We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven On Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bambu Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Matapalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Bambu Resort
Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$115 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Francestown, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Heaven On Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We just returned back to the States Yesterday, We stayed as Casu Bambu for the second time and again I will say I never want to leave this spectacle place its not only the best vacation I have ever been to but the people and the staff are the kindest people I have ever meet. I always felt safe never once did i think about safety. We were there for eleven days, not enough time, I do not think you could have enough time there to sit and enjoy all that nature has to offer you. This is the only place I have ever been to were I am almost in tears when I have to leave. Maroda and Marley cooked for us almost every night they were the highlight of our trip they can turn nothing into something amazing at every meal, We would all sit and eat together it was Pura Vida ever night. Kirk the manager was also there for everthing we needed and made our trip so easy.kirk went out of his way to make sure we had a extra bed for one of the children we were with. We so missed Lynn Kirks wife this Year, but wanted to tell her everything was amazing and look forward to seeing her next year. The Fishing right off the Beach this year was Amazing we ate like kings every night. I could go on and on but you would have to see it to appreciate the beauty of this place if you are thinking about renting this oasis do not wait there are not many places in the world left like this place anymore. Love to you all and see you again next year . The Kazanovicz Family ps William thanks for the net it was great except it caught to many fish lol.

Room Tip: We have only stayed at Casu Bambu but every house is Beautiful, Pictures are on the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
92
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We loved it and can't wait to return. The owners are organized and helpful. The house is comfortable and perfectly designed for casual comfort. The location is precious and gorgeous. William, Leda and Marle were very helpful and friendly. I think it was our favorite vacation of all time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island Wa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed in La Pina for 10 days in Dec. This was the 3rd leg of a 5 week trip and was the highlight of the trip. If you want a bit more wildlife viewing right from your porch or from your bed for that matter then La Pina is for you. It's like a super monkey highway. We saw all 4 species of monkeys everyday. La Pina has a small yard that the monkeys use to commute to where ever they are going. There is an open area between some trees and a few times we saw the spider monkeys leaping 30 feet between them. Really really cool!! Also bird viewing right from the hammock was incredible. From scarlet macaws, tucans, great curassow's (every morning) and red capped manakins. The houses are well maintained and everything was thought out. Even a gas weber grill. The craftsman ship and detail that Kirk put into the place is amazing. Lyn was super and there for anything we needed. William the caretaker and the girls were fantastic.
This is not a spa or a all inclusive resort with drinks by the pool. Which is one reasoned we loved it. No a/c which was fine with the open house breeze.
Driving? The road from PJ to CB was horrible and 4x4 a must. You need to drive through 3 small rivers. Yep through, not around, not over, but through. We had a Daihatsu Bego and it was fine. Giant pot holes made you feel like you on the moon. The drive really was half the adventure. Locals are all on motorbikes for a reason. Stop in PJ for food and ice is a must. Unless you want drive the road again. Which we did for some of the tours.
We will be back!
Tip.. The dolphin/wildlife refuge tour with Josh is an absolute must.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We have been traveling in Costa Rica for the past twenty years and this is one of our favorite place is in the country. We found Casa Bambu about ten year ago and for the past eight years we have made it our main stop on our trips. Our son has spent the last eight years enjoying the beautiful and secluded surrounding and all the different animals of the area. We always find ourselves counting the days until our return. From hiking, fishing or surfing there is always something fun to do. We have stay in all the houses and find everyone a special place. Williams and the girls are so wonderful and helpful always. We have had so many adventures there from great hikes to monkey stories. It is one place you will never forget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa Falls, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Awakened before dawn by tropical birds. La Sonrisa was a three bedroom modernized Swiss Family Robinson experience. It is among a group of 4 bamboo houses. The beds were netted so no problem with insects. The kitchen and bathrooms were very functional with everything but food (which we knew). Next time I go to CR I will definitely head here. Great beach very near (500'). Difficult drive in (need 4x4). Overall I loved it.
Not for people looking for room service.

  • Liked — Natural wonders
  • Disliked — Access
Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We, 2 couples, spent 4 nights in Casa Bambu and loved every minute of it.
We have been traveling to Southern Costa Rica for 7 years now and Casa Bambu really hit the spot!
The house is way more beautiful than the pics on the website show. It is so great to have the open house so you can be outdoors and see the macaws, monkeys and toucan right from your bed or living room.
The beds are comfortable and the netting is well built. The fan and light are inside the mosquito net which is very smart and practical. I was so impressed with the clean, safe and open feel of the house. Mosquitos were no issue at all. The howlers wake you around 5 am and soon after, beautiful sun rises to give you joy and energy for the upcoming day.
The kitchen had everything we needed, but you really do need to stock up in Puerto Jimenez to have groceries or else eat out. Nearby restaurants are good but very pricy. No sodas or supermercado in this area.
The lawn in front of the house is beautiful and large, you're steps away from a beautiful beach which we used to watch the sunrise in the morning, to sunbathe in the daytime, and go sit and watch the stars at night.
We took the kayaks out on the ocean and had a blast.
We talked to William, the property manager and he is very sweet. We took a guided tour with him to the waterfall. We took the map that Lyn had emailed us and found the amazing King's waterfall and all the empty,but gorgeous beaches.
Unfortunately, the ladies weren't available to cook our dinner, we would have liked to use that luxury.
After this stay in Casa Bambu, we traveled on and stayed for 12 more nights in different towns and cabinas, but nothing measured up to Casa Bambu. Casa Bambu was the highlight of our trip and we truly recommend it to adventurous adults AND kids.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Great information provided about the house and area from owners! Great price for the house and best amazing views and wild life. Saw 15 plus monkeys every morning while eating breakfast. However if you don't like the outdoors this is not the place for you b/c the house is open air in the rain forest with no air condition. This is exactly what we were looking for and loved every min feeling one with nature.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Bambu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bambu Resort

Address: Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a secluded five acres of pristine rainforest beachfront in one of the most biologically diverse areas on earth, this unique resort lets you escape civilization while safely and comfortably enjoying countless natural wonders. Located in the same vast rainforest as Corcovado Park, Casa Bambu Resort is on the tip of the Osa Peninsula, where the rainforest meets the sea. After visiting our house, Lonely Planet recommends Casa Bambu Resort as a place to visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Bambu Resort Hotel Osa Peninsula
Casa Bambu Hotel
Hotel Casa Bambu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bambu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Bambu Resort to your Saves list