We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puri Mas Manggsit Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Lombok, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mangsit
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Puri Mas Manggsit Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were utterly captivated by PM from our first stay (Nov 2010), and have been back since for a 3 week stay (March 2012). We are returning again later this year for a further 2 week stay (Sept 2012). We have to say that we are very surprised to see any negative comment about PM. People obviously have different expectations, and doubtless some just like to moan.

Accommodation:

The rooms at PM are all first class. We have stayed in the budget rooms, the villas and the mid-range rooms during our visits. All are airconditioned, very comfortable and beautifully Indonesian themed. The staff are attentive to all the little details that make coming back to your room after a day in the sea, at the pool or out and about so enjoyable. Most if not all rooms have balconies or deep verandahs, keeping them cool and the searing sunlight suitably moderated. Some people might say the traditional Indonesian design (steep pitched thatched roofs and wide eaves in much of PM) makes the rooms/suites dark. That is a matter of taste and having spent a lot of time in the African sub-tropics, we think the PM accommodation is perfect, both for the climate and for the theme of the hotel.

The Dining

The menu may not be haute cuisine - go to Paris, London or Singapore for that - but the dining is excellent and Chef Ridwan top class. Much of the menu is Indonesian themed or fusion-type dishes. All the dishes we have tried were delicious and the hotel team ensure each meal is very enjoyable. The seafood dishes and Rijstafel in particular are extremely good. The wine list is more than adequate and is well matched to the menu, while both local beers (first class pilsener) and international brands are available, as is a full range of spirits and liqueurs. The restaurant setting takes a great deal of beating, anywhere in the world.

The Team

In many ways it is the people that make PM. Ibu Sara and her team are first rate. The service is excellent throughout the restaurant and hotel and the team are warm, approachable and always ready to help in any way. These people really make every effort to ensure guests enjoy themselves and any negative comment about anyone on the team at PM (one or two people have commented on the security staff) is in our experience totally unfounded. Mnr De Rijk is a rightly proud Owner and host, and Ibu Sara and her team make staying at PM an absolute pleasure.

Activities

There are activities to suit all tastes. The snorkelling and diving is very good, though immediately off the Manggsit Beach can be hard work depending on sea conditions. Sadly the coral has also suffered degradation though going out along the reef line is still fun and there is a good deal to see in the water. Local diving and snorkelling can be arranged through PM and is excellent at the Gilis, or for a little more, a full day to remoter East Lombok sites can be planned. Surfing is possible both at Alang Alang on the right tide and swell, and at Senggigi nearby. There is a gym, walking/hashing, waterfall tours, village tours, Spa activities etc - basically something for everyone, whether energetic or otherwise - one just has to ask Ibu Sara or Dpty Mgr Wayan for details.

We would not be going back time and again, tavelling half way round the world to do so, if PM were not worth the effort. It is, and you'd have to be desperately unfortunate or more likely just a little bit sad not to enjoy the place and the people immensely.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    155
    33
    11
    10
See reviews for
73
480
58
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We booked the villa for 2 (ocean villa) for 5 nights. The whole resort was really characteristic with indonesian traditional feel and decor. The ocean villas were built later than the original resort and are slightly more modern and lovely. Our villa had a kitchen with dining tables, a sofa set. The pool had deck chairs and a nice pool lounger (a little gazebo bed type thing). The room was beautiful and spacious with a 4 post bed and outdoor shower and tub. It was really nice, private and relaxing. Only thing is our duvet didn't seem very clean, with spots.

The restaurant overlooks the sea such that the waves come crashing up to its stone walls. It's perfect bliss to have breakfast looking at the blue waters and basking in the sun. The food itself (for breakfast) was decent with simple selection of fruit, yoghurt, cereals, juices, eggs toast, Danish pastry and cheese. Plus some fried noodles, rice, sausages and hashbrowns.

The pool was also next to the beach, with lots of deckchairs for sun bathers. The beach is not the pristine white sandy beach (due to some bits of black volcanic sand) you would find on the gilis but it was kept clean of rubbish and still a joy to stroll along. The beach is shared between a few other resorts like Quincy, Windy, but I liked Puri Mas' location cos its right at the end and you can see the entire cove. The beach is rather private and unspoilt, with some locals parking their fishing boats in the morning around 9 am with their daily catch. I believe they also provide service for a visit to the gilis if you are interested.

Oh, because we stayed for 5 nights, we had a free gili snorkeling tour which starts at 9am. There were only 3 other divers on our boat(good cos we don't want to be herded like cattle). We went to 2 snorkeling sites and they dropped us at Gili Meno for lunch. A snorkeling guide was also provided to bring us round the reefs and we saw lots of turtles and a couple of sea snakes plus huge fishes.

Senggigi town is located just 5 mins away on taxi (11,000rp only) and it isn't too far from the harbour to the gilis. It did take us around 2 hours to get to the waterfalls though.

Overall, Puri Mas was a comfortable, relaxing stay for us to chill out and not want to do much. The sun, water and surroundings, plus great service from its staff made this a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

A ballroom dancer himself, the owner of Puri Mas has hosted the International Dance Competition in the Netherlands for 40 years and conceived the dance festival in Lombok himself. His dedication to and passion for dance are written all over the hotel, and I can't explain how much respect I have for that. Happen to be staying at Puri Mas during the festival and enjoyed a fantastic night of party for all the competitors and guests. Great food, drinks, service, performance and hospitality. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed for two nights in one of the rooms just off the lobby. It had a huge four-post bed and lots of other lovely furniture and decor. The shower was amazing! We had a balcony overlooking the resort. The infinity pool was beautiful and there were plenty of pool chairs nearby and overlooking the ocean. Pool towels are available for check out. I thought this place was a great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a villa with a private pool. The room itself was spacious with a big bedroom and bathroom but lacked a lot of extras I would associate with boutique accommodation i.e. upmarket furniture, a big flatscreen TV, a music dock etc. The outdoor area of the villa was great. The pool was lovely and had a shaded area with a day bed and a sun terrace with loungers. It was very private and peaceful.

We had lunch and dinner at the restaurant a few times and thought the food was very good and reasonably priced. One night we ordered the local speciality of whole roasted duck. It was delicious. The staff really helped make it a special night by reserving us a great spot in the restaurant too.

One big disappointment was the breakfast which I thought was of a really poor standard given the Puri Mas is meant to be a luxury boutique resort. It felt like a standard Asian hotel breakfast with buffet trays of cold, congealed hash browns, sausages, pancakes etc and stale bread for toasting. The fruit salad and cereals were pretty uninspiring too. When I asked, the hotel staff were able to get specific items freshly made but I would expect a better standard from a resort like this.

This is a good hotel but it does lack the polish and standards I would associate with a luxury boutique.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We went there to do snorkling, it was a short ride to take a boat to the Gili islands. That was fine. The grounds are lovely and well maintained. The buffet breakfast was generous and very good. The down side was the dark room with the bare minimum of closet space and the bathroom. Burned out light bulbs.There were only two bulbs, soap as big as a quarter, no hot water in the sink (it was not hooked up), no stopper in the sink. The floor in the bathroom is made up of large rough concrete slabs with small stones in between the slabs. A challenge we could have done without. One night we ordered a piece of cake-it came topped with a moldy strawberry. Perhaps management doesn't pay attention.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you Hortense9 for your review.

As always we are grateful to our clients for taking the time to write a review.

We welcome constructive comments that will assist us to improve our facilities and service either via a review or directly to myself or other senior staff during the stay of our guests.

This is always preferable as it will give us an opportunity to immediately rectify anything that may be amiss to ensure your stay is exactly as you planned and wished!

We do not want prospective visitors to be confused by your comments, therefore I have explained your room type and its style below:

I am aware of which room you stayed in during your visit with us.

This is one of our most popular Classic Queen Garden Rooms. It is a very traditional Indonesian style of room offering a large 6 meter long terrace with a day bed and traditional Indonesian furniture, writing desk and sofa.
Guests love to lay outdoors on the double daybed especially in the cool of the evening or heat of the afternoon as our day bed has romantic curtains offering privacy.

The interior of the room is darker because we have a solid wooden floor, and Indonesian carved shutters on the windows, naturally making the room darker than curtains would when closed.
The room is lighted with a lamp over the dressing table, a central lamp and two hanging bedside lamps.
The bed is solid wood and king sized with a traditional mosquito net making this room very romantic according to the many return guests who particularly request this room, and by new guests who also love its traditional style very much.
The bathroom is an outdoor garden bathroom, and the concrete floor you refer to is in fact a cream terrazzo finish - You are right we do decorate with pebble stones between and around the shower to add to the outdoor ambiance which again the majority of our guests absolutely love, and stay with us precisely because they can enjoy a fantastic shower under the stars again in a very tropical setting and style!

I am surprised by your comments regarding the "burned out" light bulbs and moldy strawberry and although these comments may well be justified according to your opinion, I do find it extraordinary that you did not inform the housekeeping that a light bulb had blown, and they would have replaced it immediately for you rather than remaining in the dark?

For those guests looking for tradition, luxury and style of Indonesia, we believe, as do the 215 positive reviews on our TripAdvisor page that ranks us number 3 to day in Senggigi, that Puri Mas is a beautiful well kept, well managed resort and we are very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.

Yours sincerely
Sara Sanders
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Dan and l are still talking about our amazing stay at Puri Mas, and ensuring we tell everyone we know. From the welcome we received with the intial on line booking, and Mr Made Rare' timely email to us before our arrival to ensure all was well and if there was anything we needed to assist our journey to Puri Mas, we already felt very comfortable with our choice of stay.
However, our expectations were more that met when after our 16 hour travel from Sydney, two flights and a fair drive, when we were warmly and sincerly welcomed to Puri Mas and shown to our room. The royal suite ocean view room. The AMAZING room had been prepared for our arrival,with incredibly tasteful lighting, beautiful flowers scattered through our room, on our inviting large four poster bed and the large bathtub also had water and gorgeous floating flowers. This is paradise. Marcel, the colourful and handsome owner is truly a visionary to have created such a wonderful masterpiece, on every level. The location, the incredibly diverse and unique rooms and villas, the most warm, wonderful and sincere members of the Puri Mas team, and thethe grown in and glamourous gardens . All who worked at Puri Mas always offered sincere and genuine salutations and smiles. It is not often we will return to a previous destination, the world is too large, however l can guarantee we will be more than tempted to return to this superior destination.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangsit
0.2 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 stars 1,740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
1.4 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 5 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.2 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#2 of 6 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kebun Villas & Resort
Kebun Villas & Resort
#13 of 24 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 2 in Tanjung
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Lombok, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Mangsit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mangsit
#4 Family Hotel in Mangsit
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mangsit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seeking a small Boutique Beach Resort without the hip and Ra Ra of a modern complex then Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa is the perfect location. Situated directly on the beach of Mangsit Bay just 5 minutes from Senggigi, this 40 room gem offers guests the ultimate respite from the outside world. The range of room categories means there is something for everyone, whether it’s a cute ‘n cosy budget room or a luxury Romantic Villa with 25m2 pool. No two rooms are identical, following our concept of Indonesian Tradition, Luxury & style”. Attention to detail is depicted in our rooms, facilities and gardens, but especially our Service. As we are a small intimate resort, we are able to offer guests the familiar, personal attention sometimes difficult to find these days. To keep connected we offer Free Wi Fi throughout the resort. Beach side buffet breakfast is included in all room rates. Facilities: Conde Nast recommended Luxury Garden Spa, Open Air Beachfront Restaurant, Beachfront Infinity Pool, Gili PADI Diving/snorkelling/island tours. Note to parents: Puri Mas has a NO CHILDREN UNDER 12 YEARS POLICY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Mas Boutique Hotel Mangsit
Puri Mas Boutique Resort And Spa
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa Lombok/Mangsit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.