We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Garangeoire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Garangeoire to your Saves list
La Garangeoire
Route de La Chapelle-Hermier | St Juilien des Landes, 85150 Saint-Julien-des-Landes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We first holidayed here in 2009, and it is so great we've been coming back every year since. The location is stunning with the owner family ( who are very hands on) living in the main chateau, and the various out buildings tastefully used as bar, reception, restaurant, shop, take away etc. everything is very, very well maintained with a virtually army of cheery staff constantly pruning, watering, cleaning, emptying bins etc, etc.
the facilities are top notch, the pool complex was extended in 2011 to include an extra covered pool and children's pool, although it does get crowded in high season and sunny days. There is an extensive entertainment schedule thought the day, seven days a week, that includes things for both kids, adults and families. Examples include horse riding, tennis, archery, fishing competitions, bowls, trampolines, painting, yoga, cycling, table tennis, crazy golf and the la Garangeoire discovery walk taken by one of the owners, Anne. This is not to be missed. Anne tells a lovely story of the history of the site and the wider, turbulent history of the vendee, during which her passion and love of the region shines through.

If you are a fan of cycling, and mtb in particular then you are in for a treat. Quality mountain bikes are available for hire and there are also three guided mountain bike rides per week, one easy ride for families and two for adults only, and they are not for the faint hearted! ( take a look at my you tube video under technical bike ride, la Garangeoire)

The restaurant offers some lovely dishes with an emphasis on local ingredients wherever possible and has an inside and outside dining area which is especially pleasant on warm evenings, although this is undergoing a full refurbishment at present. There is also a takeaway facility that does great pizza, roast chickens cooked to order, a variety of daily specials and the best frites we've ever tasted!

There are lots of options for accommodation, canvas holidays, thomson alfresco, europarcs, eurocamp and the sites own accomodation. There are also extensive touring facilities ( the pitches are huge) .

Travel time from Cherbourg is around 4-5 hours, a good tip is to stop at the huge decathlon near Rennes for a break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    30
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
134
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at La Garangeoire as a family of four for 2 weeks in August, booked with Eurocamp. It is a really lovely site, clean, well maintained and attractive. The pitches are all of a good size - I don't think there was a duff one anywhere.

The pool complex is also beautifully clean, and yes, it does get busy, but if it's high season that's to be expected, you just go prepared to sit on your towel, or take your own beach chairs down with you if you can't bear to sit on the floor. Even when the pools are busy there is still enough space. My children (aged 4 and 6 at the time) absolutely loved the pools and the slides, and would have been happy to spend all day every day there.

The staff were all friendly, helpful, and approachable, both the campsite staff and the Eurocamp couriers. Everything seemed to be well organised and smoothly run, and nothing was ever too much trouble. There are so many activities to do if you want to do them, but no pressure to do any of it if you don't - between the four of us, we enjoyed horse riding, football camp, crepe night, kids disco, night swimming, kids clubs, table tennis, pedaloes on the lake, and more. Just make sure you book the things you want to do that need booking - our 6 year old missed out on Archery because the slots were all taken days in advance of the actual session.

The location of the campsite is pretty good too - near enough to villages/small towns with interesting little shops, a huge market in Bretignolles sur Mer, and a trip to the castle at Apremont were all hits with our family. Plenty of beaches to choose from nearby too.

Next year we are going back, but have booked direct with the site this time, as it was far cheaper for the same holiday! This will be the first time we have ever gone back to the same place for a holiday - but we couldn't think of anywhere else we'd rather go. I'm even more excited about going next year, as I already know how great it will be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have travelled to France as two families for the last 6 years and in our opinion this is the best site we have stayed at.

The pool complex is suitable for all age categories from baby to teens and it does get busy but we were always able to find a space and with patience secure a sun bed.

The food in the restaurant is lovely in particular the moules and the staff are really friendly. Crepe night is not to be missed and fun for all of the family.

Night time swimming and crossing the lake are both great fun so check out before you go so you can take along your raft building equipment !!

Our kids favourite was the horse riding with us mums and dads leading the ponies around the lake.
The kids activities, in particular the archery and football were reasonable and well organised.

You will not be disappointed if you enjoy holidaying in France and are looking for a beautiful campsite.

Room Tip: All accommodation on this site is of a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights on recommendation from a friend. We were shown to our camping pitch and, whilst getting the tent out, realised that there was an overpowering smell that it had been used as a toilet! (from the hedge at the back of the pitch). I saw the next door pitch was free and went to the office - after a lot of discussion and tapping at the computer it was agreed that we could move.
We went to the pool (by this time about 2pm) and found it absolutely packed. Not being able to find a lounger is one thing but there was no free space on the one small patch of grass either. Standing room only (literally). The pool itself was heaving and we realised that this was not a relaxing place to be. It depends on what you are looking for in a holiday but the place, the pool at least, was what I imagine Butlins to be like. 95% at least were English which is not a problem but I do like to feel a little bit as though I am abroad when I go on holiday to another country.
The positives are the pitch sizes are good, there is always some entertainment in the evening and the surrounding countryside for cycling is lovely. The charge for the wifi at the bar is excessive at 5 euros an hour (it was free at our previous 5* site) and it is a hike to the toilet block (which may have explained the smell on our pitch).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just spent a week at this site in a Eurocamp two bed Caravan with decking. Cannot fault the site, owners and staff or Eurocamp in any way at all.
Caravan very clean, good location with hedges between placements.
Very hot weather so cool pool was a delight. In comparison the sea at St Jean De Montes was warmer but not very clear.
Walks around the lake are well laid out and kept clear.
Restaurant and amenities very good. Would recommend this site especially for any people with disabilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Fantastic setting, friendly staff, lots of facilities, however:
1. The pool is rather chilly, and even the very small toddler pool is cold, I was expecting that to be warmer. Our 3 month old could tolerate it (after a bit of initial protest), but not for long, and our 2 year old's lips went blue after a while. It's not freezing, and once you're in it's OK, but it certainly could be warmer.
2. Also we went in the 1st week in September which is the end of their season and all the toddler clubs had shut up shop which was disappointing. I can understand if the older children stuff was closed as they would be back at school, but doesn't seem to make sense to close the toddler clubs and activities.
3. It is a bit remote, although close to some nice beaches, but if you're looking to experience more traditional French stuff there isn't that much near by. You'd need to drive to Nantes or La Rochelle (1 hour+)
Having said all that we had a brilliant time and the weather was good, would have easily got 5 stars if pool was warmer and toddler clubs were on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A fantastic campsite with amazing facilities. We stayed in a African Safari Tent and wouldn't consider anything different in the future. A great camping community feel, great Euro/Key Camp kids clubs, evening care via the campsite kids club is ideal when you want a quiet meal in the restaurant but a little more relaxed and structured than the tour operator style kids clubs that we were used to. Everything you could probably want is on site from takeaways, to bars, a shop, pools including waterslides, evening entertainment and shows, bouncy castles, trampolining pony trekking, horse riding, pedal karting, cycling, running and walking routes, fishing, pedalos, row boats, amazing woodland/rural setting, 15 minutes to the nearest fabulous beaches, El Delfin a mile down the road is a must. Clean facilities all over the site and the showers are great.
Just one downside...I tried to book for next year as soon as I got back and they are already fully booked!!!

Room Tip: If you can get one, I would definitely recommend trying an African Safari Tent, perfectly placed for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Garangeoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Garangeoire

Address: Route de La Chapelle-Hermier | St Juilien des Landes, 85150 Saint-Julien-des-Landes, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your La Garangeoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Garangeoire Hotel Vendee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Garangeoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.