We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week away at work” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge Hotel Pinelands

Save Saved
You added City Lodge Hotel Pinelands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Pinelands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Raapenberg Road | at Mowbray Golf Park, Pinelands 7450, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pinelands
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mid week away at work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a surprise to find the hotel, so close to work, and yet far enough away to leave the office behind. Enjoyed breakfast and mornng muffins'juics at the reception. The staff were friendly and professional. The room was spacious, clean and well kept - The view was over the pool, and within a few steps, I was on the golf course... Will add pictures later.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
1
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed at the City Lodge in Pinelands, Cape Town over the new year in 2011/2012. We had no accomodation reserved when we were driving to Cape Town, but after a quick call to the hotel, a friendly staff member helped us reserve 2 rooms.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were met by friendly security and staff. We later booked 3 rooms and the hotel gave us a special rate (even over the Christmas week).

The rooms and bathrooms were spotless, and were cleaned daily. On request more pillows/milk/tea or coffee were brought to the room.

The staff were always helpful and friendly.

The Hotel is situated not too far from Cape Town CBD, and has lovely views of Table mountain from the entrance. It is situated on a golf course and special rates are given to residents of the hotel. There is also a pool and a very neat though small gym.

At the rates that this hotel offers, this is a magnificent place to stay, also being a 3 star Hotel.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if you dont want to walk up or down stairs, choose a room on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Very clean, offers great value for money to business travelers. The location is not ideal for tourists although there is easy access to main routes if you do have a car. Good breakfast, fast check-in and correct billing. This hotel is great for a quick one-night stay on business.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randfontein, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is a great place to stay for business. Easy access to the motorway and not far from the airport or from the city centre. Secure parking and friendly service. Room was clean and comfortable. Had great food at the hotel restuarant - not a large selection on the menu but enough to choose from for a good meal - otherwise you can order from a delivery service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We have stayed several times at City Lodge, Pinelands,and it has always been a pleasant experience - clean, good value for money and secure location. It's convenient to the airport and only a short drive into town.

Room Tip: We would recommend that you ask for a room with a view of golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairburn, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is a correct business travelers hotel, very secure place, in an area of businesses and the golf course. The parking was secure and staff was attentive to needs. There is an outside company that offers rooms service. You get a full menu and they bring it to the hotel from off site. The hotel does offer a full breakfast. There is a "coffee shop" menu for ordering a meal in the bar area in the evening time. We ate there one evening and while you certainly would not want to plan for it, in a pinch, it is satisfying. There is a full bar and the prices were very low compared to US prices. The place was very clean. We did have 1 problem with our non smoking room. The second day of our stay we returned to the room and found it smelling of smoke. There is a vent in the bathroom that was the problem allowing a draft from another room. Very smelly. I stuffed a wet towel in the vent and left it there the rest of the stay and took care of that problem. The hotel I feel was equal to a mid to high grade Marriott type US hotel. The tv's were the older style but everything else up to date. 2 notes: The bathroom offers no privacy so it would be VERY awkward to stay in a room with someone other then your spouse (at least the room I had). Also, the hotel did not appear to be very accessible to a wheelchair or someone that would have trouble going up stairs.

Room Tip: first floor rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is one of my regular stay over’s whenever my husband or I fly into South Africa and that happens on a regular basis. On a previous occasion I had complained about a truly funky toilet smell in the room and taken out the trouble to fill in a form supplied that allows for this purpose.

This stay provided the same funky smell in a different room. We had a two night stay over and on the first day a few hours after checking in we received a call from reception to say the water would be switched off for about 4 hours as they were having some issues. That was 12 noon. We arrived back from shopping that evening and still no water. My husband went to enquire and was told at 20h00 the water would be on. At 22h00 there was still no water. Eventually the water came on at 23h00. We understood that sometimes things just do not work out but were not offered anything by the hotel in return for this inconvenience and indeed it felt as if the staff would rather avoid our questions than try and give us a direct answer.

I think the cherry on top was the cockroach on our door the next morning. I think my run with this City Lodge is come to an end. For those that still want to endure, the breakfasts are good but staff can be somewhat slow to fill up a coffee cup, the surroundings are great and the hotel is close to the N2 but sound proofed rather well from the traffic. It is a short drive to the airport and a shuttle can be arranged. You will need to drive a bit of a way to the Waterfront and Century City but all in all a peaceful surrounding. The rooms are mostly clean and the bed pleasant although I wish they would update a bit on TV’s and real cotton bedding. We will however be trying another spot on our next flight in.

Room Tip: We liked second floor bedrooms if you do not mind lugging baggage upstairs. Nice pool areas, nice cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Lodge Hotel Pinelands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Pinelands

Address: 44 Raapenberg Road | at Mowbray Golf Park, Pinelands 7450, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Pinelands
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pinelands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Pinelands 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the old English-type suburb of Pinelands, with rooms overlooking the first green of Mowbray Golf Course. Close to most major attractions in the Cape Town area. The CBD and Rondebosch is only 8 minutes away, and Cape Town International Airport 10 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Pinelands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Pinelands Hotel Cape Town Central

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel Pinelands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.