We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bambu Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Matapalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Bambu Resort
Save Saved
You added Casa Bambu Resort to your Saves list
Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$115 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Walpole, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We got back from our family vacation in Costa Rica two nights ago and I can still recall the sounds of our time at Casa Bambu's house closest to the water, Linda: the sound of the waves so vibrant they seemed as though they were right in our room; the now easily-recognisable call of the Scarlet McCaws in the almond tree just outside the porch; the distant roar of the howler monkeys waking us every morning; the rustle of who knows what under the house; the cicadas never-ending chirps ..... and the surprised shrieks of our kiddos as they discovered some sort of flying beetle or fly or insect or bug a little closer to them than they expected!

The house was perfect. Simple. Amazing quality stove to cook on and for a solar-powered house, suprizingly effective means to keep food cool and ice cold enough to chip off of a block ... at least for a few days! Plan trips to Puerto Jiminez every three days or so if you want ice in your drinks! I like to to cook and my littlest kiddos are not too adventurous eaters, so we didn't use the "iron chefs" to prepare our meals, but they were awfully nice and I am certain that their food would have been delicious. We bought mahi mahi and HUGE shrimp from a couple of different local fisherman who showed up with it for sale on two separate times. Great quantity and quality at a very low price.

William was great. Always smiling and friendly. We don't speak much more than long-ago high-school Spanish, but communicated just fine. Go on the waterfall hike with him. Despite the maps, we could not have found it on our own and it was incredible to stand beneath it and jump from under its spray into the refreshingly cool water. No mosquitos anywhere. At least at this time of year.

A highlight was a horseback ride with Miguel Sanchez at Rio Piro. William knows him and can help set it up. I had read about Miguel on someone's blog and was determined to find him ... he is a authentic local Costa Rican character. Barefoot as I had been told. Ride with him through a river, through the rainforest, to a deserted beach that is simply stunning. You can gallup on the beach if you want. Or not. Then explore the tidal pools and massive crashing waves. 'Twas perfect.

Another highlight: The boat tour. I have never seen so many dolphins in my life. Hundreds. Literally hundreds!!!!!

We decided not to hike in Corcovado afterall. The walking on the beach in the oppressive heat and hiking in the park for house with our kids (ages 10 and 12) seemed just too much. The beach walk is HOT, HOT, HOT. And no swimming there to cool off because of the ferocious rip tides. We saw ample wildlife right where we were ... I think the only thing we missed out on was the Tapir. Oh well.

We loved walking from our beach over to Backwash Bay. Our beach was beautiful, and it was so fun to talk with the locals who often came to fish in the afternoons, but we loved the walk through the rainforest, through the next beach, through the rainforest again and over to Backwash Bay. We found a fantastic rock to jump off of at high tide and the waves were absolutely perfect for boogie boarding. A pair of Scarlet McCaws also had a nest overhead which was a site to see!!!

Lyn was great with her communication and instructions and maps. A big thanks. We also met some incredible other families who were staying in the other houses. We were too timid and inexperienced to try the kayaking, but those who did it loved it and especially loved having the kayaks readily available. And free. We preferred the boogie boards. There is now wi-fii ... a blessing or a curse? It might have been nice to have really un-plugged, but the kids enjoyed having it available!

We loved every minute!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
93
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Francestown, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Lynn for all you did for us the tour's were excellent the home pristine I truly feel it's the most beautiful place in the world and I am so grateful to be able to experience the beauty of the OSA each time we come. As this year we were able to explore a little more its hard leaving the house as it is a nature loves paradise from the howlers, Monkeys Macaws blue morph butterfly bats lighting bugs ocean waves and this year we finally got to see a toucan but the very best part of the trip was the people William is a big part if the wonder he is always happy and ready to take you on a adventure .. Lynn And Kirk again a huge thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us ... Please know we will be back next year and will be bringing a crowd this time .. Love the Kazanovicz

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I came back last month and I am now writing a review on this resort. We stayed for 5 nights and it was 3 adults with two kids. It was such a special place, being so close to nature and the ocean was a wonderful experience. Very Secluded - no one was around us. Every morning we would wake up the Congo/Howler monkeys and the birds chirping and fall asleep to the ocean waves, which from the balcony of La Pina was beautiful. This is defintely the monkey house, as every day we would see them swing pass and see more then one kind of monkey. Among other animals. A 2 minute walk to the ocean you cannot ask for anything more. The bamboo houses are so well built and well maintained. Kirk and Lynn were extremely helpful and answered all our questions and concerns. Such nice people, I cannt say enough great things about them. William is an extremely knowledgable tour guide, he took us to a tour to the waterfalls and it was amazing, I highly recommend a tour with him. Kids would have a beautful time here as well. We also hired Leda to cook for us and she did an amazing job, the food was excellent and again such a nice person. Overall, such a wonderful experience and worth the trip, we would defintely go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, WY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent a month at Casa Bambu with our three yr old daughter in 2010. It's a special place in our hearts now and we will definitely return. Lynn, Kirk, William and everyone else couldn't have been nicer. The house is perfect: indoor/outdoor living at the same time, but most of all it's living in the jungle and on the beach at the same time. Wildlife, birds, wow. It rained like crazy much of the month: it was Costa RIca's rainiest rainy season in years, and it made it a little chilly, but the upside is that we had the peninsula to ourselves. We'd go again in the rainy season for sure. Corcovado might be the best wildlife hike for kids in the world, as far as we are concerned. Thank you Casa Bambu!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn Kirk U, Owner at Casa Bambu Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi Liz, Wow, how nice to hear from you after so long. Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We loved having you all and hope you can return to Casa Bambu.
Just to clarify, below your review it says you stayed in March, 2012 (when it is not rainy) but as you know, you stayed in November, 2010 (and you do say 2010 in your comments). Oct./Nov. is a rainier time of year, which is why we reduce our prices then (although in 2012, unlike 2010, it was sunny much of the time, so you never know!).
Just wanted to make that clear. Thanks so much for your comments and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a wonderful experience! We were amazed at how quickly we adapted to the rhythms of the rain forest and the sea. The sounds of the waves and nighttime rain lulled us to sleep, then the indescribable calls of the howler monkeys woke us to another calm and beautiful day. The beaches are pristine-- not a cigarette butt or plastic bag to mar the beauty. At times my wife and I and our two friends had entire coves to ourselves.

The exotic birds and animals (agouti, coatimundi, and monkeys were frequent visitors to our yard) were always fun to see. The area is a birdwatcher's paradise.

Casa Son Risa itself is beautifully situated on the edge of the rain forest. My wife, a masterful "everyday chef," loved cooking on the restaurant-quality stove in the airy kitchen, and the wood and bamboo construction of the house added a beauty we haven't seen anywhere else. Despite the fact that the house has no screens, bugs were no problem for us. We never saw a fly and were buzzed by only one mosquito when we walked to a nearby outdoor restaurant one night.

Kirk and Lyn, the owners, provided us with great information and suggestions on things to do. We felt that they cared deeply about our enjoyment and our satisfaction with the Casa Bambu experience.

Some tips: Follow Lyn and Kirk's advice about everything from hotels in San Jose' to market shopping to proper footwear. Their advice is spot on. If you like fishing, bring a decent rod and reel, because the fishing at Playa Pan Dulce beach was fun. Arrange outings with William, Kirk and Lyn's caretaker. He's a truly knowledgeable outdoorsman.

If you enjoy the outdoors, want to kick back and clear your mind of everyday concerns, Casa Bambu is a great getaway. We want to go back and definitely recommend it to others. --Gary Ball

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I and two friends had the great fortune to discover Casa Bambu on our recent first time visit to Costa Rica. There are 4 bamboo houses, expertly designed, built and crafted by the owner, Kirk. We had the pleasure of staying in Casa Sonrisa which is the most private of the 4. It is perched atop a little hill, perfect for observing multiple species of monkeys swinging in the trees everyday along with coatimundis, agoutis, macaws, mariposas azul (beautiful blue butterflies) and more. All that from our porch!

The beautiful beach is a mere 3-4 minute walk that I enjoyed everyday of our 9 day vacation. Lyn, who is married to Kirk goes above and beyond as a perfect hostess. Once you confirm your stay, she sends you an abundance of useful information and ideas from where to stay in San Jose before and after we embarked on our trip down to the Osa, where to eat while in San Jose, transfer arrangements from Puerta Jimenez , what to do in the Osa, the list goes on and we were pleased with every idea that we used.

The Artisan market on Fridays was really fun and the meal we had while there was delicious. The hike to the waterfall with William was a big highlight for me in particular because the cold water provided instant relief from my sunburn. Make sure you apply and reapply sunscreen frequently! We also had some entertainment right on the property witnessing a monkey raid on a fellow traveler's house in Casa Linda, while she was busy taking pictures they decided to help themselves to the fruit in her house!

If you want to experience the real Costa Rica in style (not a fancy resort, but better in my opinion), the houses are great, equipped with comfortable beds, beautiful kitchens, all the creature comforts of home, except tv which we didn't miss at all, do yourself a favor and book your stay at Casa Bambu. We wouldn't stay anywhere else and we looked around while we were there. It was Pura Vida!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a perfect Christmas vacation at Casa Pina - it was a wonderful place to relax and get to experience much of Costa Rica - up close and simple. We were an extended family of 6 - my parents who are both 70, my husband and myself, and our kids ( 9 and 11) who spent a week there. There was so much to keep us all happy and entertained - it was an ideal location for a family getaway - and especially for kids!.
Lyn prepared us perfectly for the trip, and was very helpful answering my questions beforehand, and helping figure out some travel details. All of the arrangements she helped with went exactly as she planned. Trust her when she says you need to stock up on groceries - you won't want to have to leave the house to make the trek to Puerto Jimenez just for that.
Our days were very relaxing, lots of walks to see all of the wildlife, hanging out on the balcony and just watching it all go by, and then of course we spent a few hours every day at the gorgeous Playa Pan Dulce, fishing, surfing and swimming. It is a bit rocky, but the water was beautiful and warm, and many times we had the entire beach to ourselves. I would take that over smooth sand any day! It was also fantastic to have the beach chairs, kayaks and boogie boards available to us - every day there would be people at the beach at various times, but I felt it was "our" beach as we had such easy access with those amenities. My kids rented surfboards and learned to surf on this beach - the waves were perfect for surfing, and also made it easy to learn to paddle out.
As others have mentioned, Casa Pina is more rustic than some other beach vacations, but we felt that allowed us to better experience Costa Rica, and the natural wonders it offers. Everyone in our group enjoyed cooking in the kitchen, opening and closing up the fantastic "windows", using the radio, using the Tico coffee maker, and all sorts of other unique experiences that we hadn't experienced anywhere else.
We did enjoy the Golfo Dulce tour, waterfall hike, and a couple of meals at nearby places, but what we will remember most is spending time right there in and around the house. As others have noted, William was very helpful, and Leda cooked a couple of delicious meals for us while we were there - which we would recommend. I miss it already, and I am already trying to figure out when we can get back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Bambu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bambu Resort

Address: Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a secluded five acres of pristine rainforest beachfront in one of the most biologically diverse areas on earth, this unique resort lets you escape civilization while safely and comfortably enjoying countless natural wonders. The property fronts on Playa Pan Dulce, famous for it's long right point surf break, an SUP surfers dream break. Located in the same vast rainforest as Corcovado Park, Casa Bambu Resort is on the tip of the Osa Peninsula, where the rainforest meets the sea. After visiting our house, Lonely Planet recommends Casa Bambu Resort as a place to visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Bambu Resort Hotel Osa Peninsula
Casa Bambu Hotel
Hotel Casa Bambu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bambu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.