We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wombat Hills Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wombat Hills Cottages to your Saves list
Wombat Hills Cottages
4.5 of 5 Cottage   |   55 Lochiel Road, Barwite, Victoria 3723, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed the weekend of the Food and Wine festival second weekend in November 2012, a bit far from the action but still a great location, very peaceful with beautiful views, and lots of nice places to drive to. The cottage was comfortable with comfy bed and nice open fire place. My only grip is the breakfast hamper, don't bother, as you can go into town and have someone cook your breakfast and wash your dishes for less, there is no dishwasher!! and if you want to cook your own breakfast bring your own food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm H, Owner at Wombat Hills Cottages, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We’re delighted that you had a relaxing weekend, enjoying our hilltop location and found the cottage comfortable. The King Valley Food and Wine Festival is a fabulous event. While the number of accommodation places is growing in the King Valley, many visitors find that the nearest alternative is in Mansfield or Wangaratta. It is a 40 minute drive to the King Valley from here but it is a spectacular mountain drive with fabulous views of the Great Dividing Range. Many of our guests have enjoyed a day trip there to visit the wineries.

We’re sorry that you were disappointed with your breakfast. We definitely recommend Mansfield’s vibrant café scene for a great breakfast or brunch. Our breakfast hampers are offered for people who really want to forget the world and have a leisurely start to their day, perhaps by the fire or in the garden on warm mornings. We feel that our ‘Full Breakfast’, including fresh juice, cereals, English breakfast with the works and unlimited tea/coffee is priced competitively at $20 when compared with other hotels. However, for guests who wish to bring their own supplies, the cottages are well set up with cook top, oven, microwave, plenty of cooking equipment and basic pantry items. Each cottage also has its own barbecue.

A dishwasher is definitely on our to-do list when we renovate the kitchens as a part of our 3-year upgrade for our cottages. We spent $30,000 on our family cottage this year and our guests have been delighted with the new bathrooms and kitchen. Should you choose to stay with us again, we hope you’ll be impressed with our new facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We arrived on 13th Aug to this lovely sanctuary 20mins drive from Manfields town. Upon entrying the compound we saw wild kangaroos, rabbits and wallabies hopping around the front yard.
Helen greeted us with a warm welcome and Gemma(Her dog) was very excited to see us arrive. The place was beautiful, back to nature, relaxing...no words could describe the feeling
when we first saw the place. The cottage was fully equipped with everything we needed, even to cook our own meals and to entertain our 3 and 5 year old kids. Some of the pictures here still shows a CRT TV, they have upgraded it to a LCD TV with DVD player. As I have said FULLY EQUIPPED! The fireplace in the cottage was set for us everyday, so I really didn't need to get my hands dirty, maybe because they knew we weren't from a country that has winter season.
To me this is 5 star service... so check it out on your next trip to MT Buller/Melbourne. FYI there is a 'short cut' that will take you to Mt Buller entrance in about 30mins from the cottage.
Just ask Helen...oh yes and if you are a go green person you would love this place. Solar panels, recycle of rain for use as water, recycle bins everywhere... kudos to both Helen and Norm.

WE HAD A GREAT TIME... and we miss Gemma, kid miss playing fetch with her in the mornings and evenings.

Room Tip: We stayed in Fern Cottage... we believe all the rooms are equally as good, it just depends on the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm H, Owner at Wombat Hills Cottages, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. There's nothing like coming home to a crackling fire after a day in the snow. We love our resident wildlife too, and never tire of seeing our kangaroo family grazing in the garden. We hope to see you again next winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Thank you so much Helen & Norm for a wonderful few days at your beautiful cottages. It was lovely to return and stay with you again. Our stay was equally good as last time, great home cooked food, top notch hospitality and lovely clean immaculate cottages. After a day snowboarding the spa bath in the cottage always filled up with hot water to relax in & afterwards by the log fire with a glass of on the house port and cheese. It is always great to see Gemma the dog again to play ball with. The view form our cottages was incredible with the lake and mountain views and we loved seeing the kangaroos hop by, many thanks see you next time
cheers Jane & Josh, Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm H, Owner at Wombat Hills Cottages, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Everybody is convinced that Gemma must sleep outside their cottage as she is always there when they pull back the curtains in the morning. I think it has a lot to do with whenever you open your refrigerator door a light comes on..in her head. And of course she never mentions that she is on a strict diet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in the cottage built for six and there was three couples so it was perfect. We were expecting to have to get to the cottage early to bags the best bedroom but all three were fantastic and roomy, the 2 bathrooms were also roomy and lovely. Lots of hot water, even with all six of us having showers after each other. The kitchen and lounge areas never felt crowded and there was plenty of cooking equipment.

In the morning the lake and views were very peaceful, a morning visit from the families border collie was very cute. The cottages are out of the way and it is a bit of a drive from the snow and Mansfield centre (10 mins to Mansfield and 40 to Mt Buller). Well worth it though as the setting is magical and very relaxing, worth a visit in Winter or Summer

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm H, Owner at Wombat Hills Cottages, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thankyou, given our alpine setting, I think quite a few people may have had their doubts about our new solar hot water service. They needn't worry for it spends the entire winter months well and truly in full electric boost mode to cater for the back to back bookings we experience in our 3 bedroom cottage over the season.
Depending on their arrival time, we encourage our guests to arrange their ski hire requirements on their way through Mansfield, avoiding one more queue on their skiing day and just a 30 minute drive to Mt Buller without having to backtrack to Mansfield. Most of the Ski Hires in Mansfield are happy to equip you the night before .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location - far enough out of town to really feel out of it; close enough to go to lunch, or shop.

Perfect accommodation - everything there that you need. Beds fantastic, wood heater warm and wood at your door.

Perfect surrounds - gorgeous countryside for qa walk to see some rooster and lots of birds.

Took my mother and two teens. We loved it but want to go again with friends as it is a perfect place to enjoy good company, food and some of the good wine that was there.

I will definitely go again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Wombat Hills Cottages, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thankyou, we're delighted that your family had a great time and enjoyed our newly renovated Rose Cottage. We'd love to have you visit again and can recommend summer as a great time to come with friends. The jetty on our lake is the perfect place for sunset drinks and star-gazing, just magical on a balmy summer evening. It's also a great time to explore the High Country's mountains, lakes and rivers. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

It was a little difficult to find late at night but once there we couldn't believe how cosy and comfortable the cottage was, then we saw the views in the morning - amazing!

I compare our stay here to everywhere else in Victoria since and still think this was the best.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We found Rose Cottage just a few weeks before we at the last minute decided to head to the snow for a few days with the kids.The mission was somewhere peaceful and relaxed while hubby and the kids went skiing! What a little gem we stumbled accross! Helen and Norm have thought of everything. The kitchen had everything you could imagine so I was able to cook some great meals or there was also the option of home cooked meals available as well though we didn't try these. Our 11 year old made a new friend for life with the beautiful Border Collie, Gemma, she sat at our door every moment we were at the cottage waiting for her next pat! The beds were to die for, so very comfortable, the robes cosy, nice linen, it was all there. Helen introduced me to Eddi at Bella Sana for a massage - she said she was special and this was an understatement! Eddi is a god, I highly recommend the facial reflexology, she was in mansfield around 15 - 20 mins away and well worth the effort, she also gave me a beautiful massage and pedicure and I floated away so very relaxed. We loved it so much we ended up extending our stay an extra night. There was a lovely lady at the end of the street that takes in injured wildlife and nurtures them back to the wild, Helen arranged a visit for us (not open to the public) and to get so close to wombats, hawks, kangaroos, horse, sheeps lambs was an opportunity that was very special! I have travelled around the world to many many places and I have to say this place is special! There were 3 cottages on the property, and the 3 bedroom one was perfect for the 4 of us. Sadly we didnt have enough time and good endough weather to have a hit on the tennis court or try and catch a fish. Peace, serenity and amazing hospitality, there if you need anything and you wouldnt know they were there if you wanted privacy! You will not be disappointed should you stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wombat Hills Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat Hills Cottages

Address: 55 Lochiel Road, Barwite, Victoria 3723, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Barwite
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Barwite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wombat Hills Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wombat Hills Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wombat Hills Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.