We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Raya | Lombok, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mangsit
Viken, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed in the Royal Suite, a big, comfortable room with a fantastic view over the Balinese Sea and Mount Agunda. The hotel is quite and relaxing, the restaurant is very good, service attitude is high even though room cleaning was slow (late). You need reef-shoes when swimming in the sea.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, General Manager at Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Mats S

Many thanks for taking the time to inform readers about your experience staying with us in Puri Mas. Our Royal Suites are amazing, happy you enjoyed the view and enormous space!

Noted your comment about the speed of the housekeeping during your stay. I know we have been very heavily occupied, no excuse and we will do our best to speed up the cleaning process.

Thank you again for your great rating and review.

Best wishes

Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    136
    32
    10
    10
See reviews for
67
414
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days. on the first day I get a surprise because getting a room upgrade. the room was very clean and beautiful. beds equipped with mosquito nets that make the room becomes more romantic. The outdoor bathroom is also very nice. Location This hotel is located right on the beach Mangsit so I can just play on the beach. The breakfast menu is also very nice and the hotel staff can provide information about Lombok travel in a very friendly manner. I would go back again to this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, General Manager at Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear rpssh

We really appreciate your positive comments, and see that as you are just in Jakarta we hope you will visit us again soon.

Thank you so much for offering our readers your positive experience of staying with us.

Looking forward to having you back soon.

Best wishes

Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was our second visit and was as enjoyable as we remembered it. We loved our villa, and the pool, and the friendly staff. It was a wonderful break from the daily grind of work life. No TV,computers,loud music,traffic, just peace by the ocean. We shall be back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, General Manager at Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear txoco4

I think proof is in the pudding for us when guests return. It is quite possibly one of the highest recommendations we can receive, and we thank you so much for your support and great review.

Now Perth has Jetstar flying directly to Lombok 4 times a week, and Air Asia pending for starting in August we hope to see more of our friends visiting us more regularly.

Thank you again so much for returning, and for taking the time to let other readers know how great your experience was staying in Puri Mas.

Best wishes

Sara and all the staff in Puri Mas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed in ratu - the royal suite with view of the pool and ocean. Huge room and very comfy bed. Our friend stayed in room 4 - which is a little bedroom above an outdoorsy living area (very cute and comfortable for the budget traveller). Our other friend stayed in room 5 which was a standard bungalow and completely beautiful with two day beds and a desk on the veranda, huge bed inside and beautiful outdoor traditional bathroom. This resort missing nothing - tea, coffee, fridge, umbrellas, yoga, cocktails, great restaurant. Hair dryer, lovely toiletries and even sarongs to use whilst staying. Gardens are beautiful. There are street vendors which approach the pool but nothing too annoying. A nice stretch of beach to walk along and back (taking 30 minutes total) But be prepared for litter. It would appear to be a significant issue for the island and is somewhat disconcerting. Fare for Taxi is 20 000 Rp into sengiggi but only because this is the minimum charge. Its too far to walk at around 45 -60 mins. Tuesday night is guest night with cocktails and traditional dancing in the restaurant. it's fantastic. The spa at the sister resort is completely amazing and therapists are very well trained. We stayed for my husbands 40th and had a great time. The staff are all fantastic.

So you can see, I can't praise this resort enough - congrats Sarah to you and all your colleagues. We loved it!

Room Tip: Stick with the bungalows. They are worth the money and lovely. I feel the royal suite was too large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, General Manager at Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Louise J

We pride ourselves on offering guests a unique experience regardless of your room and budget. All our rooms as you have so well described are different, and this is what makes staying with us such a lot of fun!

Thank you so much for your great review, and to your friends also for choosing to enjoy a holiday with us in Puri Mas.

We will continue to improve our service - may be not always getting everything right - but always doing our best.

We hope to see you back in Puri Mas again.

Warm wishes from us all.

Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We only booked 4 nights via agoda at about 50uk pounds a night. We ended up staying 12 as we loved puri mas so much particular relaxing in the jungle setting of the spa. Lombok is very different and much poorer than Bali, at first it is a shock, but the island and it's people grow upon you, and I feel much happier for experiencing it. The purimas is a place to retreat to, fantastic if you want a relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, General Manager at Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Avoca2

It seems you found paradise when you found Puri Mas and Lombok. You are correct that Lombok is still quite a poor island, but the people still smile, and slowly the lives of many are improving. We are very appreciative of those who recognise what a wonderful island this is, and what great experiences Lombok has to offer.

We are also very happy when our guests enjoy their time so much that they just don't want to leave. Thank you so much for your very long and happy stay.

Lets hope you will find the opportunity to visit us again, and continue to explore the wonders of this natural and real island!!

Thanks and good wishes


Sara and the staff of Puri Mas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Road, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Owned by a Dutch Ballroom dance champion now winning over the young people of Lombok to the delights of dance, this is the antithesis of the corporate hotel. Puri Mas is at two locations. The main hotel is on the beach with views of volcanos on Bali and the Spa with some accomodation is a couple of Km inland.

When I say rooms, most accommodation is individual Balinese (or Lombokese) style cottages of different shapes and sizes, beautifully designed and appointed. The grounds at both locations are exquisitely designed and maintained adding to the tranquillity. It's only when you look at your surroundings from your sun-bed that you appreciate the effort that has gone into making Puri Mas such a unique environment.

As the headline says, we enjoyed our Spa experience though as it's my first one I've nothing to compare it with. It certainly wasn't expensive.

At a more practical level staff are unfailingly polite and helpful. If you ring reception, you get what you asked for. Laundry comes back when it's meant to and your room is well cleaned. Puri Mas is five minutes drive out of Senggigi and getting taxis is no problem.

Why not 5 stars? The food. Breakfast is okay but no more. We ate in the restaurant on two nights, opting for the local menu. Despite asking they cook it in local style it was bland "western", which was disappointing. That said we didn't eat at any restaurant on Lombok where the food was that good.

Overall though, I can thoroughly recommend Puri Mas for a relaxing few days in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, General Manager at Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Peterxjackson

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff and their reactions to your requests. It is always pleasing to know that what you are trying to put into practice to enhance a guests experience is coming through loud and clear.

Thank you also for your comments on our breakfast. We hope you will return again to experience our new and improved a la carte breakfast which Chef Ridwan and his team have put together - it is delicious, fresh and very tasty.

We do advise any guest wanting to experience a really traditional Lombok meal - to advise our chef Ridwan who is from central Lombok and knows exactly how to make those taste buds tinkle!

Thank you again for your great review.

Best wishes from us all in Puri Mas.

Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marco172
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

As other reviewers have mentioned, Puri Mas has two locations: the resort and the spa. You can stay at either one. We chose to stay at the resort, as it was on the ocean. Take note, however, that there is not a sandy stretch of beach between the hotel and the water. It is literally ON the water, and when we were there, the waves were fairly rough, so we enjoyed the pool (a very nice infinity pool that looks out onto the ocean). We requested one of the least expensive “garden view” rooms and were given bungalow #11. While we were initially enchanted by the little porch, the bed with the beautiful netting draped around it and the outdoor shower, an hour in our room proved the location of our bungalow by the road to be incredibly noisy. (You wouldn't think this area would have a lot of traffic, but it does!) We requested to be moved, and were shown an alternative room at the same price point, which was decidedly less spectacular than our bungalow (it was a standard room on the second floor above the check-in desk, not a bungalow like the rest of the accommodations). We then saw a room that was one price point above ours, and although the hotel originally tried to charge us extra for moving “up”, we countered that they billed themselves as a peaceful and relaxing luxury resort, and they were not delivering on their promise. With a little attitude, the staff person approved our move at no additional cost. We spent the night in bungalow #5, very similar to our initial room, although MUCH quieter. The restaurant served solidly good/ more-than-good food. However, the breakfast buffet left a lot to be desired. The landscaping around the rooms was enchanting—with flowering plants, quirky statues and winding stone paths. Overall, a very good experience if you can avoid the cheaper room by the road.

Room Tip: While we were initially enchanted by the hotel, an hour in our room proved the location of our bunga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, General Manager at Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi marco172

Thank you for your review.

We are happy you enjoyed staying in one of our Classic Queen Garden View rooms - yes they are very beautiful especially the long terrace with the day bed!!

All of the properties in Mangsit do back onto the road, but perhaps during your stay there was more traffic or some special ceremony as we have very little comment regarding road noise in our resort.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to enjoying your company again in the future.

Best wishes

Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: Jl Raya | Lombok, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Mangsit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mangsit
#4 Spa Hotel in Mangsit
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mangsit
#4 Family Hotel in Mangsit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seeking a small Boutique Beach Resort without the hip and Ra Ra of a modern complex then Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa is the perfect location. Situated directly on the beach of Mangsit Bay just 5 minutes from Senggigi, this 40 room gem offers guests the ultimate respite from the outside world. The range of room categories means there is something for everyone, whether it’s a cute ‘n cosy budget room or a luxury Romantic Villa with 25m2 pool. No two rooms are identical, following our concept of Indonesian Tradition, Luxury & style”. Attention to detail is depicted in our rooms, facilities and gardens, but especially our Service. As we are a small intimate resort, we are able to offer guests the familiar, personal attention sometimes difficult to find these days. To keep connected we offer Free Wi Fi throughout the resort. Beach side buffet breakfast is included in all room rates. Facilities: Conde Nast recommended Luxury Garden Spa, Open Air Beachfront Restaurant, Beachfront Infinity Pool, Gili PADI Diving/snorkelling/island tours. Note to parents: Puri Mas has a NO CHILDREN UNDER 12 YEARS POLICY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Mas Boutique Resort And Spa
Puri Mas Boutique Hotel Mangsit
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa Lombok/Mangsit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.