We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Meal at Green's Brassiere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort to your Saves list
The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Killenard, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal at Green's Brassiere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort has a really lovely restaurant in the Club House called "Green's Brassiere". I booked my dads special 80th birthday surprise dinner at Green's. The manager of the brassiere was so helpful with the booking and selecting the menu choice. On arrival at the clubhouse the decor was impressive and the atmosphere was relaxed. We were greeted on arrival by the head waitress " Marion" she escorted us to our beautifully laid out table. She made us feel very important and special. The service and attention to detail was really outstanding. Our food was lovely. After our dinner the manager came over and introduced himself to my dad and congratulated him on his big birthday. As a token he presented my dad with a present of cuff links. This was unexpected and my dad really appreciated the kind gesture. I highly recommend Green's as a restaurant for special occasions,the standard was 5 star. To the Heritage Resort Staff of the Greens restaurant thank you so much for a lovely experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear chaobella,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Greens Restaurant. I was delighted you choose Greens for celebrating you father's important milestone celebration.

I will pass on your positive feed-back to John and his staff in the clubhouse and we hope you return to us in the near future.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    228
    79
    32
    22
See reviews for
225
415
12
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I travelled with group of 4 women for a weekend getaway recently and the hotel was perfect. It's beautiful inside and the staff from the moment we checked in were extremely helpful and friendly. We ate a delicious lunch in the bar- typical sort of bar food but nice choices and not everything was deep fat fried. Nice presentation too. The spa is really nice too/ massage therapists excellent. There is a 'Spa EXperience' area which consists steam rooms, hot tub etc and this is a nice place to chill and unwind and hang out. It's expensive to go into but if you get it as part of a treatment or accommodation deal then its usually free. The restaurant food for dinner in the hotel Arlington restaurant was good but not excellent however the service and atmosphere were great so overall the evening was nice. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. Unusually there was no full length mirror in the room. We had a ground floor room which was also a disabled room so the bathroom was layed out to suit a wheelchair- there was no shower door so the whole bathroom got wet when showering / great i assume if you need the facility but not great for us. However I would definitely go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear travelvicks,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort.

I shall pass on your kind comments to our staff. I was delighted to see you enjoyed the Spa and Bar in particular.

I take on board your comments regarding our adaptable rooms and I do hope you come back and stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for one night for a friend's wedding. Had a wonderful time. Stayed in room 402, very nice quiet spacious rooms, huge bathroom, blackout curtains, fantastic service. There was some problem with the water supply for a few hours but it was dealt with fairly quickly, that was the only problem. The staff were very professional and friendly, relaxed about checking-in quite early. Wonderful service and food for the wedding reception. Nice to hang out until the wee hours in the residents' bar with the wedding party.
Didn't make it in time for breakfast - too late to bed with all the wedding fun.
Nice food presentation and service in the bar area the next day.
Hairdressers in the spa building right next to the main hotel - it is small though so book in advance.
Overall a great stay and we look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear NBWM,

Thank you for your glowing review from your stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort. I was delighted to see you thoroughly enjoyed your visit.

We always try to facilitate early check in’s where possible as we recognize the importance of our guests comfort after a journey.

Our apologies for the disruption to the water supply. We had some urgent maintenance work that needed completion.

It was unfortunate that you missed breakfast as our buffet selection is extremely varied and really sets you up for the day.

We hope you come back and visit us if in Ireland again.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over the may bank holiday weekend for a wedding in one of the houses on the resort which can comfortably hold 9 people. The house was massive had all the amenities needed, it was a minute walk to the main hotel, and if needed there were golf buggies and free taxis to help assist you back to the house late at night!!The hotel itself was absolutely stunning and the staff were so welcoming and couldnt do enough for us throughout our stay. Very enjoyable stay and would highly recommend it to family and friends! Well worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear mmcgrenra,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort. I see you stayed in one of our on-site houses and enjoyed the wedding you attended.

I shall pass on your complements to the staff. We hope you for another break again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for our wedding anniversary this bank hol weekend.first impressions are amazing when u check in.its a beautiful decor with a stunning staircase.all staff are lovely and really helpful especially the spanish guy at breakfast whos name i never caught.the only thing that let the place down a little were the bars.service wad v slow in the main bar in the hotel and we went to the pub on the Sunday.there was a match on.the staff were completely ran off their feet and although they were polite and friendly they were obviously v stressed.our room was a little on the dark side but as my husband was extremely tired it was a blessing and he was able to sleep on the Sunday undisturbed.the walking trek is good.v quiet and tranquil but close enough to golf course to feel safe.we ate in sol oriens on 1st night and food was gorgeous.found food in Arlington ok,not blown away by it.we didn't get to the pool or the spa but hopefully will make another trip in the future as have heard good things about spa.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear dublinboo,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor contribution. I see you were celebrating your anniversary with us and I hope it was memorable.

I regret you found our bars a little hit and miss. I shall pass on your comments to the department heads responsible.

I was delighted to see you particularly enjoyed Sol Oriens Steak House and we look forward to your return stay in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in the 2 bed apartments of this hotel. The apartments are not booked through the hotel but through a website called "Natural Retreats". The apartment was beautiful, two large double en suite bedrooms, a big kitchen living room and a third "guest" toilet. A big welcome basket awaited us with bread, cheese, butter, eggs, real milk(in fridge!) and a bottle of wine! Toiletries in the bathroom too and plenty of towels. The only draw back was the lack of cups and glasses. There were four of each but that meant running the dishwasher each time we ate. Also i like a mug of coffee and the cups were tiny. I suppose they expect you to eat in the hotel but it is a self catering unit so should be stocked as one. Also, when we arrived the front bedroom was very cold. We discovered the window would not close fully, we contacted hotel reception and they very kindly sent over a guy who couldn't fix it. So we called the guy that looks after renting out the apartments. He couldn't send anyone out until the following morning, which we were not too pleased about. The hotel guy came back and taped up the window with masking tape and we stuffed it with a towel to keep out the draught. Very helpful considering the apartments have nothing to do with the hotel. It was late the following evening before Natural Retreats managed to get someone over to fix it. However there was no security risk, just cold.
The complex is beautiful , we did the 5K walk around the golf course. The leisure centre was a bit disappointing though. Sauna and steam room are in the changing rooms, not on the pool deck and the pool is quite small and boring for a 5 star retreat. I believe the spa area is the place to visit but as this was a budget weekend we did not spend the €25 to use the facility.
Overall we had a very relaxing weekend and I would love to go back and stay in the hotel too!

Room Tip: The golf apartments are much more luxurious the the houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear YellowLuigi,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit to our resort. I am delighted you so enjoyed the whole experience.

I shall pass on your review to our on-site Natural Retreats Manager also.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Heritage Golf & Spa Resort again in the future.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I played the Heritage for the first time with a golf society. To find it - coming from Dublin on M7, take exit 17 toward Portlaoise onto the old Dublin - Portlaoise Road, it’s well signposted.

This is a Par 72, Seve Ballesteros, parkland course with lakes and streams coming into play on 10 holes and, having opened a mere 10 years ago, it has matured very nicely – a testament to the millions spent on developing it.

Fairways are undulating. You will find very few flat lies here – ball is usually above or below your feet. There are lots of large American style bunkers plus lots of trees and gorse. Rough is mostly long links type grass, so balls off the fairway can be lost easily.

Greens were a bit slower than expected and looked like they had been scarified recently – good greens, though, so I expect they will be a lot slicker as summer progresses.

As conditions were windy on such a tricky course, few scored well.

Most memorable holes for me were the 9th and 18th, which run along opposite sides of the same large lake.

Hotel / clubhouse were of a very high standard – all enjoyed sandwiches, soup, very tasty chowder, etc. One complaint – one of our lads asked for a glass of wine but at a price of €9, he politely declined.

Overall an enjoyable experience, good value for the price we paid – would not pay full published prices. Wouldn’t have expected to play this course for such reasonable society prices in the Celtic Tiger days, but now that this hotel and course are in Nama, I guess they are competing for every customer they can get.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas B, Guest Relations Manager at The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Suburban_Couple,

Thank you for taking the time to review your golf and leisure stay. I was delighted you found both the golf course and hotel to very high standard.

Our course is always a challenge but usually fun also. I hope all of your society equally enjoyed their stay and I hope you return for another outing again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Dougie Benson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort

Address: Killenard, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Killenard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Killenard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Golf Hotel Killenard
The Heritage Hotel
Heritage Killenard Hotel
Heritage Hotel County Laois
Heritage Hotel Ireland
The Heritage Golf And Spa Resort Ireland/Killenard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heritage Golf and Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.