We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow Wow Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula to your Saves list
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Osa Peninsula, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay five - pay four
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
GreenLeadersGold level
Cancun
2 reviews
“Wow Wow Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We just spent our vacation in Costa Rica. After searching places to visit and reading reviews, one of the things that I wanted to do was to visit Lapa Rios Ecolodge!!!!!! Well.... I am speechless.... There are no words to describe this place!!!! wonderful dinning, wonderful attention, incredible rooms, the most amazing sight seeing on wild animals. We got a taste of what the world was like before we destroyed it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    36
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
105
258
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Lapa Rios was the ideal place for a relaxing yet exciting honeymoon. We wanted to spend a week in just one place and Lapa Rios offered the perfect setting for relaxing while experiencing a range of activities in the rainforest, at the beach and around the gulf. The bungalows are ingeniously designed to allow for complete privacy while having three walls open to the outdoors (screened in) and beautiful private decks with a view of the gulf and a stream of beautiful birds and monkeys in the trees overhead. We did a number of guided hikes around the property and all were amazing. The guides were extremely knowledgeable (our first guide had a degree in botany) and friendly. We also did the outside dolphin tour and were able to swim with a pod of over a hundred dolphins in the wild -- one of the most amazing experiences we've ever had. In addition, the food at Lapa Rios was absolutely wonderful -- rivaled some of the best restaurants we've been to on other vacations and in the US. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and their commitment to sustainability was obvious and impressive. Lapa Rios truly offers a unique combination of unadulterated nature and incredible comfort. Further, we traveled during the rainy season and still had a fantastic experience (with fewer bugs than we anticipated!). We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

I recently stayed at Lapa Rios with my husband. We had never considered eco-tourism before, but we are converts! You are constantly serenaded by the sounds of the wild - we loved watching the toucans, monkeys, and macaws outside of our beautiful private bungalow. We had an amazing time on the guided tours as well - all the guides are extremely knowledgeable, and each trip is completely different. We especially loved the waterfalls hike, where you hike through streams and go swimming under waterfalls in the jungle. The hotel owns so much property and provides so many interesting activities as well as numerous look out points and tranquil places to just enjoy nature. Everything was so beautiful and remote, easily the best kept secret in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

Lapa Rios will always hold a special place in my heart. We stayed for 10 days and each day we had new adventures. Just on the resort property we saw so many types of birds, four types of monkeys, two kinds of sloths, tons of lizards (including Lorenzo, the pool iguana), and more. We ate wonderfully prepared fresh foods, and learned a little spanish from the fantastic workers along the way. The very private balcony was our own piece of heaven and was a great spot for watching the sunrise. We are planning a return visit within the next year.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

I'll make this short and sweet. My husband and I went to Lapa Rios on our honeymoon just over 2 years ago. We still dream about this place!! It was by far our favorite part of our stay in Costa Rica. This place is all about beauty, animals, pure unadulterated adventure, and true romance in the jungle. We loved the food, the juice, the staff, and the scenery. It's really like no other place on earth. There is walking involved and I would highly recommend lots of nylon clothing that dries quickly. Cotton t-shirts just got soggy quickly. Water shoes and hiking sandals would also be nice to have. I laugh at the people that call the beach "mediocre". This is an unspoiled beach, people and no one goes out to mill the sand into powder or set out beach chairs and fruity drinks. We walked down the hill to the beach, enjoying the scenery and animals as we went. The tide pools at the beach are amazing. If you love to explore, this place is for you. We were the only ones on the beach for hours. That's the kind of place this is. I just can't say enough nice things about this place. We also loved the tours - we did the night hike, horseback riding, and the jungle hike.

We can't wait to go back. We think of our Lapa Rios stay quite often and smile at our memories. There aren't many places on earth that we can't wait to get back to. If you have a sense of adventure and the journey is as much fun as the stay for you, you must go here. You won't be disappointed. If you're just into sandy beaches, suntan lotion, and carefully landscaped lawns, please go to Puerto Vallarta and leave the jungle for the rest of us.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

We had the best time at Lapa Rios and would highly recommend it to families with older children. Our bungalow was great, wood floors, white mosquito netted beds and screened windows and no phones or TV's. There was a big deck off the room with a view of the ocean and jungle. Every afternoon a family of squirrel monkeys would visit the tree by our deck. At the same time, there were frequently toucans in the same tree and macaws in the next tree. We saw so much wildlife on the property. Every morning we would awaken to Howler Monkeys. The guides were fantastic. They were incredibly knowledgeable. If you were stuck in the forest, you would want one of these guys with you! We took hikes out to the waterfalls and all around the property. We did a Dolphin tour out on a boat and found ourselves surrounded by a pod of 200 dolphins. Our kids swam along with the dolphins. We went kayaking through a Mangrove forest. The service at Lapa Rios is excellent. The staff was 100% reliable and attentive. All meals are eaten in the main lodge and the food is wonderful and plentiful. They take your order for dinner at Breakfast so that they can plan better for dinner and have less waste. It is an eco-lodge and they will take guests on a tour to explain their sustainable practices. My kids are all very interested in sustainability and really appreciated this aspect. We loved Lapa Rios.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

I am not the outdoorsy type, nor do I have much tolerance for bugs or other critters. I was so concerned about this trip that we nearly cancelled. What a huge mistake that would have been! What a fantastic vacation! Every single thing about our 5 night stay at Lapa Rios was perfect. The rooms were extremely clean and well-kept. The staff clean them twice a day. The wall screens and mosquito nets over the beds were in-tact and clean.

Our patio overlooking the Pacific ocean and rainforest below was the best--we just wish there were two hammocks so my husband and I did not have to trade off using the one provided. We would sit outside, listening to the crashing waves and monkeys and birds. We loved watching the scarlet macaws fly by and eat in the tree adjacent to our bungalow. Pure relaxation.

The food was as good as any five star restaurant we've been to--and we fancy ourselves foodies, so I think this should be given some weight. Seriously: very delicious food at each meal. The fish was incredibly fresh and superbly prepared. And, it all went very well with their fantastic mojitos!

I even enjoyed the hikes! While they are several hours long, in general, there is plenty of stopping and looking around. Because of all the trees, the shade provides some relief from the sun. We saw spider monkeys each day we were at Lapa Rios, and we saw plenty of other amazing animals too. Wow. The hikes weren't too difficult--they are all on trails and the guides are helpful in avoiding potential problems (like army ants that might bite). We really enjoyed these hikes, but we saw plenty of wildlife (monkeys included) on the self-guided trail. FYI, although it is rated as a medium-easy hike, I actually found the waterfall hike more difficult than the Osa or the Ridge hikes. The latter two were more about endurance, whereas the waterfall hike required more climbing on slippery rocks. I'm glad I wore Keen hiking watershoes, but that didn't help too much.

We enjoyed the evening activities. Every night there would be some educational or cultural program. They weren't extravagant, but we enjoyed the low-key nature of them. We especially liked the chocolate presentation (and samples), the dancing kids, and the Osa cat preservation program.

While we visited during the "green season," the weather was beautiful every day. We consider ourselves lucky that it only rained overnight.

Some tips: For our anniversary, my husband and I reserved the waterfall lunch--I highly recommend it! And, we brought flashlights, but we could have just borrowed them from the reception desk. Either way, you'll need something to use at night--I think the rainforest is the darkest place there is. Both hiking and water shoes were very helpful. And, even though there were not too many mosquitoes, I did get about 10 bites. That's not so bad, considering we were there for five days. But, the resort websites says that you don't need spray, but I would definitely recommend it anyway.

Anyway, I loved this trip and would go again if I were to ever return to Costa Rica. We feel like we really found a gem in Lapa Rios.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
7.5 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
16.7 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
1.8 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#1 of 44 in Osa Peninsula
5.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
9.5 mi away
Las Islas Lodge
Las Islas Lodge
#4 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
12.3 mi away
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Address: Osa Peninsula, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 1000-acre private nature reserve in Central America's last remaining lowland tropical rainforest in Costa Rica, Lapa Rios Ecolodge overlooks the pristine point where the Golfo Dulce meets the wild Pacific Ocean, a destination matching everyone's idea of paradise. Much more than a luxurious eco lodge, Lapa Rios is a model ecotourism project and a sustainable tourism pioneer. Over the years, we have received many awards for social and environmental excellence. Home to a plethora of incredible wildlife, including monkeys, scarlet macaws, pumas, toucans, tree frogs and thousands of other creatures, a trip to Lapa Rios Eco lodges Ecolodges will be the experience of a lifetime. Lapa Rios is one of only 24 National Geographic Unique Eco Lodges of the World ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Hotel Playa Matapalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.