We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the KZN Midlands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hartford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mooi River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hartford House
Save
You added Hartford House to your Saves list
Hlatikulu Road | Mooi River, Mooi River, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Mooi River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pietermaritzburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jewel in the KZN Midlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

At the ‘Emperors Palace Summer Ready to Run Sale’ at Summerhill Stud I was again privileged to enjoy an outstanding lunch presented by Hartford. It is not surprising that Hartford was recently mentioned in the Washington Post as being one of the top 3 restaurants on this planet! Hartford is a jewel in the KZN Midlands. We are so fortunate to be able to go and enjoy world-class food is beautiful warm surroundings. The soul of Hartford is also portrayed by the owners and their exceptional teams. Whether for an outstanding meal, or for an incredible ‘stay’, Hartford is definitely one of my favourites.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    25
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
82
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were not disappointed with our second visit to Hartford House after a gap of eight years. We were given a Pool Suite which was delightful. Service is faultless and the highlight has to be the five course dinner prepared by Jackie Cameron . Breakfast was another culinary experience with a three course menu.
Horse lovers will enjoy wandering through the paddocks of the adjoining Summerhill Stud admiring the mares and foals.
Wi-fi is available in the main house.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford H, Head Chef at Hartford House, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you so very much for your foodie comments, I will pass them on to my kitchen team. It is so appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Jackie Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

As a family of four, we spent the night at Hartford House and had an amazing experience. We loved the food, rooms and the overall ambience of the place. Thank you to the staff for the kindness and thoughtfulness to our boys.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford H, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dean,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your special celebration at Hartford House- we aim to please and we love to hear we are succeeding!!

We hope that you will join us for another anniversary celebration, we look forward to it.

Best Wishes

The Hartford Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We have been for 3 meals at Hartford in the last year and each time are amazed with the tasty food. Top class all round! Quite expensive but well worth while as a treat. Will most defiantly be back. We stayed in the siyabonga suit which was amazing. His and hers baths and all the quality fixtures and fittings you would expect. The bed was a little hard for me but was not the end of the world . Hartford keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford H, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Keri and Andrew

It was wonderful having you here! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

Hartford is such a special place, we are lucky to call it home.

Come and visit again soon

The Hartford Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

If there is only one reason to go to Hartford it is because the food is amazing, a culinary delight! I could not wait for meal times. We stayed in a cottage near the swimming pool which was very nice, but we did run out of hot water after one bath. My husband managed to catch a few trout which pleased him immensely. All in all I would definitely recommend Hartford for a romantic weekend away, it is a very peacefully place!

Room Tip: The cottages on the dam are more expensive but look amazing, you get your own plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford H, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mrs Botha

Thank you for your food compliments, we are truely lucky to have the amazing chef team that we have. Jackie Cameron is such a talent and her food is a gastronomic experience.

I am concerned regarding the hot water during your stay, each unit has its own geyser and there should be ample water. Perhaps you can contact us with the unit number/name and we can rectify this.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time here relaxing and fishing and do hope that you visit again.

Best Wishes

The Hartford Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were combining business with pleasure on this visit (our second) and the pleasure made the business very easy!
This is a stunning hotel set in a working stud farm - the decor is 'eclectic colonial', and we had a garden room which was across the lawn from the main house, and had every convenience. The only downside was the lack of AC (or maybe we coudn't find it?) and we made the fatal mistake of leaving a few windows open, to find ourselves covered in mosquito bites the next morning.
Dinner was an amazing experience - we had the restaurant to ourselves and had the (only) set menu which was sublime.
We were spoilt for choice at breakfast on the terrace the next morning but we chose well - I had delicious oatmeal with all the trimmings (cream, almonds, honey and even a drop of Jameson whisky!) and my husband had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. The only downside of the visit was that we had an early start to do a battlefields tour organised by the hotel (also highly recommended) so we couldn't make more of our time at this stunning place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford H, General Manager at Hartford House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely review. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and great food.
We are sorry that your nights sleep wasn't restful due to mosquitos, one of the downsides of the summer, we are looking into the best way to combat this.
We do hope that you come and visit us again, and next time perhaps we can interest you in a stud tour and learn more about the history of Hartford and the international stallions on the farm.
Best Wishes
The Hartford House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham Road, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great Rooms, Great Location and Great Food & Wine - who could ask for anything more ......... The staff are amazing they are very friendly and geniunely want you to enjoy your stay - This was my 4th visit and I cannot wait to visit again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford H, Manager at Hartford House, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank You!

We are so glad that you enjoy our little spot in the midlands as much as we do.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hartford in the near future.

Best Wishes
The Hartford House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford House

Address: Hlatikulu Road | Mooi River, Mooi River, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mooi River
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mooi River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peering through one teakwood door at Hartford House, you face a Colonial world. Opening another, the distant sounds of an ancient people at work lilt across the silent landscape, a country of great space, spectacular mountains and big skies. This place commands a headland between the world of traditional cultures and the splendid style of our settler forebears.It is the resolution of all South African safaris. The journey's exclamation point, a retreat from the hubbub where you make sense of a fast life and its senseless details. This is where we learn to redress ourselves on a first name basis.There are too many luxury hotels in the world offering the same: a chocolate on the pillow, canned romance, and cuisine called "haut" because it's spelled in French. Hartford stands apart for its integrity. Its architecture, views, dining, sounds, smells, its racehorses and its people are all exhilarating surprises, unique to this Zululand, this culture, to Africa. Yes, you come here to be pampered, but at Hartford luxury is the journey, not the destination.The truth is, Hartford just happened. A home, and a grand one at that, which grew into a hotel. A community looks to it as its watering hole, its nexus of entertainment, its fountain of gossip. In so many ways, it's gained and regained inspiration from the cultures it celebrates. It is life's exception, a place at the same time comfortable beyond dreams, yet innocent of pretence. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartford House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.