We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun times in Osa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Encanta La Vida

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Matapalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Encanta La Vida
Save
You added Encanta La Vida to your Saves list
Cabo Matapalo | Puerto Jiménez, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Fun times in Osa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Encanta La Vida. The setting is gorgeous, and it was the perfect place to explore the Osa environment for the first time. The staff at the hotel were warm, professional and helpful. In particular, the meals at the hotel were pretty amazing - delicious creations with fresh veggies, fish and chicken. Terry offered expert advice about local activities and attractions. Julian was not only an amazing bartender, he went put of his way to help us to see several local birds (scarlet macaws!), frogs, and other wildlife. Encanta La Vida was just an easy way to experience Osa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    14
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
50
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I spent our 14th anniversary at Encanta La Vida. We enjoyed everything. The room (Deluxe Room) was very comfortable and well maintained; the terrace is spacious and relaxing. The staff, everyone, were just great! They all were very friendly, helpful and professional. Isabelle, our first contact, helped so much with the reservations via email and phone. The manager Terry, and her family who live nearby, were excellent. We took a great bio-tour with her husband Andy and her son Talon; it was one of the highlights of our stay in Osa Peninsula. The food, prepared by Gray, was outstanding. Every meal was delicious, and we looked forward not only to eating her food, but also to having nice chats with her. The Tica cook/maid (do not know her name) saved our last day when we missed our 6 am taxi, and she made sure to arrange one for us to catch our whale/dolphin tour, and our flight back to San Jose!

Of course staying there allowed for us to see amazing birds, monkeys and different animals. We saw whales and dolphins, and enjoyed restful moments on the beach watching skillful surfers.

We both strongly recommend Encanta La Vida, and would surely go back. Sharmin and Amr

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bend
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had a few days to spend away from my own vacation rental (Flying Toucans) here in Costa Rica so where does an owner of a vacation rental go himself? How about Cabo Matapalo, the best spot to see scarlet macaws, monkeys, beaches and wildlife. And where is a great spot to stay once there? How about Encanta La Vida. My home away from home. Besides being a great location what impressed me the most was the service. Josh, the asst. mgr. greeted me and made me feel at home the whole time. Teresa, the manager, was personal and very knowledgeable having been in the area 14 years. Grey, the chef, was the biggest surprise of all. I use the word chef, not cook. She is amazing! You don't eat while there... you dine three meals a day. Who knew in the jungle you could find such cuisine! If you are coming to CR get to Cabo Matapalo and stay at ELV! I'd be surprised if it wasn't the highlight of your trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for 3nights. It was perfect. We absolutely loved the food. I wish i could do the same red tuna we had for supper one day, amazing. Pool was nice and refreshing. Everything was just perfect. We saw lots of monkeys around and other animals. Staff was friendly, room very clean. Shower was outside our cottage and with no hot water really, however it was not a problem as outside was so so hot. I would go back in this area in a minute.

It was a wonderful experience.

Thanks to the staff!
Andree M

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I just returned from traveling in Costa Rica with a university group from the US. Moving a group of seventeen people around Costa Rica can be challenging under the best of circumstances, but getting a large group onto the Osa Peninsula and into Corcovado National Park can seem downright daunting. However, our experience was flawless - due in large part to the help with planning and coordination by our hosts at Encanta La Vida.

With their help we transferred our group and gear from Pt. Jimenez to the hotel using pre-arranged 4-wheel drive vehicles. The trip in featured amazing scenery and wildlife along rough roads and included several stream crossings (You can probably guess what the students thought about that!)
Encanta La Vida is a spectacular private lodge located a short walk from some of the best surfing beaches in Costa Rica. They hosted our large group with ease, providing a level service and amenities that I would expect to find if I was traveling with my wife and/or family. The food was excellent - some of the best we had during our month long program.
In a country known for wildlife - the Osa Peninsula is Costa Rica distilled down to its pure essence. Abundant, diverse and active the wildlife is literally surrounding the hotel. For example, we saw three of the four species of monkeys found in Costa Rica right from the hotel pool. As a nature guide I almost feel guilty – almost!

We came to the Osa Peninsula to visit Corcovado National Park. However, Matapalo is only part way to entrance of Corcovado National Park. Getting to the La Leona station requires another 4-wheel drive trip and a 3 km hike along the beach. Again, Encanta La Vida was essential in arranging the logistics, including transportation and entrance fees into the park.
Our programs specialize in taking student groups away from the more touristy areas of Costa Rica, avoiding the crowds found at Manuel Antonio and Monteverde National Parks. We work to provide a unique experience for our students, and Encanta La Vida is the perfect venue for exploring the Osa Peninsula and Corcovado National Park.

Robert Tournay
Tropical Adventures in Education, LLC

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playa matapalo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

i would like to thank everyone at encanta la vida - we had a great time. the service and accommodations exceeded expectations. the food was excellent, healthy – made with love. the wild life - amazing with monkeys coming up to our deck rails – birds everywhere. absolutely beautiful. the other guest we met where kind, friendly and gracious. my nephew, chris is still taking about this experience.

thank you and see you soon
carlos

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Or
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

After a 45 minute (maximum speed} 4 wheel drive thru primitive roads and creeks of various depths and sizes in the jungle we arrived at this amazing property. It has private individual bungaloes perfect for honeymoons , all meals provided and delicious/healthy. Pool and pool bar as well as isolated seaside yoga deck equipped with certified instructor. All of this in the midst of 4 type monkeys and other jungle plants and birds. The resort is a short walk to 2 different difficulty surfing beaches on a path to the yoga deck.
The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the Osa. We became acquainted with all employees including the owner Brian. Front desk Terry was so efficient. Cooking staff quiet but excellent A very relaxing and easy place to spend time. Much more can be said but read other reviews.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Encanta La Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encanta La Vida

Address: Cabo Matapalo | Puerto Jiménez, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encanta La Vida is an all inclusive jungle retreat located amidst the beautiful beaches of Cabo Matapalo. The hotel offers direct access to amazing wildlife and world class surf, and features a stunning, private salt water swimming pool - the only of its kind in Matapalo! Encanta La Vida is the ideal vacation spot for families, honeymooners, and surfers alike. Garden trails lead you to private cabinas nestled throughout the property. The beautifully landscaped grounds provide privacy and wonderful wildlife viewing opportunities. Our rooms are clean and spacious with queen-sized beds and open decks. Enjoy three DELICIOUS meals a day in the Encanta La Vida restaurant featuring fresh fruits, veggies and meats all locally grown or caught off shore. The hotel bar is located just off the swimming pool and serves up blended tropical drinks and ice cold beer. Encanta La Vida is also a fun and easy destination for family reunions, weddings and yoga groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Encanta La Vida Hotel Osa Peninsula
Encanta La Vida Osa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Encanta La Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.