We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, atmosphere, service... what an absolute treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quah Restaurant

Quah Restaurant
Qunci VIllas, Jl Raya Mangsit, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
+62 62370693800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Mangsit
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Indonesian, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food, atmosphere, service... what an absolute treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I will start by saying that we are so so so disappointed we only found this place on the last night of our trip and will absolutely be returning to stay at this resort next time we visit lombok.

The food was beautiful! By far the best we have had in lombok the entire week. Forget square, forget lotus bayview or de quake (all of which I have written good reviews for) the entire quah restaurant experience left the others for dead.

From the moment we walked in the staff were attentive without being annoying. When we asked to sit by the beach after our meal a staff member came and spoke to us about our meal and about Australia which was lovely and again he was not at all annoying like in previous experiences at other restaurants.

The atmosphere and the way the restaurant is set out is classy but casual. My partner and I actually had a lengthy conversation about using a few ideas from your restaurant in the outdoor area of our brand new home and I took photos (Hope you don't
Mind)

Thanks you for a wonderful evening. We will be talking about it to all of our friends at home. We will be returning next year and booking a villa.

Olivia and Steve

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Quah Restaurant, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear oj_sb,

You had my heart racing....soooo disappointed...and then I continued to read: *so so so disappointed we only found this place on the last night of our trip! * (smile)

Yes, please do come back and visit us again on your next trip to Lombok and be sure to join us for a sunset cocktail on the beach where we have a 2:1 happy hour.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    23
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Geat food a small island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Food choices were awesome for a restaurant on a remote island. They tasted great and decently priced. Breakfast items not bad either, and the view, OMG!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Quah Restaurant, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear TravelWithStyle_71

A remote island, but we try our best! Come back again.....

Glad you liked the food and atmosphere.

Happy Eating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A lovely setting the Quah has very friendly staff, just like its sister restaurant right next door, The Quali. You can dine in or outside. The tables outside are very close to the beach, which is lit by floodlights. Spectacular. the indoor seating also has great views and ambiance. The staff are all smiling which makes the guests happy. The food was very good. My general rule is to eat local food, so in Indonesia, eat Indonesian food, as they know how to do it bette than everyone. The mediterranean food we tried was a little bit disappointing, but if you want to eat Mediterranean, go to Italy or Spain - Not Indonesia. A good night out all round

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Quah Restaurant, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Alastair S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Quah restaurant.

Glad you liked the atmosphere - especially the flood lighting on the ocean at night. For me also, it is just magical.

Happy Eating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Loved the Thai Beef Salad......can't complain about any food I have had at Quah, good food at a good price.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Quah Restaurant, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Julie B,

Thank you for the great review....and yes, the Thai beef salad is really good and, in fact, is one of my dad's favorites.

We hope to see you back in Lombok again soon.

Happy Eating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“You couldn't hope for a friendlier atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We walked along the beach to this restaurant from Puri Mas nextdoor and were welcomed in with friendly greetings and had our feet washed down from the sand.

As we hadn't decided which restaurant to eat in, a menu was quickly fetched from both. As it was clear my girlfriend and I wanted to eat in different restaurants we were told not to worry as we could order off seperate menus and sit in either restaurant; a very accommodating touch. We chose to sit inside, but there were equally well appointed areas outside around the pool or next to the beach.

The friendly staff quickly got to know our names and made us feel welcome, keeping on first name terms throughout the night.

We both ordered from the menu for this restaurant and the crab cakes (small but tasty) and the Morrocan chicken salad (large, great sauce) were great choices.

The main courses of chicken breast with feta (think upmarket parmigiana) and local chicken curry (spicy) were also high standard.

There was a small hiccup in service as our main courses were delivered then quickly swept away with an apology, we were told they were for the next table! The next table quickly rejected them and they were brought back; but they weren't for us! They were taken back to the other table (untouched by either of us) but then sent back to the kitchen to be replaced. Our 'real' meals arrived soon after with one of the most sincere apologies I have received in a restaurant; but really no need, no damage done, it didn't impact our meal and I only mention it here to highlight how quickly they dealt with the mistake and their sincere apology.

They have a lovely setting here at night with lamps lifting up the waves; beautiful dark wood furniture and good food. Enjoyable evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at Quah Restaurant, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear AndyS100,

Wow....I didnt know that you needed 80 contributions like you have here for become a Top Contributor. That's a lot of work; Congrats!!

Anyway, thank you for the kind review on Quah restaurant and sorry for the hiccup on the service. Hope to see you back in Lombok again and feel free to stop by for your next meal (or for our 2:1 Happy Hour). Next time I promise that we will get the right food to your table the first time! (smile)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quah Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Quah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quah Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.