We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Resort Lombok

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Resort Lombok to your Saves list
Holiday Resort Lombok
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Mangsit, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mangsit
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We are on day 4 of a 7night stay.
Pros and cons from a mum traveller who likes a comfortable stay.
Pro - easy check in, some staff have limited English but they are polite and friendly. We were made very welcome.
Grounds are magnificent, pool is big and clean with a stunning outlook to the ocean. Many chairs with pool towels supplied.
2 bed Apartment very spacious and comfortable. Certainly better than you would find in Rottnest!
Breakfast is fine. Great eggs any way you like, toast, fruit and lots of indo food if you want it. Choc pastries are delicious.
Restaurants on site are good, room service is excellent, cocktails are yummy and all staff make you feel welcome and special. All are happy to chat and want to talk about our country. Mexican menu at geckos is very delicious.
Beach is beautiful, a few hawkers but most are not too annoying. Yes they will rip you off. 5 bracelets for 150000 is about what you should pay. Ask for Mann, he is great, will give a fair price and tell him he was recommended.. He has a friend who will make you exactly what you want on the day.
Little shop to the right of the hotel is good for daily basics and is cheaper than the hotel.
Apartment outlook over the manicured gardens is stunning. Visiting cows, chicken and the hotel pony made the kids very happy.

Apartments are only a short stroll from the main reception and pool (90 second walk)


Cons
Apartments need a refurb and a complete overhaul. New towels, bathroom, kitchen etc is well overdue but again...... It's better than many motels and hotel in Aust. It is def only 3 star but with some money spent could easily be 5 star due to the location and facilities.
No dish cloth or washing up detergent in room, or wash cloths, hand towels, conditioner..... Just ask or leave a pleasant not and cleaning staff will rush about to meet your needs. If you like a big fluffy bath towel... Bring one!
We had a terrible stink in our bedroom on day 3, we called reception, a man came immediately and removed a dead giant rat from in the food space. Dealt with quickly, and the smell went within a few minutes. Yes revolting but these things happen.
Lots of Gekos in the room, but the kids loved chasing them.

All in all a great resort style holiday at a fraction of the price. The staff make this hotel very special and the grounds and pools are magnificent. Yes the room are dated but are very large and comfortable. Quincy is lovely next door, but if you have kids..... Go to Holiday resort!

Room Tip: Road is a little noisy, ask for a room away from road but closer to crossing. If you need anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    179
    53
    16
    9
See reviews for
98
110
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have stayed here before 10 years ago and it still maintains it excellent standards, rooms are clean tidy and comfortable, each with a little patio. Staff are well trained and helpful, Food is excellent, although they did have a mexican night and they have not got that quite right. Breakfast is a smorgasbord and there is nothing you could want. The hotel is spacious with plenty of room to walk, swim in the huge swimming pool, or the sea which is literally in front of the hotel. Take a walk along the beach early in the morning it is absolutely lovely, it sit and have dinner on the beach and watch the sun go down. It is an excellent place for solo travellers, families or couples, each room being very private.

Room Tip: if you can afford the little extra, and want something unique, try and the rooms with the outdoor ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Not usually one to like a big resort I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The ocean front rooms were private and offered excellent value for money. The rooms were above average and meticulously cleaned. The pool and restaurants fantastic. All staff friendly and sunsets to die for on the beach

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed three nights in this hotel. The hotel did not provide free transfer from the airport. We took the airport taxi service which cost RP195,000. Our flight arrived in the afternoon during lunch time and we were told by the taxi driver that the hotel is far away from cafes and restaurants and that the best option would be to have lunch before heading to the hotel. We enjoyed a local delicacy called "ayam Taliwang" at Mataram. When the bill came, we had to pay for the driver's lunch as well. I, personally was quite taken aback as the driver did not mention anything about paying for his lunch.

Location:
The taxi driver was right about the location. The nearest town,Sengigi, to the hotel is not accessible by foot. I reckon it would be about 6km. However, there are some steep uphill climbs and the roads can be dark at night. The only means of transport if you want to get to town is by taxi. We used the Bluebird taxis. The minimum charge is RP 20,000 one way. There are some small shops along the road which is within walking distance from the hotel. As you walk out of the hotel make a right turn and walk down the road. You can purchase drinking water, beer, snacks etc..

Room:
Overall, the room is quite spacious. We requested for an additional bed prior to arrival which was available but they forgot to give us an additional blanket. The room looks rather worn out. There is definitely lots of room for improvement in their maintenance. Be wary when you book a seaview room (which was what we did). Yes, the room faced the sea but it also faced a garden shack, part of the back of the pool restaurant and because it was on the ground floor, the view was blocked by lots of plants in the garden.
The safe could not be used and we called for assistance from the hotel maintenance. A guy came and apparently fixed the problem but when we tried using it again it was still not functional and we gave up.
Meals:
The room comes with complimentary breakfast which unfortunately was rather disappointing. The only thing that was good was probably the omelette. The "fresh" fruits were left exposed and attracted flies, selection was extremely limited and most of the time they were not kept warm/hot. For lunch and dinner, we took the taxi to Sengigi as there are more restaurants there.
Spa
We never tried the spa in this hotel. The spa is located near the swimming pool. It looks like a small hut and whenever we walked pass it was always closed and locked. There was a sign with an extension number to dial if you would like to get a spa treatment but judging from the facilities, we decided against it.

Landscape
The swimming pool's design was large and nice. Unfortunately they did not maintain it. The tiles looked worn out. The hotel is just by the beach. It was disappointing that the management did not make full use of the view. There are bushes along the beach which blocks the entire view of the sea. There are many peddlers along the beach. They are not allow to enter the grounds of the hotel. However, if you do decide to take a walk along the beach, they will approach you and try to sell you stuff or asked if you want a massage, pedicure or manicure. This can be quite a nuisance if you are looking for a quiet walk.

If we ever visit Lombok again, we would prefer to go to Quinci Villas which is located next to Holiday Resort. The Villas there looked nicer, better maintained, the pool overlooks the sea without any plants obstructing the view. The hotel staff are more friendly and I would recommend to go for the spa. (Qamboja spa)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed 5 nights 24/12 to 29/12.

We arrived via a private transfer from the airport which we organised through the resort for $30 USD. We pulled up to torrential rain. Hardly the fault of the resort but the umbrella provided to my wife and I at check-in was broken and did not last the trip from the lobby to our room. Not a big deal in the scheme of things but don't hand me a broken/useless umbrella and expect me to magically perform some sort of critical umbrella surgery in the driving rain on the walk to the room. I didn't bring the required tools and clearly the hotel didn't have them handy either.

We booked one of the resorts beach front bungalows which was a good choice and most definitely the pick of the rooms.
We were allocated room 208.
The beach front bungalow was spacious, with a comfortable king size bed. Overall, clean and adequate for the two of us. Importantly, the air-conditioning in our room functioned extremely well.
There was an empty mini bar fridge which we found handy for stocking our own drinks.
The view out to sea towards Bali and Mt Agung, particularly at sunset, were superb.
We also found it very relaxing laying in bed listening to the sound of crashing waves from the beach just metres in front our room.

The outdoor bathroom layout is interesting and a serves as a great reminder that you are in the tropics but the functionality needs serious overhauling.
Minus points for the lack of ventilation which ensured the bathroom remained stifling hot and stuffy at all times and sadly, the resort also gets a major points deduction for the worst shower water pressure I've experienced anywhere.
I guess the last thing that guests expect to need to do in order to have a shower is to turn the water on, go and make a cup of tea and watch the news before coming back to the shower several minutes later, hoping that it might finally have enough water pressure to make it worth even stepping under the shower. The wash basin tap pressure was OK and much stronger than the shower pressure.

When I made a comment to he housekeeper about the shower pressure, he suggested that many people were trying to use their showers at the same time but when I explained that when I attempted to have a shower at 5am, that I experienced the exact same lack of pressure, he simply nodded his head and said it was a big problem.

There were two wooden and fairly uncomfortable chairs at the front of each beach front room. The chairs could really do with some cushions. I'm sure they had seat covers of some type at one stage but now the resort has decided that it's easier that no one has outdoor seat cushions.
Little things like this cement this resort to a rating of no greater than three star.

The pebblecrete pathways around the resort are well worn and can be uncomfortable on the bare foot with uneven and sharp edges.

The pool area is nice and roomy with plenty of sunbeds for everyone. We did experience some people leaving towels on beds at around 7.00am and often saw that those people did not come back to those beds for several hours but even with that, there appeared to be an adequate number of sun beds. We did find that by 5pm one day the resort had run out of clean beach towels.
There was also some moss/algae on the pool steps and an underwater pool light fitting that was loose for 4 days and may still not have been fixed. Just small attention to detail is lacking.

With all that said, the staff were terrific. All of them!
We found the breakfasts to be extremely average. Not as many choices as we had hoped for. The juices and coffee were pretty poor.
We ordered room service a couple of times and the food was tasty, well presented and delivered promptly.

Overall, we had a most relaxing time at the Holiday Resort but will opt for Qunci Villa’s next door when we return to Lombok.

Room Tip: Book a beach front bungalow. They are closest to the pool and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 9 nights over Xmas 2013. We have ocean view rooms (adjoining) given that we had 2 children. Rooms were spacious and of average quality, but typical of a 3.5 star Indonesian hotel.
The kids had a twin share room, this included 2 x double bed, while our room had a King bed. If we had known the other room had 2 double beds at the time of booking we would have just booked the one room, and saved some dollars.
Nice and large pool. Good swim up bar, although the downside was that you couldn't access it from the main pool area. The pool area is pretty quiet and no issue with people hogging the sun lounges, even though the hotel was almost full.
The hotel has very nice gardens and lawn area, and is located on the beach, although the beach is along this stretch of the beach has a reef from very shallow, so isn't a great swimming area.
Breakfast is just OK, and is typically aimed at the large Indonesian clientele of the hotel.
Meals are OK for one or two nights, but there are plenty of restaurants in Sengiggi which is a 5 minute taxi ride away.
I would stay here again either in a ocean view room, or in a garden bungalow, however, I would request a bungalow closest to the beach as some of the bungalows are close to the road.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view rooms or a garden bungalow closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked a beach villa for our honeymoon. The hotel grounds/pool/location were great however the room was very average sized, housekeeping was very poor and the restaurant food and the spa were also average. We don't expect things to be perfect, however after only a couple of days staying here it really got a bit silly as it was just one thing after another.

When we arrived the room hadn't been made up properly (room service plates etc. still outside the door on the patio, matches on floor and bed and used note paper crumpled on the bed side table), the safe also hadn't been re set. The room smelled very musty as the linens on the curtains and four poster bed were obviously dusty. All the cushions/fabric on furniture etc. were stained, I'm sure they had been laundered but it wasn't a good look. The room only had lamp light so it was too dark. The water temperature was impossible to control - either scalding hot or freezing cold. The tap fitting on the shower kept falling off.

We had to call for assistance more at this hotel than any other place we had stayed at, on a number of occasions we had to call more than once during the day to follow up as the request hadn't been fulfilled. Every day it was something or multiple things:
-The safe not being reset on our arrival, to it breaking during our stay (needs a staff member to reset it & replace batteries).
-Multiple requests for another lamp to put in the corner of the room so we could see in the draws/safe/cupboard at night.
-Multiple requests for the tap fitting and water temp control to be fixed or for something to be done (eventually we were told it was like this throughout the hotel - I'm not sure how guests with children coped!).
-Towels/shampoo/toilet paper/soap/clean cups not being replaced when the room was made up
- Obviously dirty linen not being changed when the room was made up.
- Paying to print out our web check in details, only to find out that the printer was broken and having to speak to at least 4 people over 40 minutes to try to get it printed.
- Ordering a taxi from the room (they say ok they've ordered it) only to go to the lobby to find out they haven't ordered it and it takes 20 minutes to get there.

When we ordered food from the restaurant/room service it wasn't as described e.g. items had been substituted without asking us and the food was average. The spa decor was also run down and dirty looking and the prices were higher than other hotels (e.g Sheraton, Santosa).

We thought were were paying for one of the best rooms as we wanted a bit of luxury for our honeymoon. We chose a big resort as we wanted to be looked after. We still enjoyed our trip as Lombok and the people are great however this hotel was very much on the average side and we wouldn't stay again or recommend it to friends. It really began to get a bit negative for us as we had to call up so many times for basic amenities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangsit
0.4 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 stars 1,740 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#15 of 24 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kebun Villas & Resort
Kebun Villas & Resort
#13 of 24 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunset House Lombok
Sunset House Lombok
#4 of 4 in Batu Layar
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Resort Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Resort Lombok

Address: Jl. Raya Mangsit, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Mangsit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mangsit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Resort Lombok 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Resort Lombok is a tranquil resort nestled between lush tropical mountains and pristine beaches.Accommodations include garden chalets, ocean view rooms, beach bungalows and family apartment. All Rooms décor throughout the resort reflects the local crafts of Lombok combined with a warm and inviting residential feel.All room feature king or twin beds, color television & satellite reception, IDD phone, hair dyer, mini bar, tea/ coffee maker facilities and shower – bathtub.The swimming pool, surrounded by landscaped gardens, the spa, gourmet restaurant and comfortable bar ensure an unforgettable holiday experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Holiday Resort Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Resort Lombok Hotel Lombok
Holiday Hotel Lombok
Lombok Holiday Hotel
Holiday Resort Lombok Mangsit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Resort Lombok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.