We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Qunci Villas Hotel

Save Saved
You added Qunci Villas Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Qunci Villas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Raya Mangsit, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird: 15% off Rates
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Mangsit
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well maintained property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nice sea-side hotel with good maintained garden and beautiful swimming area allowing wonderful sunsets .
Reservation through the internet was really good , all my requests were handled very well , esp. the request for a quiet room .
Well trained staff who speak quitte good english .
Really good spa .
Only thing we found a minor , was the bland food .
We are foodies and being asian living in Europe , my husband asked his food prepared pedas, well it was never really spicy . And not too many local dishes on the menu , that is why we started eating outside the hotel .
But overall a wonderful place at Lombok .

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room , when you are a light sleeper .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear MLM19,

We are glad that you enjoyed Qunci Villas so much, except for the bland food! (smile).

I have seen this comment from a couple of reviews here on TA where some of our guests want our food flaming hot and we are doing something about it.

First, we have set up a special unit in our kitchen just to handle spicy food. What does this mean? Two things. First, this staff will focus on relooking at all our local and/or spicy dishes to review their spiciness.

Now this might not suit your husband (smile) since he seems to like all his foods REALLY hot, but at least we will ensure a consistency with regards to our food that will be the basis for our spicy dishes that can accommodate various tastes.

Second, this same group will handle special requests for spicy food. Next to the chili symbol on the menu (which indicates a spicy dish), we have also noted to guests to request to meet the chef personally to discuss just how flaming hot you would like your food.

Additionally, our new Canadian chef will be going to the reputable Thai cooking school in Chiang Mai to study Thai food in general, and spices in particular, with the renowned owner of the school. This will also help us to maintain a sophistication with our Asian spicy dishes as he learns not only how to spice up food but how to combine spices for some really original dishes

Come back and try us again – and be sure to ask for the chef as he is more than willing to adjust our recipes to *Flame it up! *

Happy Travels....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    976
    238
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
214
727
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This place is awesome.
I stayed in two bedrooms with pool (Qima if I'm not mistaken). Room is comfy and clean. I slept really well there.
The only thing that didn't meet my expectation is the privacy of our room. The room next door (top floor) can see directly at our private pool. And there are also spaces between the walls in front of our pool, so people can see inside. It's just a little below my expectation.
Bathroom is large and clean.
Service is good, breakfast is good (not a buffet).
I enjoyed my time there and will definitely go back someday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear ubimerah,

Amazing! Love it..and Thanks!

As for the privacy of your pool, the pool villas in our *second * edition to the hotel are not 100% private. We had designed them this way to give all the units a more open feeling than an enclosed box.

But based on comments such as yours, the new pool villas (5 of them) which we opened this year were designed with more privacy in mind. I think these newer units would meet your expectation. Since you live in Jakarta, we hope that you will be back in Lombok again soon. For your next booking just ask for one of the newer pool villas with greater privacy.

Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The evening walk from reception to our room was fantastic. The resort had floodlit the beach, and the white caps rolling in look amazing. The small lights all over the place made the place look really intimate. As you wander down the gently lit paths around the resort, it just seems so peaceful.
The room was great, spacious, with the pool literally outside our door. We sat out on the balcony and enjoyed a cold drink, listening to the sea and relaxing. Just wonderful. It was an ocean view room. The outdoor bathroom was okay, but it was covered with a misty perspex due to construction work next door - so it really wasn't quite the same. (But understandable).
Breakfast was included, and we sat down on the tables at the edge near the beach. It was great to be able to watch the sea, and enjoy a nice meal. The Mee Goreng became a firm favourite at our table. The waiters were great, Suhandi was particularly friendly and remembered our names from the first time we met. That was really a nice touch.
The view from the pool at sunset was great, and no two nights were the same. We enjoyed more than a few cocktails during happy hour.
It was our friend's 40th birthday so the trip was a celebratory trip, and we couldn't have been happier, we were able to arrange a cake, and she was also surprised with a cake on the day too.
The spa was really relaxing and we took the opportunity to have spa package prior to us heading back to the airport. A great way to fill in some time between checkout and departure. We kind of smelt like coffee and spice!
The resort is around 10 minutes from Sengiggi and is easily reached by taxi. There are some great restaurants and places to enjoy a drink in town if you want to explore other options.
Just worth noting that if you arrive from the international terminal at the airport, the taxi counter is inside the domestic arrivals area. It can be a little frustrating to find it when you don't quite know where to look.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear QldTiger,

Thank you for your highest rating....you dont give it to everybody! (smile), and more importantly that you had such a good trip with your friends.

Suhendy says hi!, and Happy Travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresik, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Everything was perfect. Very-very recommended place in Senggigi. Just stay in the hotel you'll get everything you wanna see in Lombok. The beach, the atmosphere, the food and the service were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Yuni L,

Thanks (terimah kasih!) for your kind comments. We are always happy when our Indonesian guests talk about how much they also enjoy Qunci.

Hope to see you back at Qunci again soon!

Happy travels....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Qunci from Nov. 8 - 12 and it was GREAT. Ocean view room was the best, food was good, facilities were all exceptional. The staff were all friendly. My boyfriend just waved at the staff every morning and they will bring the coffee in our villa. We loved the pool and spa. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ocean View Villa is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Kate_Makati_Phil,

Thank you for your kind review and we do hope to see you back with us again soon.

Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Qunci Villa (garden view room) for 4 nights and it was an absolutely great place to stay in lombok! Why i love this place:
1. Room is comfortable and clean, outdoor shower is so cool.. Its simply less than 5 min away from the ocean view room, so the garden view room is more worth the price and more private.
2. WIFI works everywhere in the resort.
3. The view is simply gorgeous! There are plenty of sunbeds, so its great to simply chill by the pool, order a beer and relax...
4. Food is fantastic! I love the breakfast with the great view- had eggs benedict for 2 days! enjoyed all our meals here..
5. Spa is simply value for money! US$30 for 1 hour massage, no complaints!
6. Staff are so polite, all of them will greet you when they see you.
Overall, a great stay and I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Pris29 ,

Thanks for your direct and too-the-point review and we do hope to see you back in Lombok again soon.

Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Qunci this month and I have to say it was really great experience. We also stayed at Jeeva Klui, which was absolutely lovely as well-but they have totally different style. We are planning to go back both of the properties. Anyway-Qunci is quite chic and has absolutely relaxing feeling while being totally 5 star, very special mix of things.First thing I noticed when we arrived was that everything is spotlessly clean, you could even smell hint of lemon fragrance in the air when you enter the main yard from the reception area. Every day there were several people fixing the smallest details in the gardens, to make them look beautiful. Rooms are really,really good.We stayed in the most pocket friendly option Garden Room and even those were great. Spacious and good bed and lovely outdoor bathroom.They have really focused to make the pool area fabulous. Which it really is! You will spend most of your time there for sure, that is why I think whatever room option is good. Like previous reviews say, there are three big swimming pools facing the ocean. There is quite big waves in this beach, which are lovely to look at and you have constant warm wind from the sea. And that is a good thing under the hot Lombok sun, believe me! It cools you off a little bit.
Sunbeds are super, soft and comfortable. There are couple of gazebos where you can take a nap, if you are lucky to get one for yourself. There were no noisy children, ( there was actually only one child during our stay ) no noisy music or anything disturbing at all. Or some people might find the local beach sellers a bit annoying- but do not bother. Those people are absolutely great when you talk with them and they will give you all kinds of tips what you can do in Lombok. We hired a guy and a captain to take us the Gilis and we went snorkeling in front of all the 3 islands and saw turtles and thousands of colourful fishes. We had a walk in Gili Meno and lunch in Gili Air. It took us all day and it we had great time.We payed 500 000 IDR for that and we thought it was good price. Make sure you have captain for the boat and one person as guide,then you will see the most. Our guide was great,called Souki and he was like fish in the water and knew exactly where to find those turtles that we wanted to see. We saw many of them and we even got to touch them gently while swimming with them.
And what comes to the sellers we think it is great that mostly they are selling hand made items, not plastic crap. And the massage ladies are nice and they offer very good and cheap beach massages in front of Qunci.

Mostly everything in Qunci is flawless but one thing was a bit inconsistent; The Food.
I orderd every day fresh ginger tea,which I love, and some days it was a big pot with cookies and some days small pot with no cookies ;). Always the same price though.
I hope they would make more effort with the non-alcoholic coctails, they could have more taste in them.
I also hope they would start using more spices and adding more flavours into the dishes. Now most of the dishes were little bit bland, unfortunately. I always requested to have them spicy, but it did not help. I have to admit that we can call ourselves quite of a foodies-we like to eat in the best restaurants and we really appreciate great food and beautiful display of it. I do not mean that the food is bad here, of course not,but I think it really could be so much better if they would decide to really have a look into it. Maybe next time we will taste some improvements!
The breakfasts were good-super Mie Goreng! And deserts were also very nice.

Service was always delight-I want to point out our last evening. We were having a dinner in the beach when one of the staff members came to tell us that he had seen few turtles swimming just in front of Qunci. He said we could see them too if we would be lucky. So nice small gesture which we really appreciated. And we spend an hour spotting the little guys in the sea under the moonlight after our dinner.

Qunci almost has it all and I would recommend it to anyone in a heartbeat. Exceptional place!
Thank you for everything- we can not wait to come back..

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Lem0ngrass,

For us, your title says it all - *Fantastic value for money *. Thanks!

And thank you for your generally positive comments on the hotel.

As for your comments on the food:

the tea. In the morning we serve the tea in a small pot with no cookies, and you should NOT have been charged for your tea as it is included in your breakfast (and if the pot doesnt have enough tea in it, rest assured we will refill it for at no charge)

in the afternoon, we serve the tea in a larger pot with a side cookie, and yes, guests are charged for this.

As for the spicyness of the food, I am wondering how that happened if you requested spicier food. Our Indonesian cooks LOVE to spice up the food and see just how “local” our guests like their food. When you come back (and for future guests), please ask to talk directly to the Chef and he will work out the level of “flames” we should put in your food! Lol

Happy travels and we hope to see you back in Lombok again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Qunci Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qunci Villas Hotel

Address: Jl Raya Mangsit, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Mangsit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mangsit
#1 Spa Hotel in Mangsit
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mangsit
#2 Family Hotel in Mangsit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Qunci Villas Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qunci Villas is a beachfront hotel on Mangsit Beach, 5 minutes outside Senggigi. 150+ meters of beachfront, with 3 large pools, facing the ocean and Bali in the horizon. Qunci also has 3 private luxury villas located on the hill above the beach. The hotel boasts ocean view, partial ocean view and garden view rooms as well as rooms with their own personal pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Qunci Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qunci Hotel Lombok
Qunci Villas Hotel Lombok/Mangsit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qunci Villas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.