We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 51 on Forest Drive Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 51 on Forest Drive Lodge to your Saves list
51 on Forest Drive Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Forest Drive, Pinelands 7450, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Pinelands B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“wonderful memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Wow I must say, I wish we had stayed longer but we have to get back to work at some point.

The place was beautiful and homey, I would definitely come back some day,whether with friends or my family. I would recommend it to anyone who's looking for some peace and quite. The food was wonderful and the staff was very friendly.

Keep it up guys your place rocks!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forestdrive, Manager at 51 on Forest Drive Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi Malcolm

Thank you for the good review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Pity your trip had to be so short but we hope to see you again for a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
25
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our stay was fantastic to say the least! It was a very busy weekend with a 40th to prepare and cook for, your place was a saving grace for extra kitchen space for us to do some cooking. Your breakfasts were delightful and the chefs friendly and cooked up tasty eats. Thank you again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forestdrive, Manager at 51 on Forest Drive Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review Kim. We enjoyed having you and all your family stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The food is awesome and really well set out.
The service is excellent and the people are very friwndly whilst giving me space.

The only problem is that I got woken up at daybreak because of the blinds that don't shut out the light.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forestdrive, Manager at 51 on Forest Drive Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi Gavin

Thank you for your feedback. We will look into the situation with the blinds. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

51 on Forest was a great place to stay! We stayed for 2 weeks in July and were blown away with the kindness and efficiency of the staff. The accommodations were comfy and very clean. The food was great!
We highly recommend this place for your stay in beautiful Cape Town.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the suites as we're are a family of four. It was a great size and we will de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forestdrive, Manager at 51 on Forest Drive Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi Tami

Thank you for the lovely review and we thoroughly enjoyed having you and your beautiful children here. We hope to see you all again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic home grown South African place. Super friendly staff and owner. Decor a bit of a mish mash that's make it feel like home, somewhere you could've grown up in. I love it! Super spacious rooms with full dstv and wifi whether on business or play who needs more than that if Capetown weather acting up. Great chef Great food and seems to be in the middle of everything. Definately coming back here! They sure as hell know what they are doing!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forestdrive, Manager at 51 on Forest Drive Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We hope to see you guys again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My stay was comfortable, the staff were very friendly, the space was ample and the location was central and convenient. The food was also excellent. Above all, this is exceptional value for money compared to hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forestdrive, Manager at 51 on Forest Drive Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for the review Amenda. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Friendly and excellent service. The room was lovely. I loved the heater in the bathroom :). Great to have a TV in the lounge & bedroom.Location is central. Excell ent breakfast. I would definitely stay there again.


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 51 on Forest Drive Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 51 on Forest Drive Lodge

Address: Forest Drive, Pinelands 7450, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Pinelands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pinelands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 51 on Forest Drive Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
51 on Forest Drive Lodge consists of three guest houses, each with three en-suite bedrooms. These Bed & Breakfast or Self catering guest houses offer warm hospitality in comfortable, luxurious surroundings, in a tranquil, garden setting. 51 on Forest Drive Lodge is located in the Garden City of Pinelands, Cape Town, South Africa. Known as the 10-minute suburb, we are situated close to the N1, N2 and M5 freeways, allowing quick access to Cape Town International Airport, The Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the City Centre and beautiful beaches, all within 10 - 15 minutes by car. Pinelands boast two top-ranking golf courses, i.e. the Mowbray and Rondebosch Golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your 51 on Forest Drive Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 51 on Forest Drive Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.