We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 11-19, 2013 Casa Bambu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bambu Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Matapalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Bambu Resort
Save
You added Casa Bambu Resort to your Saves list
Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Christmas Holiday Sale!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Falmouth, Maine
1 review
“April 11-19, 2013 Casa Bambu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We are a family of four, two adults and two teenage boys. We spent a glorious week at Casa bambu. All of the glowing reviews are absolutely accurate. All of us had a wonderful vacation. We participated in nearly every tour mentioned on the website. We did Corcovado with William, the tree climb with Everyday adventures, Surfing lessons, Zipline, Sailing on the Gulf, and our own hikes to a couple of waterfalls.
Each tour was terrific and when they were over we came home to our cozy little Casa Bambu to read and lie in the hammock and wait for the afternoon monkey parade.
We walked down to Buena Esperanza for dinner on two occasions and were very glad we did. Its a laid back bar/restaurant with very good food. We also used the cooking service offered by the employees of Casa Bambu. Two sweet young women came in one evening and cooked us a nice meal with our ingredients. Delicious and wonderful to have someone else cooking after the Corcovado trip.
Lyn was very helpful in making arrangements in anticipation of the trip and Kirk and William were on site when we arrived. All lovely, kind, helpful people.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

1. Thank you for your generous hospitality during our stay at Casa Bambu. You made our vacation to the Osa Peninsula a trip we will never forget filled with memories we will always cherish. From arranging all of our transportation needs to scheduling all of our excursions, you made our vacation the relaxing and adventure-filled family getaway we hoped we would have. Your attentiveness, kindness, and local knowledge all contributed to making this the trip of a lifetime. Because of you, we never felt like foreign tourists disconnected from the local culture.

2. Please extend our thanks to William, Leda, and the rest of your spectacular team. William’s patience, caring, and exceptional eye for wildlife make him the ideal tour guide for local hikes. It is clear that he loves the Osa and his enthusiasm for the natural beauty of the environment is contagious. In addition, Leda is brilliant in the kitchen. Her traditional Tico meals were one of the true highlights of our trip. Courtney still reminisces about her “arroz con pollo.”

3. Thanks again for going the extra mile to accommodate our specific needs. We are hopeful that we will have another opportunity to visit your piece of paradise again, and if we do, we will certainly arrange to stay with you.




Pura Vida,



ROB ARNETT

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We are a family of 5 - our kids are 13, 13, and 10 - and we've just spent the last 5 days of our 3 week holiday, staying at Casa Bambu. To be more accurate, we stayed at Casa Sonrisa, which is one of the 4 houses owned by Lynn and Kirk. This was by far the best bit of our holiday and a great way to end it. We had the most fantastic time. Waking every morning at 5 to hear scarlet macaws and howler monkeys. The beautiful wild beaches and jungle. But Casa Sonrisa was a fantastic bamboo house in particular. It's tucked nicely at the back, so is quiet and private, and its more elevated than the others so you get a great view down a gap in the trees, to the beach and sea, and there are monkeys everywhere. The house is extremely well designed and built by Kirk. Whilst usually on holiday, the accommodation is just your base and you try to spend most time out and about, here we actually really loved spending time at the house, and on the verandah in particular, just relaxing, watching Coati stroll by, reading in the hammock, or drinking beer! And whilst the house look good on the website, in real life it was even nicer! When we were there, Kirk happened to be there too and we thought he was really helpful without being 'gushy' and insincere. So we couldn't speak highly enough of Casa Bambu and Casa Sonrisa

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have recently returned from a stay in Casa Pina (on property with several homes all manged by William on site and Lyn in Texas). We were two families traveling together (3 teenaged girls and 4 adults). We fit comfortably in Casa Pina (two bedrooms, one bath on ground floor one larger bedroom, bath, kitchen, dining and open air porch on second floor).

The kitchen space was large and efficient. We love to cook and even though we were off the grid the oven and fridge were perfect for cooking and storing food. No trouble with keeping food fresh etc. Lyn also provided us with exceptionally detailed advice about virtually every detail of our trip. (we should have heeded your advice about overestimating our food purchases because we did end up having to 'ration' some breakfast supplies towards the end of our trip. Listen to Lyn, buy more food than you think you'll need!)

We also enjoyed having Jaxinia cook a meal for us one evening that was fantastic! Other nights we cooked the fish one of our Dads caught with William in the kayaks (mackeral and bonito). And one night we walked to Buena Esperanza for dinner (listen to Lyn and definitely pack one flashlight per person!)

Our group opted not to do the long hike in Corcovado. We saw and heard so much wildlife in the area around the house that the hike seemed superfluous. We spent a lot of time surfing from the beach which is just a quick walk from the house, to a lovely quiet beach. The surf is good for beginners and there is a young man (Pollo is his nickname) who will provide you with lessons and boards if you want instruction. Otherwise you can rent boards at the resort down the road (Lyn will tell you where).

We loved the wildlife, the open air, the warm water, Tico culture, virtually everything about our experience in Casa Pina. William was quickly responsive to any request and, as I've mentioned, Lyn is completely organized and thoughtful about every detail for her guests. She emailed us after our return asking for comments and any recommendations for changes/improvements. I cannot think of anything I would change. This place is idyllic.

Thank you for a lovely stay in a natural paradise

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms in Casa Pina are more airy with higher ceilings and more space. We spent most time t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I don't even know where to begin. Costa Rica is such a magical place and our experience was even better because of our accommodations and Lyn, our amazing hostess.
What Lyn does for you before you even get there is what I believe puts Casa Bambu over the top. Because of Lyn's knowledge and advice we were thoroughly prepared to have the vacation of a lifetime.
Now about the trip: We went with another couple and their toddler in December 2012. The weather was perfect. Upon arrival at the house it was dark and hard to judge what we were getting in to. But when we woke up the next morning (to the soft cries of howler monkeys, bahaha!) we knew instantly it was the right choice.
We stayed in Casa Sonrisa, the most private house up on the hill. When we go back, notice I said WHEN, I would love to try the house closest to the beach. Solely for a different experience, not because we did not enjoy Sonrisa.
Sonrisa (and the other 3 houses) are beautifully constructed and rustic all in one. Everything you need is right there. Since this review is technically supposed to be about Casa Bambu resort, I guess I should spend more time on the house. There is really nothing more to say. It was fantastic, no complaints. Hot water showers, fan's in the bed, open air to enjoy your surroundings, etc...)
The wildlife surrounding the house is unbelievable. From Toucan Tree just out the dining room window, to the daily monkey parade, it never got old. We did the Corcovado trip with William and actually saw just as much wildlife on that trip as we did around the house.
William the caretaker is wonderful. He is friendly and helpful. You really feel that he truly wants you to have the best experience possible.
Have the girls cook you dinner as often as possible. The arroz con pollo was so delicious. My only regret is that I didn't watch them cook it because despite my best attempts I cannot replicate it.
Martina's Bar, a nice walk down the road was also a great place to get a bite, a delicious drink and enjoy the company of other's who love Costa Rica.
Buy fish from the fish monger. When you first get there put out the word that you are interested in fresh fish and he will come right up to the house. We bought some delicious fresh fish and shrimp. Oh my, the shrimp! It was amazing. Huge. If you buy early in the trip he will stop by every time he has a catch. I was super bummed the second time he came by to find out he had sold all 6 pounds of his shrimp to an Eco-Lodge just before stopping by.
Even our taxi driver's were amazing people. Lyn recommended our main taxi driver, Dennis. Whenever Dennis wasn't available we got one of his brothers. Such a great family. Dennis was always on the lookout for wildlife for us and he even found us the elusive three-toed sloth on our last day, while headed to the airport! Here is how amazing Dennis is: he took us to the airport in PJ on our last day. He waited around while we checked in for our flight and dropped off our luggage. Then he drove us into town to have some lunch before our flight left. We said our goodbyes to Dennis and thanked him for his part in our lovely trip. We were sitting down at our table when Dennis pulled back up in front of the restaurant after having just left. He was holding my husband's backpack out the window and we realized my husband had left his backpack in the taxi. The backpack had our brand new GoPro Hero 3 and two profession Canon camera's in it (one of which was borrowed). Dennis truly is an amazing person.
My recommendations of must do's: 1) Gulfo Dulce boat tour! One word: ah-mazing. You will not be disappointed!!! 2) Ziplining, what a thrill and 3) Surf lesson's with Pollo. Try to do this early in the trip so you can practice what you learned the rest of your trip.
We have so many great memories of our trip that I cannot put them all in this review. I am glad I kept a journal so I can relive the memories long after our trip has passed. Even the simple stuff such as sitting in the open air living room at night kicking the boys' booties in Spades, to exploring the jungle on foot and coffee (the Tican coffee make was so cool) in the morning with our dear friends, was truly magical.
A couple words of advice to those considering at stay at Casa Bambu: this is not a resort with technology and hand and foot service. There is no AC and there isn't television. You must make your own fun. Embrace the land, wildlife, sea and truly enjoy time with whoever your travel companion(s) may be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME!
I was totally overwhelmed by the wildlife and the unspoiled nature of the area and the location of La Piña by the monkey walk was just incredible. It was exactly what I wanted but so far exceeded my expectations. The sounds of the rainforest are incredible. I hadn't thought about the sounds, only the sights. The howler monkeys, macaws, parrtos and cicadas are very much present and make a wonderful background music to the stay.

My husband hates going on vacation. To give you an idea of how successful this one was he has said he would like to go back and was actually tearful when we left!

William was wonderful and tracked down a tapir in Corcovado. (That is a strenuous trip but worth it.) The boat trip was excellent and we saw hundreds of dolphins and swam with them. I loved watching the view and the animals, from our daily 5am monkey watch to afternoon visits from the agoutis and coatimundis and the start of the late afternoon monkey watch until dark. Not to mention the birds!!

If you do the fishing from the kayaks with William, do it early during your visit so that you have time to eat your catch. We caught mackerel and red snapper and cooked it on the grill at the house.

It is rustic and eco friendly. The area is totally unspoilt. It was definitely one of the best holidays I have had.

I want to go back, NOW!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Lyn,
Thanks very much for all your help. First, the staff were warm, welcoming and always helpful. My daughters and I thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Corcovado with William and despite the language barrier, he was able to teach us quite a bit. His knowledge of the bush is remarkable. People are quite friendly as you must know, so if one is not certain about the safety of beaches for example, just ask. Buena Esperanza is a great place for dinner. Walking along the beach to the fresh water pool at the mouth of the river was marvelous. Los Islas was a great stop prior to our flight to SJO although we could have got up really early to make the morning flight directly from Casa Piña

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bambu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bambu Resort

Address: Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a secluded five acres of pristine rainforest beachfront in one of the most biologically diverse areas on earth, this unique resort lets you escape civilization while safely and comfortably enjoying countless natural wonders. The property fronts on Playa Pan Dulce, famous for it's long right point surf break, an SUP surfers dream break. Located in the same vast rainforest as Corcovado Park, Casa Bambu Resort is on the tip of the Osa Peninsula, where the rainforest meets the sea. After visiting our house, Lonely Planet recommends Casa Bambu Resort as a place to visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Bambu Resort Hotel Osa Peninsula
Casa Bambu Hotel
Hotel Casa Bambu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bambu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.