We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do you have to howler at 1 AM in the morning? You monkey you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bambu Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Matapalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Bambu Resort
Save Saved
You added Casa Bambu Resort to your Saves list
Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$115 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do you have to howler at 1 AM in the morning? You monkey you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Once you get there - it is exotic, wild and strangely comfortable place. This is as rain foresty as it gets, but don't be scared - William (caretaker) is there to help. No matter what you need (well, almost everything), he will assist you with... Great guy, great place and we had a terrific time there. Stay active, do the walks, take a few tours and don't forget to hire local ladies to cook for you - Delicious... Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Yes!

Casa Pina is luxurious and simple. Very comfortable, with an excellent ocean view along a monkey trail. Every day, from the kitchen or the living area we would watch monkeys pass by. It was a wildlife paradise--in our four days there we saw an abundance of four types of monkeys, scarlet macaws, toucans... from the beach we saw whales breaching and large sea turtles.

We had our choice of several beaches--the somewhat rocky, shallow beach that the property fronts, filled with locals fishing. The next beach down was sandy and remote--better for swimming. And Playa Matapalo--a surfer's beach with powerful waves. All were great for lounging.

On a previous trip I stayed in one of the deluxe cabins at El Remanso. I was disappointed that the budget this time wasn't going to include a stay there or one of the other pricier lodges, and expected a bit of a downgrade by staying at Casa Bambu. I was wrong. I would certainly choose this place on a return trip to Matapalo. It was great having our own place--remote, comfortable, spacious. The kitchen was awesome and it was nice cooking our simple meals. All for about half the price of the other high-priced lodges.

This place would be excellent for families too. Plenty of room--there are two spaces at Casa Pina that are large enough for everyone and other rooms people can retire to for privacy. There are plenty of things to do. And again, the houses here are much more affordable than the luxury per-person lodges.

I'm so glad we found this place. Well done, Lyn!

Room Tip: Lyn was very helpful in selecting a cabin based on what we were looking for. Consult with her.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

As our group of 7 bounced around in the car on the rock strewn road on the way to Casa Bambu, I wondered, "What have I gotten myself into?" When we arrived and saw our home for the next 4 nights (Casa Linda), we knew this was going to be a great vacation. And it was. Nature all around, surfers riding the perfect wave, beautiful waterfall hikes, fishing, swimming in the warm Gulf...so relaxing. Kirk and William were there to ensure that everything was perfect and we know that we have made 2 new friends. We had the staff cook dinner each night and the meals were simply wonderful. All in all, one of our best trips ever and we will surely return. Thanks Lyn, Kirk, William and the entire staff for an unforgettable vacation.

Room Tip: Casa Linda slept 7 comfortably. Ask about smaller houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Or
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great green property run by Kurt and Lyn and their caretaker, William. As stated before, daily red and green Macaw (lapas) visits to the property to enjoy the almond trees. We had early am alarms from the howler monkeys so we did not miss watching the surfers or fishermen from our sandy beach or watching the wildlife. The flowers on the property were beautiful and the property was nicely groomed. Sorry we missed the 2 cooks who would provide a made to order Tican meal. They had a weekend holiday to visit their families during our time. Kurt was readily available to answer all our questions Power was solar as was the refrigeration and this worked fine for us.This would be a wonderful place for a honeymoon for those wanting to experience a true nature retreat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Its hard to sum up what this place is like in words. It is a fantasy land. The minute we got out of our car there were monkeys everywhere, macaws flying around us, and some other mammals I couldn't name. We rode horses on the most remote beautiful stretch of beach you could imagine. We had our meals prepared for us by Marley. Surfed right out front and sunned on a wide beautiful bay beach next door. I have been to Costa rica a half dozen times, but never to this region. It is what you fantasize Costa Rica being like in every way. Believe it or not, there really wasn't one mosquito either, and I mean, you couldn't be more in a jungle. Lyn and Kurt were wonderful hosts and really respected our privacy. I dont feel this way often when I travel, but I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The master suite at casa linda in amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My family and I just spent the most relaxing 10 days of our lives in this amazing spot! It's like being in the nature channel 24/7. Wildlife right out the kitchen window. William the caretaker could not have been sweeter, and Lynn & Kurt were awesome hosts. The property is well taken care of, 20 steps to your own private sandy beach, a child's paradise. If you want to totally unplug and soak up some incredible family time, this is THE place to go.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband, three teenagers and I just returned from 8 nights at Casa Linda. We were very impressed with the house as well as its close proximity to the beach. The beach was never crowded and the kids had a great time surfing in warm water. What a treat! We were also able to see plenty of wildlife right out the kitchen window. William was a great tour guide and we also really enjoyed our Golfo Dulce tour. It was a wonderful week of adventure and relaxation in the rainforest. Thanks Lyn for arranging all our tours and taxis. You were a great host.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bambu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bambu Resort

Address: Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a secluded five acres of pristine rainforest beachfront in one of the most biologically diverse areas on earth, this unique resort lets you escape civilization while safely and comfortably enjoying countless natural wonders. The property fronts on Playa Pan Dulce, famous for it's long right point surf break, an SUP surfers dream break. Located in the same vast rainforest as Corcovado Park, Casa Bambu Resort is on the tip of the Osa Peninsula, where the rainforest meets the sea. After visiting our house, Lonely Planet recommends Casa Bambu Resort as a place to visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Bambu Resort Hotel Osa Peninsula
Casa Bambu Hotel
Hotel Casa Bambu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bambu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.