinner in the Italian, which again could not have been better, kids spilled two glasses of orange which were replaced with out question.
But what really made our night on arrival back in the room, the kids had been left two glass's of milk and cookies.
Breakfast in bed next morning top class.
We have stayed in the Four Seasons, Shelbourne and the Westin all in the past year and they do not come within a mile of this hotel.

Well done and best of luck to all

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

We had a fabulous stay at the Heritage Hotel. We had a very large double double superior room on the top floor which had sweeping views over the golf course & mountains. Bathroom was also very spacious with separate bath & shower & beautifully decorated. Very comfortable beds with amazing crispy white sheets.
We had dinner in the Arlington one evening which was outstanding & portions very large. The Italian was also very good & concierge will drop you off & pick you up even though it's only a couple of mins walk away. Eggs Benedict at breakfast were also a highlight!
The Spa was fantastic with a wide range of different rooms including foot baths.
We couldn't really fault anything especially the staff who could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

I strongly suspect that the Heritage has given itself the 5 star rating and was not achieved through any inspections.
This is a very nice 4 star hotel but thats all. The main difference between a 4 star and a 5 star hotel is attention to detail and this is where the Heritage falls down.

The good points are that the staff are good and very friendly. We ate in the Italian/steakhouse restaurant and it was very good and reasonably priced.

On the minus side as I've said it is advertised strongly as a five star but falls down in lots of little ways - stains on carpets/odd smells in the hallway/noisy windows/exceptionally noisy and antiquated air conditioning system/the long underground walkway from hotel to spa is bare concrete walls and freezing/poor tiling in places and chips on paintwork.

One very poor and disappointing aspect of the the resort is the €60 euro charge to use the spa facilities. The only free access is to a very average swimming pool/Jacuzzi/sauna. This is not the norm in other 5 star resort which advertise themselves as spa destinations and seemed like a bit of a rip off when that was the main reason we went there. It brought our stay to €280 for one night (€160 for room and 2 x €60 for accessing the spa).

Can't comment on the golf or the other restaurants but for what you are getting this Hotel is overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Just returned from a visit to The Heritage - overall it was quite good, but I have to say this is not a true 5 star hotel. I really do not know how it gets that rating.
Don't get my wrong, there were alot of great things about this hotel - the bedrooms were gorgeous - great amenities, spacious,quiet, lovely views of the golf course. The Italian restaurant is exceptionally good value for money, great food, had a great atmosphere the night we were there and great service. The golf course is excellent, and the concierge/front desk staff were professional, friendly and efficient.
However there were just too many things which made it fall short of a true 5 star hotel. Firstly, no turn down service or mini bar in the rooms. Secondly, breakfast was very poor - buffet style, but not very good - horrible watery scrambled eggs, overdone sausages, greasy mushrooms - in my view a 5 star hotel breakfast should be served to you, not buffet style, and if it is going to be buffet, make it good!! We had a few drinks in The Thatch Pub after dinner - could not believe that it was not possible to charge drinks to your room. In a 5 star hotel?! And they didn't give cashback on Laser - extremely inconvenient. The glasses were dirty and drinks served were not acceptable - 2 cubes of ice at the most and no lemon/lime in the shorts. Same in the bar in the hotel - drinks just not presented to a 5 star standard. Also had bar food here and it was "just ok" - but as my husband said, when you know you could make nicer at home yourself, and you're paying 5 star prices, that's not good.
The spa is lovely but very pricey. In this current economic climate they need to be more competitive and offer value for money.
Overall it was just ok - nothing spectacular, and I wouldn't return - it's a good 4 star hotel but certainly not up to 5 star standards - we recently visited Mount Juliet in Kilkenny - now that is true 5 star. The Heritage could learn a thing or two from them.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort

Address: Killenard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Killenard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Golf Hotel Killenard
The Heritage Hotel
Heritage Killenard Hotel
Heritage Hotel County Laois
Heritage Hotel Ireland
The Heritage Golf And Spa Resort Ireland/Killenard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.