We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bambu Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Matapalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Bambu Resort
Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$115 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I want to thank Lynn and Kirk for yet another perfect vacation in Matapalo. I stayed six nights this time with my three sons and we enjoyed every minute. Casa Bambu and Casa Pina are both equipped with everything you need so you can just relax and enjoy. There are four species of monkey's frolicikng in the yard while the scarlet macaws fly overhead. We surfed, paddle boarded, kayaked and just kicked back in our beach chairs. At night the absence of modern world noise lulls you to sleep...perfect vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
92
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our stay at the Casa Sonrisa on the Casa Bambu property in the Osa Peninsula was the highlight of our trip! We traveled from the northern to the southern tip of Costa Rica and this was, by far, the best place to visit! We thoroughly relaxed in the beautiful bamboo home which offered gorgeous views of the jungle and beach. We saw the most wildlife on this property than in the other three regions we stayed. The girls, ages 14, were able to have their own room on the lower level and we had our privacy as well on the upper level. We all enjoyed hanging out together on the spacious covered porch upstairs watching three species of monkeys travel by as well as numerous birds, butterflies, and other small animals.
I did not think I would like to cook while on vacation, but this place is so relaxing it was actually a pleasure! In addition, we had a Costa Rican woman cook us a meal which was fabulous! Also, there a few great places to eat nearby.
William, the property manager, took us on a really fun tour of the Rainforest near this property. The swim at the waterfall at the end of the hike was refreshing and fun, especially for the girls who safely jumped off the rocks beneath the falls several times.
We have traveled quite a bit in this country, and I think one of the best things about this property is the beach! Playa Pan Dulce was perfect for the girls! The surf there is safe for children and beginning surfers, unlike so many other beaches we have been to. In fact, when we traveled up the coast further to Carate we ended up coming back to this beach for more!
Yes, this is the reason we travel to Costa Rica.
We will definitely be back for a much longer stay next year.
Thanks Kirk and Lyn for everything!

Room Tip: We, as a family of 4 including two 14 year old girls, really enjoyed the Casa Sonrisa. It was set b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a wonderful off grid week staying at Casa Pina! House was great everything worked well beds really comfy everything you needed for catering. Great position for wildlife loved watching the monkeys every day from the balcony and great birdlife intresting to see what would visit the compost pile! Lynn, Kirk and William were very helpful the pre trip list Lynn sent was invaluable, we flew yo the osa and Lynn sorted taxis to pick us up take us for lunch shopping great service you would never get that in the UK. Great surf, hire boards from L'encanta vida, lunch good at Lapa Rios, Great atmosphere at Esperenzas , boat tour of Golfo Dulche well worth it Josh was great. Plenty of great walking and chilling and great family time NO TV! internet spot was perfect.

HINTS AND TIPS

Bring good flash lights
Casa Pina not great with young kids Bambu or Linda would be perfect.
water shoes handy.
Buy plenty of food.
You don't really need ice the fridge works well.
Chill and enjoy


Pura Vida we loved it

The first Welsh Visitors
Dioch yn Fawr!

Keep up the good work Lyn And Kirk

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Paradise! The Casa Bambu houses are so amazing. They are incredibly designed and efficient. If you are adventurous and up for a tropical wilderness experience, this is the place for you. We really enjoyed the surfing, relaxing, hiking and uninterrupted family time. It is such an amazing escape and magical place. The jungle and all of the wildlife is out of this world. We've seen more exotic Costa Rica wildlife from the front porch than anywhere else in the country. The owners and staff are super friendly and very helpful. Lynn is very helpful in booking and planning excursions. This was our second time there and we will be back! Heath & Ashley

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Most relaxing trip i have ever been on! Great house, friendly owners, monkeys everywhere! The owners are great at setting up excursions for you try the ziplining, horseback riding, yoga, and the boat tour!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our family of six traveled to Costa Rica for my daughter's wedding. All six of us stayed in Casa Pina enjoying the scenery, surfing, animals, and the wedding. Our daughter was married on the beach in front of Casa Bambu and it was a perfect setting with great help from the owners and staff to make it a beautiful day. I would recommend this location for a small wedding or family adventure. My sons love to surf and it may have been some of the best surfing they have ever had every day.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Everything you read in the reviews is true! We stayed in Casa Sonrisa for 6 days. Sonrisa is the furthest up the hill toward the jungle, yet still a couple minute walk from the beach. We were (happily) awakened early by the Howler monkeys, and all through the day enjoyed the troops of Howler, Spider, Capuchin and occasional Squirrel monkeys as they moved through. A coati visited every afternoon, and there were plenty of birds, lizards, butterfies, etc. Lots of good birdwatching within a short walk. We did a night hike with William, highly recommended. One day our younger members rented surfboards at a nearby establishment--the local beach is lovely, good for swimming and beginner surfing. The house itself is lovely, well-designed, with comfortable full kitchen. Leda and another woman (can't recall her name) cooked for us one night, they were magicians!
After our stay we moved on to other Osa locations. This is an excellent stopping point for continuing on to hike into the Sirena Ranger Station in Corcovado. And regarding seasons--due to being on the school calendar we've always visited Costa Rica in June/July, and it's always been great. A bit more rain (which rarely interferes with activities) and fewer people. We had a couple of spectacular electrical storms while at Casa Sonrisa, and really enjoyed the drama!
The communications with Lyn were great. The owners pay great attention to detail and clearly want their guests to have a good experience. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Bambu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bambu Resort

Address: Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a secluded five acres of pristine rainforest beachfront in one of the most biologically diverse areas on earth, this unique resort lets you escape civilization while safely and comfortably enjoying countless natural wonders. Located in the same vast rainforest as Corcovado Park, Casa Bambu Resort is on the tip of the Osa Peninsula, where the rainforest meets the sea. After visiting our house, Lonely Planet recommends Casa Bambu Resort as a place to visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Bambu Resort Hotel Osa Peninsula
Casa Bambu Hotel
Hotel Casa Bambu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bambu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Bambu Resort to your Saves list
;