We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Qunci Villas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Qunci Villas Hotel to your Saves list
Qunci Villas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Mangsit, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BookEarly: Up to 40% off
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mangsit
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pure Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

Just a quick review to highly praise both the Qunang and Qusia Luxury Villas. We stayed for 5 nights in December and it was pure paradise. It was the first time we had booked a villa and now we are spoilt for ever more. The butlers were fantastic and did everything possible to take all the stress away - the boys (11 and 8) had an absolute ball and my husband and I actually had a holiday where we could finally chill and relax ... and read books!
Both villas are just stunning ... fabulous location, fantastic food, fantastic everything. We even got used to the call to prayer early in the morning and found it strangely relaxing too (and the boys slept through it completely).
We ventured out to both the Villas and Hotel and again we were nothing but impressed. The food was delicious (how lovely to be away with the boys and not to have a pizza in sight) and the staff so polite and lovely. It may not be the fastest service but this wasn't a holiday for rushing, it was one for relaxing so we kicked back and enjoyed every minute.
The trip to the Gilli Isles was fabulous (favourite restaurant = Scallywags, perfectly named and again wonderfully tasty food). The trip was arranged by the butler so again no stress on our part.
The spa at the hotel was also fabulous and very reasonably priced ... I had a papaya wrap which was a completely different experience!
We can't wait to get out there again and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,252
    307
    45
    12
    7
See reviews for
271
935
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senggigi, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

I have to agree with some of the other negative reviews about this so called 5 star place. As an expat living in Senggigi Lombok I had business guests arrive. They asked where was a good quality place to stay and in my ignorance(because I had never stayed there suggested the Qunci Pool Villas. On arrival we were shown to our rooms, we noticed there were no TV's in the room and asked, they said they could provide a TV/ DVD for hire if we wanted in our room so I requested the TV only to be told an hour later that there were none available(FOR THE PRICE OF THIS PLACE THIS IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE). Next we decided to sit at the pool and have a few drinks, although beautiful surroundings we were disappointed in the time it took the staff to bring the drinks(THE PLACE WAS NOT BUSY) I thought they were making a home brew in the kitchen for the length of time it took to receive the drinks(FOR THE PRICE OF THIS PLACE THIS IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE). After the pool episode we then went to dinner at the restaurant. Everybody ordered, myself and a business colleague asked for the Oysters on the Half Shell, 12 pieces each we requested @ Rp. 20.000 a piece, in Indonesian terms this is pricey for one piece. After a 20 minute wait we were approached by a waiter who informed us that there was only 10 pieces available so we asked for 5 pieces each as an appetizer. Another 10 minutes and he was back this time to tell us that on opening the oysters they found that they were no good or fresh. My business colleague by now was becoming annoyed, we then ordered the Asian Moon Scallops as a replacement( the waiter said he would provide a few extra because of the no show of the Oysters. On receiving our scallops, 3 scallops sat on a plate Iooking at us, what happened to the extra he said he would bring us, well it did not happen, and the Scallops were cold and for 3 small scallops for Rp. 58.000 it is not worth it (FOR THE PRICE OF THIS PLACE THIS IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE). The next to come was the main meal, I went for the Seafood Combination Platter @ Rp.250.000.00( Again pricey in Indonesian terms), the menu said it contains, Grilled Lobster, King Prawns, Scallops, Fish Fillet and Squid with French Fries and Salad, sound nice right, well wrong let me write what it should say, 1 KING PRAWN ( WELL IF IT WAS A LOBSTER IT WAS TAKEN AWAY FROM ITS MOTHER TO EARLY), 3 PRAWNS, 2 SCALLOPS, I FISH FINGER, 1 LITTLE RUBBER SQUID, the only correct thing about this menu was the French Fries and Salad. (FOR THE PRICE OF THIS PLACE THIS IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE). MY colleagues wife ordered the Whole Grilled Fish of the Day with a note underneath saying MARKET PRICE. Their was no menu price until the bill, the price for this unacceptable dish was R.250.000.00 which is totally incorrect. The fish was small and in the MARKET would have cost approximately between 20.000 to 40.000 Rupiah. After leaving the restaurant my business colleague and wife were so annoyed that four of us left the hotel while the other 2 stayed. So the hotel got lucky again and pocketed our money for the rooms which were not used. Overall I find that this is the worst place I have eaten in Lombok and I have been here for 3 years now, any cheap restaurant in Senggigi Lombok have what they say on the menu, as for this place it is not value for money both in service and food. Oh and by the way, if because there were no TV's available because all guests wanted them, does this tell you maybe you should put TV's in all rooms, just a thought, with the money their making from the restaurant it should not be too hard.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Marty,

Qunci Villas apologizes that you and your business guests had such a bad experience at our hotel. Since you have lived in Senggigi for the past 3 years (a town which is a 5 minute ride from Qunci Villas), we're truly sorry that your first visit to Qunci Villas was not a good one.

The Restaurant. You are correct; our prices are not the same cheap prices that you find at local warung restaurants along the road in Senggigi. We charge higher prices first, because of the ambiance and atmosphere at Qunci Villas and second, because of the quality of the food that we serve. We believe that it is for these reasons that most of our guests eat at the Qunci Villas restaurants most evenings and, as well, that our restaurants bring in an additional 25% of its customers from people who live in Lombok or who are guests at other hotels in the area.

With regard to food quality, we take this issue very seriously. We are one of the very few restaurants serving fresh oysters and scallops in Lombok. They are Sumbawa oysters and Southern Lombok scallops which are normally exported to the best restaurants in Bali, as well to Australia, by a Lombok-based Italian company. The quality and cleanliness of the oysters is taken very seriously by the Italian exporter and by Qunci. Our staff have had extensive training on the quality of oysters and if there is any question as to the quality of our seafood,we just wont serve them.

Notwithstanding the above, Qunci management would like to make this up yo you. We are sorry that we cant refund your $300 happy hour cocktail bill but we will certainly refund you for any rooms that that were not used by your business guests and their lady friends from Senggigi. Please just give us a call at Qunci to arrange a refund.

Note about TVs: Since Qunci Villas's inception 7 years ago, we made a conscious decision not to provide TVs. Our guests generally like this - they read more, meet other guests, and spend more time on the beach with their partners. If TVs are critically important to their stay in Lombok, guests will typically book at another hotel. Occasionally, a long-staying guest will want a TV with movies for an evening or two and we have TVs and DVD players for this (for free). We don't get many requests for a TV, so we only have a few. But we will add more to our stock immediately if there aren't enough to meet our guests needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Pronounced coon-chi villas, a stunning little boutique hotel located on a beautiful strip of beach. Location couldn't be more perfect! I think it has only 28 rooms, and a few villas with private pool. The design is modern Bali-esque, with an infinity pool right on the beach. Having breakfast on tables made out of beautiful black slabs of stone, next to the pool, right on the beach with Bali's mother volcano Mt. Agung right in front of you and the waves breaking right at your feet ... well, that's paradise. And to mention that you're having a cocktail by the pool, as the sun is setting right next to Agung in the distance? It's what South-East Asia is all about! If you're staying in the rooms, make sure you ask for a room that has an ocean-view. There are also beautiful villas with a private pool ... however, no ocean view. Also, beware that there's Qunci Hotel and Qunci Pool Villas ... I'm talking about the latter, which is the one I recommend. If you're looking for a larger villa with several bedrooms, they have two beautiful villas about a 5 minute walk up the hill that are gorgeous. Perfect for a family or large group of friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

My husband and I recently went to Lombok on our honeymoon and had thoroughly researched our accommodation - we were not dissapointed with Qunci one bit! We stayed in the Qunang Villa for 10 nights (November/December) behind the pool villas hotel and it was absolutely amazing. The service was impecible from the moment we were picked up from the airport. We were greeted by our butler on our arrival who was always checking that we were happy.

Happy hour from 5-7pm was without a doubt my favourite time of the day - the cocktails were devine and watching the sunset whilst sitting back next to the pool with drink in hand - well it was my ideal honeymoon and we have not stopped raving about it since we got home.

The restaurant at the hotel is also highly recommended although once we did venture into town a couple of times we appreciated a few more adventurous options whilst enjoying the privacy away from Sengeggi that Qunci offered.

Our villa itself was just beautiful and exactly what we wanted for seclusion and privacy. The villa had amazing facilities including great sound system, television, outdoor shower, air conditioning and fully equipped kitchen out the back. We spent late afternoons laying in the upstairs sitting area on the lounge overlooking the pool and mountain.

I cannot rave about this place enough - I have nothing to criticise - all staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, our honeymoon was made that much better because of them. Counting down the day until I can come back.

Nat

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

It was the first time traveling down to Gili Island from Lombok for us. We always traveled from Bali only. So it was kind of inevitable to have a over night stay in Lombok.
As usual we didn't plan our journey and went quite a few places to check out if this is the place we would like to pay.
Starting from Senggigi central , we went to Sheraton(150USD), Manna Villa(300USD),Puri Mas(100USD - which I liked the most with the Lombok set up and nice price) and finally Qunci(130USD - which my partner liked).

It's a very clean place with nice pool right at the beach and beautiful trunk furnitures.
Also the best thing is, the staffs are really really attentive.

One of the staff Echo runs a warung with his mom, selling Mee Soto(curry flavored chicken noodle soup). Give a try on real local food. They also have satay and nasi goreng next to them. All three of them are very clean and good.
- We met him back at the hotel after being at his warung recommended by a local expat lady/

This place had the value for the money in terms of everything.

The beach is nice for beginning surfers not so much for snorkling if this helps.
It was ok for me because we had a few days of good snorkling in Gili Island.

BTW if you're traveling down to Gili Islands, Do not use Lombok family for your transportation.
I'm not even sure if they'll show up for your return trip.
And from the Gili side, they won't accept your return ticket and ask you to get refund from them when you're back in Lombok.
We used them for going to Gili and the driver did his best to sell the return trip but it just didn't feel right. And on the way back from Gili we saw the sign at the harbor ticket office that they won't accept Lombok family's ticket and few other companies.

If you get a chance to go to Lombok , find a way to go to Gili slands too.
It's the best place to relax.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

5 km outside Senggi this a great place to stay. Comfortable clean rooms, friendly but not servile staff (they even seem to like their jobs), great pool (not huge but adequate), good food.

Really enjoyed my stay here especially after Bali which has become just an exercise in extracting maximum cash out of visitors for minimal service. For the time being Lombok remains blissfully different. Qunci is a good example of this attitude.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Qunci Villas is are stunning. We stayed in a 2 bedroom pool villa and actually hardly used the pool as the setting of the main pool right by the beach is amazing. We didn't even leave the hotel the whole time we were there as it was so relaxing. The staff are fantastic, restaurant great and half price cocktails watching the sunset at 5pm every night make it even more perfect. I will definitely go back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qunci Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qunci Villas Hotel

Address: Jl. Raya Mangsit, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Mangsit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mangsit
#1 Spa Hotel in Mangsit
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mangsit
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mangsit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Qunci Villas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qunci Villas is a beachfront hotel on Mangsit Beach, 5 minutes outside Senggigi. 150+ meters of beachfront, with 3 large pools, facing the ocean and Bali in the horizon. Qunci also has 3 private luxury villas located on the hill above the beach. The hotel boasts ocean view, partial ocean view and garden view rooms as well as rooms with their own personal pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Qunci Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qunci Hotel Lombok
Qunci Villas Hotel Lombok/Mangsit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qunci Villas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.