We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in tranquil Lombok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Raya | Lombok, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mangsit
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
“A little gem in tranquil Lombok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed at the Puri Mas Boutique Resort during the first eight nights of September and instantly fell in love with the place.
The colourful gardens, although small were kept in excellent condition and the infinity pool was superb even if the water was a tad refreshing.
All the bedrooms are designed differently. We stayed in Room 2 (there are only 17 plus one villa) and this had a private sun lounging area and garden, a roomy porch and the bedroom contained not only a large double bed but had a smaller single and thus would have been ideal for a group of three travelling together.. There was a good sized closet and a large bathroom. This had a central shower unit that was located not far away from an open section in the ceiling and consequently was ideal for observing the weather when using the room.
Although coils are supplied and the rooms and gardens are sprayed weekly, we would advise visitors to take insect repellants with them. The beds do have netting supplied.
The room was adjacent to the Beach Restaurant and then the beach. We had a very sumptious waiter served American breakfast for our first six mornings but this was changed to a buffet style (and not as interesting) affair on our final two mornings. This was due to a group that arrived and filled the hotel. They also brought with them some live music which tended to spoil the tranquility we had enjoyed during the previous evenings. We ate most evenings at the hotel and on one occasion enjoyed a tasty rijstaffel in one of two Javanese beach pavilions. A very romantic setting and highly recommended.
The Infinity Pool at the hotel is truly devine and ideal for those exotic far away pictures. In front of this is the hotel’s private sandy sun lounging area and beyond that Mangsit beach. The beach is ideal for a paddle in the Lombok Straits or for a pleasant walk but one must expect to suffer the odd hawker selling their wares.
The sunsets from the resort are magnificent as are the views of the local fishing fleet. Mount Agung in Bali is often visible.
There is complimentary transport available to visit the sister hotel, the Puri Mas Village where you can find a further enticing pool and an interesting private collection of animals and birds in the attractive gardens. These include, monkeys, deer, a kangaroo, parrots, peacocks, a cassowary and cockatoos. The spa service is also available at this location.
All the staff and the owner Marcel ensured that everyone had an excellent vacation and all concerns were dealt with immediately. The checking in and out was faultless.
We would definitely recommend this hotel for any couple visiting but not for families as there was little to occupy children and the pool depth does not accommodate their size.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    136
    32
    10
    10
See reviews for
67
414
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Lombok is being praised as the next Bali....Well, definitely not within this century...which for some people will be good news.
We stayed at the beautiful Puri Mas. Small bungalows set in a beautiful garden setting right on the beach...what more can you ask for. The restaurant is ok and reasonable priced which is important as there are not too many choices nearby...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed in one of Puri Mas Hotel's recently built Ocean Villas, which have their private pools and were - being brand new - in excellent condition. The first impression was astonishing: the villa has its own kitchen with microwave, gas stove and fridge. There is a nicely furnished dining and sitting area, which almost invites you to throw a party.

Pool is of modest size but nice for quick dips. Walls around the private yard are high, so you have privacy but there is no cooling breeze while enjoying the sun. A sun bed with a canopy and lots of cushion is placed right next to the pool.

Bedroom is its own building. Room is very large, and in addition to a king size bed you have an alcoved day bed, although we couldn't think of any use for it. Behind the bedroom you have an open air bathroom and shower. From our villa's shower you could see the second floor rooms of the main building, so I'm quite sure the occupants had a direct view to us washing up.

Common pool area and beach are fairly nice. Hotel security makes sure that hawkers roaming the beach in front of the hotel don't get overtly aggressive. Still, you may easily feel crowded, especially if spending time on sunbeds closest to the sea.

Breakfast is poor. Noodles, bacon, grilled tomatoes and toast are readily available, omelettes are made on request. There's also something remotely resembling youghurt, fruit salad and juice. You'll get bored with the selection in a matter of days. Breakfast should be available from 6:30 onwards, but you'd be lucky to see everything prepared by 8 o'clock. Apart from the breakfast, the hotel's restaurant is adequate. Food is good and prices are only about 50% higher than in Senggigi.

Location is awkward: there is nothing near the hotel, except a couple of other hotels. Nearest restaurants are in Senggigi, which is about five kilometers from the hotel. You'll be using taxis daily. Happily, riding taxis is cheap (less than 1€ for a one way trip). The road running right next to the hotel is quite busy, and the Ocean Villas just happen to be the closest rooms to the road. You'll be needing ear plugs to catch a good night's sleep.

Staff is friendly, but they just don't seem to be willing to go that extra mile to make your stay exceptionally memorable. Their command of English leaves room for improvement and varies a lot. We do, however, heartily recommend the diving company (Bagus Divers) that operates from hotel's premises: the snorkeling trip to gilis was simply the best we've ever been on. Especially the guy on duty during our stay (Win) was very friendly and competent.

Only thing truly spectacular about this hotel are the ocean villas. On the day of departure, we were allowed to use a standard room (free of charge) after checking out. The difference between the room and villa couldn't be vaster. We wouldn't be caught dead in the kind of a dump the standard room was. Take this with a grain of salt, however; I do believe this to have been the absolute worst Puri Mas had to offer.

If you don't plan to stay in the ocean villa, I don't really know why you would want to pick Puri Mas over any other resort in Lombok. It's not bad by any stretch of imagination, it just has little going for it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Having taken a punt with where to stay, we were thrilled with our decision to stay at Puri Mas. Although it is a 5 minute taxi drive from Sengiggi, the beach is better and the taxis are very cheap and always available. There are far less hawkers on the beach also (although we enjoyed them anyway). The rooms, service and total ambience of the resort are of the highest standard; we are already planning a return visit.... can't wait!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester ~UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Puri Mas Lombok is outstanding, beautiful, friendly, stylish, relaxed and was by far and away the best value place we have ever been.
My boyfriend proposed to me there and spent months liaising with the hotel manager how to do it!
There were some building works going on whilst we were there but this did not interupt or spoil our stay.
We hardly left the place all week and are planning when we can go again.
I highly reccomend villa 6....

Book it now!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed here for 7 nights and really enjoyed it. We chose room 3 as it had been recommended and we weren't disappointed. The room itself was probably a bit smaller than rooms 1 & 2 but it had a lovely outdoor bathroom and an outdoor day bed (I think only one other villa had one of these) which was a great place to chill and get out of the hot midday sun - it also had a mosquito net so one night we actually slept out on the terrace and could hear the waves crashing on the shore (it's about a 2 min walk to the beach and restaurant from this villa, but not too close to the restaurant that you could be disturbed by it). We also had 2 sun loungers placed outside in a little sun trap that got the sun from morning until about 3 when it was obscured by a few coconut trees! I think it's the only villa with sunloungers that actually had a sun trap outside the door. It meant that we didn't have to sit by the pool and be disturbed by the beach sellers for most of the day as we had our own little private spot to ourselves. We did use the pool sometimes and I have to say the pool and sun loungers are absolutely lovely - however the beach sellers congregate just outside the wall to the resort and can be a bit of a pain...I understand that they are just trying to make a living but they are very insistant and tend to ruin a perfectly romantic moment (sunset over Bali, cocktail in hand, partner by my side...sigh..."hello, hello, sunset price"! It almost became comical). They also turn up at breakfast so there's no escaping them - however this is the same all over Lombok not just here.

The staff here are lovely, the restaurant is great, the nightly special cocktail a treat. Even the nightly bands which I thought would be a bit cheesy were actually really good (even if they did have a bit of a thing for Sting).

I didn't try the spa but I did have a manicure and pedicure by the pool from Sri who was absolutely lovely and did a fantastic job. You can wander up to a couple of other restaurants on the beach if you fancy a change and we hired a moped for about 5 euros a day to go to Sengiggi and up the coast to find deserted beaches which was fantastic. We also hired a boat one day that picked us up from the beach outside the resort to take us to the Gillis to go snorkling - this was a real highlight for us - and the Sasak tour was also very intersting due to the great driver Amin.

So overall I would recommend this place for a relaxing stay as long as you can become immune to the beach sellers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

We spent a week here in June as a part of our honeymoon in Indonesia and had an absolutely fab time. We were made to feel very welcome indeed by the staff and lovely manager. We stayed in the beach resort and would definately recomend it if you are traveling to Lombok as it is and excellent place to base yourself for exploring the island and trekking the volcano and most importanly relax. It's also only a short ride away from the fast boat ferry port to Bali, and the sunset view over Mount Agung in Bali was lush.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: Jl Raya | Lombok, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Mangsit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Mangsit
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mangsit
#4 Family Hotel in Mangsit
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mangsit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seeking a small Boutique Beach Resort without the hip and Ra Ra of a modern complex then Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa is the perfect location. Situated directly on the beach of Mangsit Bay just 5 minutes from Senggigi, this 40 room gem offers guests the ultimate respite from the outside world. The range of room categories means there is something for everyone, whether it’s a cute ‘n cosy budget room or a luxury Romantic Villa with 25m2 pool. No two rooms are identical, following our concept of Indonesian Tradition, Luxury & style”. Attention to detail is depicted in our rooms, facilities and gardens, but especially our Service. As we are a small intimate resort, we are able to offer guests the familiar, personal attention sometimes difficult to find these days. To keep connected we offer Free Wi Fi throughout the resort. Beach side buffet breakfast is included in all room rates. Facilities: Conde Nast recommended Luxury Garden Spa, Open Air Beachfront Restaurant, Beachfront Infinity Pool, Gili PADI Diving/snorkelling/island tours. Note to parents: Puri Mas has a NO CHILDREN UNDER 12 YEARS POLICY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Mas Boutique Resort And Spa
Puri Mas Boutique Hotel Mangsit
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa Lombok/Mangsit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.