We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calmness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 51 on Forest Drive Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 51 on Forest Drive Lodge to your Saves list
51 on Forest Drive Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Forest Drive, Pinelands 7450, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Pinelands B&B and Inns
Port Louis, Mauritius
1 review
“Calmness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hello,

My short stay there was a really peaceful and relaxing one. I loved this beautiful place. The service was good, the people very welcoming, and breakfast was very nice. The interiors were well decorated, with nice household stuff. I have spent an enjoyable night there and I am definitely going to spend some time again there if I am travelling in the area. I would recommend people who are coming to for the first time or moving away from Cape Town to come and spend some peaceful moment here while on the go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
25
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our stay was comfy and relaxing, also close to every thing we came for. Close to Cape town, but far enough to be away from hustle and bustle. Did not take more then 15 min to get to any major part of Cape Town. i.e. V&A, shopping centres etc.
We were really made to feel at home. The room was clean and tidy.
Staff and Management friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forestdrive, Manager at 51 on Forest Drive Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you Justin. We enjoyed having you and your family and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My stay was fun, the facility was very neat and look nice. The staff are very professional and friendly; always eager to be of service. The rooms are spacious with nice furniture and clean sheets. I will always stay at 51 Forest drive when next I visit Capetown. I ll recommend it to my friends. It is Home away from home

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forestdrive, Manager at 51 on Forest Drive Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you Alfred. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

One of the best I have stayed in for a long time. I stayed there with a business associate for three nights and we found that all our appointments were not more than about 15 minutes away. The 2 bedroom apartment was very well appointed. We will definitely use this B&B again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the two bedroom Apartment and found it very comfortable and suitable for two business m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forestdrive, Manager at 51 on Forest Drive Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for the good review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great location for the airport, and great flexibility on the part of the owners regarding early checkout. Room classic (tired) rather than great. Restaurant ok. Otherwise not particularly memorable. Way out of Capetown itself, so not the best for visiting the V&A waterfront or the museums (for example)

Room Tip: Tell them if you need to leave early. There are some rooms from which noise isn't a problem for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

it was very nice recordinging feedback from our trainer.
Friendly people and very clean and cozy.
thank you for looking after him so well.
Regards
Maritza Kilian (Gravity Training)
will use B&B again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I only stayed here one night but I enjoyed my stay. It is a short (15 min) taxi ride from Central Cape Town and about a 15 min taxi ride to the airport. The Lodge is intimate and it felt like I was a guest in someone's home. My room was a good size and was very quaint from the homey decor. The room had good aircon, a large bathroom, & wide selection of television channels. My room was facing the main road (Forest Drive) which is quite busy and could be loud at times, but I think the rooms towards the back probably do not have the noise of the traffic. There was also an Honesty Bar in the room with a wide selection of drinks and a few snacks. That was a nice touch. The internet wasn't working the entire time I was there, but was told I could use internet across the street at the manager's house. I didn't, but the offer was generous and thoughtful.
The pool and garden area in the back of the house were also very peaceful. The pool was small and needed to be cleaned, but the ambiance was perfect for reading and relaxing. There is also a nice dining room, but I didn't have any meals there, so cannot comment on the food.
The only thing to consider if you are planning on spending a lot of time in Central Cape Town (Waterfront, etc) is the location. The Lodge is a bit far if you don't have your own transportation. It would get expensive taking a taxi everyday in to Cape Town and I'm not sure about public transportation options. It is not the place to stay if you are looking for busy nightlife, lots of restaurants/cafes, shops or touristy activities. But if you are looking for a tranquil, family-feel, cozy place to stay, 51 on Forest Drive is exactly for you!

Room Tip: Perhaps choose a room towards the back of the Lodge to avoid hearing traffic from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 51 on Forest Drive Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 51 on Forest Drive Lodge

Address: Forest Drive, Pinelands 7450, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Pinelands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pinelands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 51 on Forest Drive Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
51 on Forest Drive Lodge consists of three guest houses, each with three en-suite bedrooms. These Bed & Breakfast or Self catering guest houses offer warm hospitality in comfortable, luxurious surroundings, in a tranquil, garden setting. 51 on Forest Drive Lodge is located in the Garden City of Pinelands, Cape Town, South Africa. Known as the 10-minute suburb, we are situated close to the N1, N2 and M5 freeways, allowing quick access to Cape Town International Airport, The Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the City Centre and beautiful beaches, all within 10 - 15 minutes by car. Pinelands boast two top-ranking golf courses, i.e. the Mowbray and Rondebosch Golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your 51 on Forest Drive Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 51 on Forest Drive Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.