We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kind of people you want running a backpackers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverlodge Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riverlodge Backpackers to your Saves list
Riverlodge Backpackers
Oude Molen Eco Village | Alexandra Road, Pinelands 8000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The kind of people you want running a backpackers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed at Riverlodge twice, storing my scuba gear there while I traveled around the country. The airport pickup and drop-off were right on time. The room was small and basic, but at least I didn't have to share. The facilities were fine: comfy sitting areas, fully stocked kitchen and really hot water showers. A special thanks to PJ, Greg and Wendy for making me feel like I was part of the family. They were particularly friendly, helpful and patient.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    7
    2
    11
See reviews for
5
14
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

relaxed, laid back place. cool atmosphere.
very recommandable for backpackers.
good public connection to the city (15 mins by train).
always a bunch of cool people around.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I stayed here throughout august whilst visiting south africa and what a brilliant time i had. kept extremely clean by the friendly staff, spacious and welcoming. brilliant atmosphere in the lodge and very friendly. great showering facilities and large kitchen area. also a bbq area in the gardens which is fun 4 everyone to join in. location is excellent, right outside the train station to get you to main cape town and a 5 minute walk to the local shop. if anybody is coming to cape town i would reccommend this hostel. i used trip advisor to find accommodation and thanks to everyones reviews i chose the right hostel and had a fantastic time. and all for only £8 a night...bargain!

Room Tip: all rooms are well located and have easy access to the bathrroms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Great little place at the right price. Right next to a train station and not far from shops. PJ is a great guy and very helpful. Rooms and bathrooms were basic but clean, all that is needed really. Thanks for the pleasant stay and we will stay again!!!

Pat & Kirsty!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keetmanshoop, Namibia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Really enjoyed the stay! Only problem was no wireless internet (minor inconvenience) and no nearby pubs. Beds were great and the rooms were clean - all I wanted. I will return again next time I visit CT!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosh Pinah
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Accommodation was very good.Only problem that i was having was car parking, it will be better to have fence.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

At first site the place looked like it was the worst choice i had made, but after entering the lodge the group loved the lodge. It is an excellent home away from home, a place where you get on with your life with no interference at all. An ideal place to take a group or team as there is absolutely no danger and creepy places the team can get to. Awesome!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinelands
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Pinelands
City Lodge Hotel Pinelands
#1 of 1 in Pinelands
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunflower Stop
Sunflower Stop
#16 of 122 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Green Elephant
Green Elephant
#1 of 11 in Observatory
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 122 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.7 mi away
51 on Forest Drive Lodge
51 on Forest Drive Lodge
#1 of 22 in Pinelands
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 122 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverlodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverlodge Backpackers

Address: Oude Molen Eco Village | Alexandra Road, Pinelands 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Pinelands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Pinelands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverlodge offers you Cape Town Backpacking at its best. Our backpacking lodge is based in the Oude Molen Eco Village, Pinelands, the closest backpacking hostel to the airport. Cape Town City center is only a 12 min drive away. We offer a convenient on site shuttle service and we are an accredited Baz Bus stop. WIFI, internet, office services and a travel desk are just some of the facilities available. River Lodge offers the best of both city and country living. An fantastic backpackers - self catering, clean & homely, high ceilings, wooden floors - cozy in winter, cool in summer. In our large spacious kitchen you can indulge in your favorite pastimes, chilling at the bar, lazing by the fireplace, prepare your favorite meal while watching DSTV, or enjoy our spacious BBQ facilities. You can relax on the enormous stoep or climb into a quiet hammock on one of our lawns. We boast of having one of the largest in city camp sites in Cape Town, catering for vehicle and tents, safe and secure. The Backpackers dorms are perfect for Volunteer Accommodation (60 pax), sporting groups, school groups, group stays, business and self drives -- we are regularly used by Volunteering Organizations. We offer a range of accommodation: 2 bed, 4 bed, double rooms and family room en-suite and a 10 bed dorm with it's own showers and toilets. Configuration of sleeping facilities can be adapted to specific needs. This is the place to base yourself and explore Cape Town as we are centrally situated, 12km away from both Cape Town International Airport and City Center, as well as a 2min walk from Pinelands railway station. A heartbeat away from the N1 and N2 highways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Riverlodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverlodge Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.