We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bambu Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Matapalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Bambu Resort
Save
You added Casa Bambu Resort to your Saves list
Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Christmas Holiday Sale!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Francestown, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

My family and Myself just got back from staying at Casa Bambu... I just wanted to say WOW
We had the most Amazing time, hands down this trip was the best we have ever taken. My son Stevie fell in love w/ William and all the wild life, Monkey's Scarlet Macaws fishing. hiking, water falls and the people who are the best. I wanted to say a big thank you to Lyn and Kirk and William they made our trip so easy , Lyn I already miss you, I know if we lived closer we would be great friends. Ready to make plans for next year. No words could ever tell you what a special place this is..Thank you all for making this trip so special... Peter, Michelle and Stevie, Ps very hard to leave this amazing place and people..............

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
94
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed in the Casa Linda beach house with our family, and it was wonderful. I liked that we were just a few steps away from the beach. The rainforest with its monkeys, macaws, and butterflies was so amazing.The owner and staff at Casa Bambu were very friendly and helpful. Be sure to have the girls cook for you because the meal we had was delicious. I can't say enough about the wonderful Matapalo area of the Osa Peninsula.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

A group of us (ten in total) ranging in ages from 8yrs old to 60+ yrs old stayed at La Pina and La Sonrisa for a week and had an amazing time. Dinner cooked by Vicki was a treat! Lyn and William were so helpful in setting up tours for us and arranging for taxis. Everything was PERFECT!! I wish I was still there!! (we are back in freezing VT - loved the hot humid days in the Osa!). Thank you Lyn, Kurk, William and Vicki. Best trip every!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

I am naturally skeptical of reviews if there aren't a bunch of them. Casa Bambu had a bunch and all very high ratings so I was very optimistic about staying there. I am so glad that we followed up with booking a trip there. This is a place that gives you a little of everything and nothing at the same time. You get to choose what your vacation will be from adventorous to relaxing. It is far enough away from anything to make it mainly secluded but close enough to Buena Esperenza and to Lapa Rios to give you a chance to mix with other travelers.

We actually stayed at Casa Linda which shares the property with Casa Bambu. They are both owned by the same wonderful people and have William taking care of them. Upon booking, Lyn provides you with literally everything you need from maps to what you may want to buy from the grocery store in Puerto Jimenez. Casa Linda is closest to the beach and offers amazing views of the sunrise from the porch and front bedroom. The place is ridiculously clean and the furnishings and kitchen is stocked with everything you need. They even have boards, kayaks, and other ocean related stuff to just grab and go when you want. I was able to take William up on his tour options to hike to the nearby waterfall, the Corcovado hike, and fishing on the kayak. All were great experiences and William's ability to find the smallest creatures is nothing short of amazing. I still don't know how he can find the iguanas or the tiny frogs inside the fallen leaves.

It is literally impossible to say enough good things about the place. I would highly recommend families or a small group of friends to check out this slice of paradise. It is a little off the beaten path and a bit of an adventure to get to but well worth it. It probably requires a short flight (or a very long drive) from a larger destination and then the fun drive on some pothole filled roads past monkeys, cows, birds, etc to get to Casa Linda but all of that just adds to the excitement. NatureAir was a great way to see the beauty of Costa Rica from above and get much closer to your destination.

If you are looking for the perfect place that provides Hawaii like beauty with way more wildlife potential and amazingly friendly people this is it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We first discovered Casa Bambu in 2008 and decided that it had everything that our family needed for the best vacation ever. Birds, kayaks, and remarkable wildlife for momma, surfing for the adrenaline crew, many options for 'field trips' and a really functional kitchen that was perfect for this family of cooks. It's not the easiest place to get to, but Lyn makes it easy with good suggestions for drivers, places to stay in San Jose, the best places to shop for supplies in Puerto Jimenez, and the inside track to reliable taxis and rental cars. We came back for Christmas 2010 with a new grandson to add to the mix and he loved the sand, the water, the colors of the flowers, being carried in a backpack to the surfing beach and up to the spectacular waterfalls. William, the manager, is wonderful and very helpful in making sure we got where we needed to be. It's a big world out there, and so many good places still to visit, but we are already planning to come back to Casa Bambu in a year or two. Hard to imagine another place on earth as perfect for our family--ranging in age from 1-60 and still going strong.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

This place is the perfect Costa Rican nature getaway. The house was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed for a terrific 3 day stay. The owner is very helpful and everything described on her website is accurate to the last detail We will return and recommend to others. Thanks you Lyn. Tony

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Theres not much I can add to all the wonderful reviews of these amazing houses. I was looking for good quality accommodation in a natural location and Casa Pina did not disappoint. The trip there was interesting as the roads and bridges had suffered quite a bit of storm damage but we got there in the end. Lyns shopping list was really useful, once we had settled in it would have been a nuisance to drive back to town to pick up odd bits of groceries, there were far more fun things to do instead. We made use of the kayaks and caught fish for our dinner, had a hike with William to Corcovado (no tapirs sighted so a return visit might be called for!!) and surfed just in front of Casa Bambu. The final evening we had a huge thunder and lightening storm, it was really exciting sitting out on the balcony and listening to the rain. Thanks to Kirk and Lyn for providing such excellent holiday homes.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bambu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bambu Resort

Address: Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a secluded five acres of pristine rainforest beachfront in one of the most biologically diverse areas on earth, this unique resort lets you escape civilization while safely and comfortably enjoying countless natural wonders. The property fronts on Playa Pan Dulce, famous for it's long right point surf break, an SUP surfers dream break. Located in the same vast rainforest as Corcovado Park, Casa Bambu Resort is on the tip of the Osa Peninsula, where the rainforest meets the sea. After visiting our house, Lonely Planet recommends Casa Bambu Resort as a place to visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Bambu Resort Hotel Osa Peninsula
Casa Bambu Hotel
Hotel Casa Bambu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bambu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.