We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Garangeoire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Garangeoire to your Saves list
La Garangeoire
Route de La Chapelle-Hermier | St Juilien des Landes, 85150 Saint-Julien-des-Landes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our first experiences of a Eurocamp holiday and we are very pleased with everything. The campsite is just fantastic with so much to do for all range of ages. The caravan was clean and nice. We thoroughly enjoyed our week, the kids absolutely loved it and we are looking to return next year. There was alos lots to do in the nearby area, le grand defi treetop adventure and le puy du fou historical theme parks are a must do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    30
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
134
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our first introduction to KeyCamp/EuroCamp and as parents of 3 young daughters (8, 4 & 2) it seemed like the perfect holiday.....and it was. La Garangoire is set in a beautiful woodland retreat, away from any main roads, set back from some quite country lanes. We went there in the May half term 2013 and loved it. The site is clean, the staff are friendly and the overall facilities are great. We traveled from Portsmouth - Caen, then drove down to the park arriving around 8pm. A member of the KeyCamp staff was waiting for us, new our names and took us straight down to our Villagrand mobile home. It was clean, fairly spacious with more storage than you'd expect. The KeyCamp staff are always 'one text' away from sorting out any problems. The first morning, the boiler would start so I text the number I was given and I had someone on our doorstep 10 minutes later - great service. The site has a nice pool area (albeit a bit nippy in May!)... a nice bar with a beer garden with Bouncy castles, and takeaway food place (mainly pizza) and a small shop where you can get your fresh bread every morning. I can only imagine they employ full time gardeners as the whole place is trimmed to perfection. There's a nice play area, with Crazy golf, slides, swings, trampolines etc. You can pony ride (big hit with our girls)... take pedalos out on the lake (no charge - 20 euro deposit). The Lake! I forgot about that.... about a 5min walk from reception there is a beautiful Lake where you picnic, pedalo or fish. We bought a couple of 2 Euro Cane pole fishing rods from the site shop. They came with line, a float and hook all pre-done. We bought some worms from the local supermarket ('super U')... and caught a few fish!... my eldest daughter loved it. The local beaches are nice (about 30min drive from the park) as are some of the local seaside towns - there is a map in reception highlighting the ones they recommend. My daughter also took part in an Archery lesson, which was very well organised & great fun. Some of the activities I have listed cost extra, but no much - I can't praise this park enough... best holiday we have ever taken our kids on. would definitely recommend it to anyone with a young family looking for an adventure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

excellent accomodation in beautiful setting. lots for children in safe environment.only down side there is no village/town to walk to but everything you need on site. Staff very friendly and informative. Site kept in excellent condition grass cut and no litter.

Room Tip: for young children near the open field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a lovely family holiday over May half term. The site is brilliant for children there is so much to do. We went with my sister and family with four boys between us ranging from four to eight. Craig the Keycamp site manager was excellent and went out of his way to make sure we were were close to each other. The pool was great and the boys loved the slides. The children enjoyed the play area, fishing, boats, horse riding, tennis, table tennis, pancake party. It really is a lovely spacious site that is extremely child friendly. You would be hard pushed not to enjoy a family holiday here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We visited this campsite when I was heavily pregnant and although we had a wonderful holiday as a couple, we think we'd have had even more fun if we'd waited until our little one had arrived as there is so much to keep kids entertained! From a couples perspective, there was still lots to do although having a car is essential. I would highly recommend taking up the free walk which is of the extensive grounds and was led by the owner, Anne, who shared a lot of the history of the area and her family. The walk ended inside the chateau which was fabulous to see. The location is in an area of France that is quite quiet, there isn't a whole lot to see compared to other areas. The beaches are beautiful but not many towns to visit to wander around. All in all we really enjoyed ourselves and would definitely visit again with the kids.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 weeks with our tourer on a fully serviced pitch in August. Site is fantastic with great services and activities. Bar prices very reasonable. Very well ran with a no tolerance approach.

Only down side is pool area which is unsupervised and my wife ended up saving two kids who were struggling. We tried to book again for 2013 while we were there but although room was available for the times we wanted we were told others with 'more years service' would get priority for next years booking which seems very unfair. First come first served is the norm. Needless to say we have booked elsewhere who can guarantee us a pitch.

Otherwise we would have returned.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a beautiful campsite set in the grounds of a large chateau. Excellent swimming pools. There are lots of wonderful cycling routes in the grounds. The bar was a bit disapointing - limited number of beers on tap and no caraffes of wine :-(

There is a great supermarket in St Julien, however we didn't find a huge amount to do in the surrounding area. It didn't help the weather was very inclement.

The keycamp couriers were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them - thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Garangeoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Garangeoire

Address: Route de La Chapelle-Hermier | St Juilien des Landes, 85150 Saint-Julien-des-Landes, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Julien-des-Landes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your La Garangeoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Garangeoire Hotel Vendee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Garangeoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.