We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, service from excellent to poor.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Qunci Villas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Qunci Villas Hotel to your Saves list
Qunci Villas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Raya Mangsit, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BookEarly: Up to 40% off
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mangsit
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place, service from excellent to poor.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Qunci Villas have a fantastic location, the rooms are gorgeous, the spa is fantastic and the staff are friendly. The food was good, but not special.
Breakfast is offered in your room, but our order sheet was not picked up from our balcony as stated, meaning we had to squeeze in breakfast in the restaurant, which we had not allowed time for. The safe was not working, and though we were told someone would come to fix it, no one did. These are just small things, but for one of the most expensive hotels on Lombok, these are things that should run smoothly.
The location was so lovely, though, that I wish we'd had more time to stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Triplestripe,

It seems that in general you really enjoyed Qunci Villas (fantastic location, gorgeous rooms, friendly staff) except that we didnt pick up your breakfast request in the morning and hadnt fixed your safety deposit box. Inexcusable short-comings, and we're sorry.

Especially for me as a traveler, I always like my breakfast to be hassle free so that I start the day off right.

But as you mention, you wished that you had more time to spend with us so we hope to see you back in Lombok again soon and we'll ensure that your next breakfast is hassle-free.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    272
    43
    12
    7
See reviews for
245
840
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Now the new Lombok airport has opened, it's a bit more of a trek to get to Sengiggi. However, it's definitely worth the 1.5-2 hours once you arrive at Qunci Villas. Mostly 2 storey, 2 guestroom villas, in very well looked after and manicured gardens with three swimming pools separating hotel from beach. Nice size villa rooms, with large double beds, outside veranda, and inside/outside bathrooms. Some rooms come with their own pools but they're not completely private and some of them won't get much sun. With plenty of poolside places, we felt having your own pool was unnecessary. Great views out to sea and, certainly in November, some surfing to be done.
Happy hour (well 2 hours actually!) meant 2for1 cocktails at the covered but outdoor bar area, and there's a fabulous selections of small nibbles to be had that are very reasonably priced.
Two restaurants next to each other with two different menus. They tried to differentiate between them but hard to spot and you could choose from whichever menu you wanted at either restaurant. You could eat at tables by the beach if you wanted too. Food was very good and tasty, albeit on the first night the main course arrived just as we'd finished the previous one!
As in almost everywhere on Lombok and Bali, the staff were lovely, friendly and helpful, so asking for a gap between food courses achieved what we wanted.
Our spa treatment was very good and very good value.
Overall, a very nice, relaxed place that we enjoyed 5 nights at.
We found a day trip to the Gili islands was easy from here, as were a couple of road trips in our rented car. Driving is definitely very different to the UK, but we soon got used to the different rules of the road! A lot of scooters and motorbikes and it takes much longer to get places than we imagined.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear SteppieC,

Thank you for your kind review and your helpful tips to other travelers.

Note: I just returned from Rio a couple of days ago and got to the hotel in an hour – the normal time it takes from the airport now that the construction on the toll road is completed.

Happy Travels and we hope to see you back in Lombok again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I travelled for business week-in week-out for the last 3 months and was looking for a getaway that would refresh me. We almost made our way to Bali for a fourth time before deciding that Lombok would be a change. I switched after my wife furiously rejected the idea of Bali (again!).

I fell in love immediately with the photos of Qunci Villas and the reviews here on Tripadvisor, and confirmed our choice, just 1 week before our actual flight.

We finally stayed 5 nights in Room 70 with partial ocean view. It was such a relaxing week. The estate is well maintained, appropriately lighted to set the romantic ambience at sunset/night, food was excellent and with much value in the prices, infinity pool provides picture-perfect view.

We were really delighted with the service. Where even engineering department helped with our luggage when they incidentally were passing by our villa when we were about to check out. My wife who works in the hospital industry in the past for 6 years, especially noted that this does not happen at her prior 5-star employer.

Spa was wonderful as well! All in all, nothing is sub-standard!

I will definitely come back here for another relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Room 70 gives partial ocean view from the balcony and the bed (when curtains drawn up). It also, giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear ElmySingapore,

We always strive to provide Value for Money at Qunci Villas and we are glad that you noticed it. It makes that quick get-away vacation from a hectic schedule at home that much more easier to take!

And thanks for the comment from your wife who works in the industry.

Happy Travels, and we hope to see you back here again soon for your next break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nice sea-side hotel with good maintained garden and beautiful swimming area allowing wonderful sunsets .
Reservation through the internet was really good , all my requests were handled very well , esp. the request for a quiet room .
Well trained staff who speak quitte good english .
Really good spa .
Only thing we found a minor , was the bland food .
We are foodies and being asian living in Europe , my husband asked his food prepared pedas, well it was never really spicy . And not too many local dishes on the menu , that is why we started eating outside the hotel .
But overall a wonderful place at Lombok .

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room , when you are a light sleeper .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear MLM19,

We are glad that you enjoyed Qunci Villas so much, except for the bland food! (smile).

I have seen this comment from a couple of reviews here on TA where some of our guests want our food flaming hot and we are doing something about it.

First, we have set up a special unit in our kitchen just to handle spicy food. What does this mean? Two things. First, this staff will focus on relooking at all our local and/or spicy dishes to review their spiciness.

Now this might not suit your husband (smile) since he seems to like all his foods REALLY hot, but at least we will ensure a consistency with regards to our food that will be the basis for our spicy dishes that can accommodate various tastes.

Second, this same group will handle special requests for spicy food. Next to the chili symbol on the menu (which indicates a spicy dish), we have also noted to guests to request to meet the chef personally to discuss just how flaming hot you would like your food.

Additionally, our new Canadian chef will be going to the reputable Thai cooking school in Chiang Mai to study Thai food in general, and spices in particular, with the renowned owner of the school. This will also help us to maintain a sophistication with our Asian spicy dishes as he learns not only how to spice up food but how to combine spices for some really original dishes

Come back and try us again – and be sure to ask for the chef as he is more than willing to adjust our recipes to *Flame it up! *

Happy Travels....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This place is awesome.
I stayed in two bedrooms with pool (Qima if I'm not mistaken). Room is comfy and clean. I slept really well there.
The only thing that didn't meet my expectation is the privacy of our room. The room next door (top floor) can see directly at our private pool. And there are also spaces between the walls in front of our pool, so people can see inside. It's just a little below my expectation.
Bathroom is large and clean.
Service is good, breakfast is good (not a buffet).
I enjoyed my time there and will definitely go back someday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear ubimerah,

Amazing! Love it..and Thanks!

As for the privacy of your pool, the pool villas in our *second * edition to the hotel are not 100% private. We had designed them this way to give all the units a more open feeling than an enclosed box.

But based on comments such as yours, the new pool villas (5 of them) which we opened this year were designed with more privacy in mind. I think these newer units would meet your expectation. Since you live in Jakarta, we hope that you will be back in Lombok again soon. For your next booking just ask for one of the newer pool villas with greater privacy.

Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The evening walk from reception to our room was fantastic. The resort had floodlit the beach, and the white caps rolling in look amazing. The small lights all over the place made the place look really intimate. As you wander down the gently lit paths around the resort, it just seems so peaceful.
The room was great, spacious, with the pool literally outside our door. We sat out on the balcony and enjoyed a cold drink, listening to the sea and relaxing. Just wonderful. It was an ocean view room. The outdoor bathroom was okay, but it was covered with a misty perspex due to construction work next door - so it really wasn't quite the same. (But understandable).
Breakfast was included, and we sat down on the tables at the edge near the beach. It was great to be able to watch the sea, and enjoy a nice meal. The Mee Goreng became a firm favourite at our table. The waiters were great, Suhandi was particularly friendly and remembered our names from the first time we met. That was really a nice touch.
The view from the pool at sunset was great, and no two nights were the same. We enjoyed more than a few cocktails during happy hour.
It was our friend's 40th birthday so the trip was a celebratory trip, and we couldn't have been happier, we were able to arrange a cake, and she was also surprised with a cake on the day too.
The spa was really relaxing and we took the opportunity to have spa package prior to us heading back to the airport. A great way to fill in some time between checkout and departure. We kind of smelt like coffee and spice!
The resort is around 10 minutes from Sengiggi and is easily reached by taxi. There are some great restaurants and places to enjoy a drink in town if you want to explore other options.
Just worth noting that if you arrive from the international terminal at the airport, the taxi counter is inside the domestic arrivals area. It can be a little frustrating to find it when you don't quite know where to look.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear QldTiger,

Thank you for your highest rating....you dont give it to everybody! (smile), and more importantly that you had such a good trip with your friends.

Suhendy says hi!, and Happy Travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresik, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Everything was perfect. Very-very recommended place in Senggigi. Just stay in the hotel you'll get everything you wanna see in Lombok. The beach, the atmosphere, the food and the service were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Yuni L,

Thanks (terimah kasih!) for your kind comments. We are always happy when our Indonesian guests talk about how much they also enjoy Qunci.

Hope to see you back at Qunci again soon!

Happy travels....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qunci Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qunci Villas Hotel

Address: Jl Raya Mangsit, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Mangsit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mangsit
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mangsit
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mangsit
#1 Family Hotel in Mangsit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Qunci Villas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qunci Villas is a beachfront hotel on Mangsit Beach, 5 minutes outside Senggigi. 150+ meters of beachfront, with 3 large pools, facing the ocean and Bali in the horizon. Qunci also has 3 private luxury villas located on the hill above the beach. The hotel boasts ocean view, partial ocean view and garden view rooms as well as rooms with their own personal pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Qunci Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qunci Hotel Lombok
Qunci Villas Hotel Lombok/Mangsit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qunci Villas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.