We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Horn Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Old Horn Inn
Spennithorne, Spennithorne, Leyburn DL8 5PR, England
01969 622370
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Excellent home cooked food, fresh fish cooked to perfection. Never tasted steak pie so good. This tiny pub has a big heart, always a friendly welcome. Make sure you always book as a lot of people have discovered how good it is.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely Sunday lunch in this small, cosy pub. I'm not a big meat eater but I must say I ate all my beef as it was so well cooked and fell apart so easily, I loved it. Nice vegetables & gravy too. The only minus point was that we were at the first table on the Ieft in the dining room, close to the kitchen. Just after we had finished out main apparently the outside kitchen door was opened by the staff. A cold draft came in and it was not very nice were we were sitting. I mentioned it to the girl but nothing changed so we decided to go and forget about having a desert as we had planned. Would go back though as the lunch was top but would ask for a table in the bar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Steak and ale Pie to die for. Fish and chips amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

As a regular vistor to Wenslydale and a regular pub meal fiend. I can honestly say this is probably the best pub food available in the dale. The steak and ale pie is the best I have ever tasted. The fish and chips are truely amazing. Beer is canny and some ood banter to be had at the bar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Hidden Diamond Within The Tiara Of Yorkshire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Forget the few misery guts who gave some pretty callous reviews earlier for this place as they are so completely without foundation or merit whatsoever and probably written by narrow-minded and impatient townies who have no real respect for good genuinely home-cooked food and real ales. Forget also Michelin Stars when you visit this hidden gem of Spennithorne because "The Old Horn" Pub is more than worth its weight in Diamonds. Having just had a wonderful fortnight's holiday (away from Liverpool too!), even within the recent extreme heat-wave, the pub is based within the historically picturesque village itself, and this little gem was situated just 500 yards from the cottage. Perfect if you want to avoid driving when you want a few pints before, during and after you meal at the touring day's end. Jeff and Diane are without a doubt simply the best "ambassadors" to Yorkshire you could wish to befriend. Between them they run a lovely establishment...a real "community" based pub with some very friendly regulars to chat with between courses/rounds. The menu main and board specials is the same for the restaurant and bar. Admittedly I had all my experiences in the bar, having said that, I have no reason to believe that the service would have been less than professional - I just prefer the bar area to a restaurant when I'm on holiday that's all! Jeff knows his "real ales" - he keeps 2-3 regular ales or favourites on tap and a guest ale for the clientèle to try their thirst out on as well. In the balmy heat of the evening they were truly refreshing and perfectly chilled. Diane, is a trooper of a chef, who'd blow the socks off any of the leading TV-chef big shots with their clusters of Michelin stars dangling from the chests of their chef-whites. Where she differs from the big boys (and girls!) is in her love for dishing out perfectly cooked, honest homely dishes. No fancy dish titles, no fancy jus' or coulis' or extravagantly spiced wonders here. Although I'm sure she'd be a fantastic curry chef if there was local demand for it. But what you do get is very good value for money and decent portions too! Having been through the entire menu in a fortnight (sometimes the specials!) I can tell you that there isn't a dish you won't like. Just leave your fashionably trendy diets and calories counters at home as this in all seriousness isn't a safe haven for your waistline and why should it be ... what with beef and ale pie (a dream), beautifully fresh cod/haddock (heaven-sent from Whitby itself), and mouth wateringly awesome gammon steaks all served with the best "real" chips ever to come out of the fryer and let's not forget her exquisite Sunday roasts with "real" Yorkshire Pudding to name but some of the highlights she's put before me. I'm not known for having a sweet tooth, but I did have one pudding on a particularly adventurous and ravenous night and that was Diane's Sticking Toffee Pudding. Eat your heart out John Torode, you may have claimed to have invented this pudding in the 80's but Diane has well and truly put the finis into this dish in the 21st century! Some Tom, Dick or Harry (a micro-wave affectionado no doubt) wrote of the long wait for meals - what complete and utter rubbish. This is NOT a FAST FOOD eatery and a notice above Jeff's bar makes that politely and abundantly clear. I personally never waited longer than it was properly necessary to prepare/cook a course. To me good food, done justly is WORTH THE WAIT! Who wants a rushed meal when what you really want is a relaxed atmosphere in which to enjoy every morsel. I'd get very suspicious of a meal that arrived within 5-10 minutes of ordering. Diane takes very great personal care to give you the very best of what ingredients the area has to offer on her plates every single time - and I tell you something else she does that no fancy Michelin guru will give you on the same china ... and that's to add a truly great big dollop of 100 proof Yorkshire love with it too! Another highlight of the Old Horn is their fortnightly Sunday charity quiz night (starts 8pm only £2 to enrol per person) and you get joined up with which ever local team the organiser puts you on. All great fun and includes a sandwich buffet with bowls of her famous chips on each table!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Amazing sunday roast best i've ever tasted. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Have visited several times now and always had a wonderful time,great food, warm hospitality , couldn't ask for more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Horn Inn also viewed

 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Old Horn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Horn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.