We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heritage Killenard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Heritage Killenard to your Saves list
The Heritage Killenard
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Killenard, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Certificate of Excellence
n ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on 27&28th Dec as a Christmas present 2 each other and were not disappointed. As my husband is an avid golfer we wanted a golf course and a spa for myself. We found the hotel on YourGolfTravel and choose well. The entrance is spectacular with a grand staircase. Staff were very friendly and always helpful. The rooms are large as the bathroom and bed very comfortable. Room overlooked the golf course. Bar pricey but we went to The Thatch, a bar-restaurant on the grounds and food and drink was much better priced and just as good. The thermal suite and spa I found excellent. The staff were very nice and took time to show u around. The therapist I has was Christine and what I massage I had. Wonderful. Prices are much as you would pay in any hotel sap but thus was well worth it. I agree with finediner114, toast should be served to the table with the tea & coffee, but breakfast was lovely. We have spent years going round golf & spas around Europe & America and are just discovering we have better here in Ireland. No sun, but the hospitality second to none.Have booked to go back in April.

Room Tip: I wouldnt think there would be a "bad" room here, but maybe ask for one forst level. We st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear joshy-boo,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review from your stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I was delighted to see you both had an enjoyable stay with facilities to suit both your expectations. I shall pass on your kind comments to staff and management.

Thank you for your lovely recommendation and we look forward to your return stay in April.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    279
    107
    36
    29
See reviews for
283
536
16
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My hubby and I attended and stayed for one night this weekend. We used the spa facilities initially which were lovely. We had booked a spa treatment each but one had to be cancelled the day before by the hotel due to a staff illness. When we arrived we were both given complimentary access to the Thermal suite instead. This was a nice gesture and appreciated. This area is nice, clean but slightly dated in places. Changing areas very spacious and clean. The rooms were very nicely furnished and appointed. Bed exceptionally comfy. We agree with a previous reviewer that a lack of wifi is an issue. Its really not acceptable these days to not have this service. The bar was quite expensive. We ate in the Italian, good food, service and reasonably priced too. The pasta dish could have been more generous on the pasta side but had plenty meat and fish. Lift to and from the hotel by very personable Dougie was super service. Breakfast was lovely this morning but I think 5 star hotels should serve toast to the table. (Personal bug bear). Overall very happy and would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear finediner114,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort and for your wonderful recommendation.

I was delighted to see you enjoyed the stay and I shall bring up your constructive feedback at the next managerial meeting. I shall pass on your lovely complements to all staff involved and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The rooms are very well furnished and many look out onto the golf course. The lobby and staircase is very expandive; breakfast was superb! The bar is pricey but convenient as the hotel is out on a limb. The bar food is quite a god alternative to the hotel restaraunt as €45 for set menu dinner is a bit steep. The staff are friendly and although I had no time to use the golf club or spa (there is a pool) the hotel has everything on site that you need either as a busy business man or if you want an away from it all break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear GRT7V,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your wonderful recommendation. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We used this hotel this week for a work conference for the first time, and i have to say i was very impressed. From our arrival, we were greeted by the cordinator there (iforget his name, unfortunately), and he helped us bring all our equipment into the room. He was extremely helpful and professional, and made us feel very welcome. The sound system was extremely good, the conference room was bright, spacious and just the right temperature, and the seating arrangements were perfect. The only major downside was that a lot of our presentation was videos from the internet, but we really struggled to show this as the strength of the internet was so poor. This was the only disappointment with the hotel. Would we use it for future conferences? Yes, if the internet was guaranteed to be stronger. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Tom O,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I was delighted to see you found our resort perfect for your conferencing needs. Our I.T. department are currently working on upgrading our wifi for both leisure and conferencing use.

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent a day and overnight in this hotel. First impressions of the very grand foyer heightened our expectations but alas we were to be slightly disappointed. The check in was speedy and informative and Majella talked us through the various facilities and dining options.
The bedroom was fine and the bed very comfortable but the room was cold. Yes you could put the heating fan on but it was extremely loud.
Also given its 5 Star status I would have expected a mini bar or at least complimentary bottled water.

We had lunch in the bar and it was just ok. Hard to really wrong with a club sandwich but the service was lacking. Our table remained uncleared for a long period after we had finished and we had to remind the waiter to remove the dirty cups as well. Again this area was cold despite there being a gas fire but given the size of the area this was clearly inadequate.

Our choice for dinner was the Sol rian which is the Italian restaurant offering at the entrance to the resort. We were taken by car as it is quite a walk on a cold winter night. The staff here were absolutely excellent both in terms of manners and efficiency. They were however let down by the food offering. Maybe it was that we chose badly but our pasta dishes were poor. So much so that we could only attempt to eat a little. The waiter was very quick to recognise this and immediately offered an alternative. We decided no to bother and he removed both min courses from the bill. The manager was very apologetic and said that the next time e came he would cook or us personally . Now that's probably not going to happen but it was a nice gesture.

Breakfast the following morning was just ok but def not a 5 Star standard. The fruit and cold meats section was fine but those awful silver domes where you have to juggle with a plate while attempting to open the lid are impossible. We both opted for a 'fresh from he kitchen' option. What arrived was cold poached eggs on soggy toast. At 17euros per person this wasn't cheap although it was part of our room rate.

In summary this hotel facility looks very grand but the attention to detail is sadly lacking for a supposed 5 Star facility.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear BarabusBangor,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I see you had mixed experiences during your stay with us. I would be grateful if you could contact me on 057 86 95000 to discuss the issues you encountered during your stay.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have been lucky to stay here 4/5 times in the last few years. This is a lovely spot. Ideal for couples / familys with the activities available. The Golf course is challenging and the spa facilities get alot of attention.

The food in the hotel itself has always been very good and the rooms are quiet spacious.
The only downside is the location. Killenard is a small place not much else here. It is not far off the main motorway. This would be considered an ideal family getaway.
The fact that this place is in Nama and affectively up for sale has no affect on the service or quality of the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear JMurphyCork,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review from your stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I was delighted to see you so thoroughly enjoyed your time here on the resort. I see you have experienced both our wonderful Seve designed golf course and our award winning spa.

Thank you for your wonderful continued custom and lovely recommendations.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

first time at this hotel and have to say it has the nicest reception area I've ever seen!!fabulous from start to finish.Staff were more than friendly and helpful except for one of the dining room staff who served us our dinner-she was very unfriendly!!However everyone else was very welcoming and would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing break!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Killenard, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Fidelma K,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I was delighted to see how much you enjoyed your visit to the Killenard. Please accept my apologies for your experience with the member of staff in the dining room.

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation and we hopefully look forward to seeing you in the future again.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killenard
9.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
24.9 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
12.3 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
20.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Killenard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Killenard

Address: Killenard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Killenard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Heritage Killenard 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Heritage Killenard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Golf Hotel Killenard
The Heritage Hotel
Heritage Killenard Hotel
Heritage Hotel County Laois
Heritage Hotel Ireland
The Heritage Killenard Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heritage Killenard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.