We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula to your Saves list
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Osa Peninsula, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay five - pay four
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
GreenLeadersGold level
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
“Honeymoon in Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My husband planned this entire trip for our Honeymoon, and I was blown away. The greeting as we came to the resort after a long tiring day and small plane ride was amazing. They had wonderful and helpful people who already acted like they knew us!

The room was stunning (#6) and was very private. We had incredible service at the restaurant every morning, afternoon and night. We tried a different plate for each meal and only a few we were not amazed by, but we are not very outgoing with our food choices as it is so it was nothing that upset us. The waiters and staff were always helping us with our Spanish and encouraging us to learn while we were there which was great!

The guided tours were incredible and very educational. We wanted to do EVERYTHING while on the honeymoon, and we truly loved every tour. We did the Ridgewalk, night walk, early morning bird tour and attempted the pigs and twigs but did not make it on time!

We went off on our own through some self guided trails and down to the beach and it was very safe and comfortable. We also did some things outside of the resort and the drivers who took us were also very familiar with what we needed to do, and very always on time.

Overall, I miss this wonderful slice of heaven and I would definitely go back right now. The one thing I would recommend is to finish your trip here because we were sad to go and had a couple more nights at San Jose before heading back home. Thank you Lapa Rios!

Room Tip: A lot of walking the higher the room number. We had #6 and it was not a problem for us, but if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    36
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
100
252
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I (with our 16 year old daughter) spent 5 nights at Lapa Rios Ecolodge. It was truly one of the most remarkable hotels/experiences I have ever had. The service and staff at the Lodge are incredible and the rooms not only had amazing views but were spacious, clean and comfortable with private decks and outside showers.

Guided tours with onsite naturalists are part of the experience. We had the awe inspiring experience of seeing a hummingbird's nest with one egg and one live baby bird. This is a truly magical resort that we can not wait to revisit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Just back from a full week at lapa rios. What an amazing place! All the glowing reviews of this place are well deserved. Their people make you feel like part of the family. Julietta is a rock star!

Word of warning: the climb up from bungalows 9-12 is pretty tough. Most nights found us dripping sweat as we sat down to dinner, but it was all part of the adventure. As long as you're reasonably fit and healthy you can handle it.

Room Tip: #'s 3-8 would be the best choice for most people. 9-12 have great views but a heck of a hike up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Lapa Rios is everything it claims to be and more. We woke up to toucans flying by our balcony and walked to breakfast as squirrel monkeys leapt from tree to tree outside our bungalow. Customer service was amazing. Staff were at the lodge entrance with juice and lime water every time we returned from a tour, slipped into our room to light candles without us ever seeing them and shared sightings of animals with the same enthusiasm we felt seeing the animals for the first time. Our 10-year-old loved the night tour so much he did it twice -- he saw a kinkajou (or honey bear), tarantulas and even had a tree frog hop onto his arm. We zip lined among ancient trees during a day trip to Puerto Jimenez and even tasted termites from a nest our guide showed us on a walk onsite to waterfalls. We went during green season and it only rained once, at night, but what a show - lightning and thunder over the ocean, our mosquito nets (which were more ornamental than necessary) billowing as we lay listening to the sounds of the forest. The stars were spectacular at night from our balcony -- shooting stars every clear night and the Milky Way more visible than we've ever seen -- and we rarely saw a mosquito! At Lapa Rios, we were guests of the forest and the creatures who live there and we felt great joy and appreciation to be sharing -- for but a short while -- their home.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle (6,7,8) have amazing ocean views, yet still have enough trees around so that mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Lapa Rios was amazing! Staff was super friendly (spoke English too), food was delicious (chef accommodated our vegan diet!) & the room was perfect. Plenty of wildlife & NO mosquitoes! Hikes were great & tour guides were very knowledgeable and FUN! Coffee was delivered to our room in the morning & beer in the evening. YAY! We would definitely come back & highly recommend to others. You can fly Nature Air from San Jose airport for about $100 per person & be in Puerto Jiminez in 50 min. Way better than driving, which takes 6 hours. Lapa Rios will pick you up at the airport in Puerto Jiminez. Only regret is that we did not stay longer. Two nights was too short, we should have stayed four to make use of all of the amenities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Lapa Rios was the best choice we could have made for a honeymoon destination. The entire staff was extremely professional and friendly. The food was amazing; everything was fresh and there were choices for both meat eaters and vegetarians. We were amazed from the moment that we were picked up from the airport, until the moment they dropped us off at the airport. If you don't like being active, and just want to sit on a beach sipping Mai Tai's, this isn't the place for you. If you enjoy being in the middle of the rainforest, seeing animals, hiking and being active, you won't find a better place.

Room Tip: There is no bad cabana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We arrive in Jiminez greeted with coconut water and a Tucan up in a tree. On our ride into Lapa our two drivers made every attempt to stop and find every bit of wild life they could find and boy did they find a lot. Once at the resort we were greeted with a fresh beverage and a crew of smiling people. This place is incredible. We can't say enough the food and service is amazing. The Bungalows have breathtaking views are are kept immaculate, we did NOT have one critter issue. We did the ridge hike, night walk, waterfall hike, ziplining and waterfall repelling ALL amazing. One day before ziplining I asked the front desk if they had rope or something I could use as a belt my shorts were falling off and Grieven one of the employees offered to take his off and let me use it. The first day we were there the Howler monkeys were noisy all day, we brought ear plus for the evening and early mornings, we didnt' find them that bad. The night noises were relaxing and soothing, the sound of the ocean and the frogs. Oddly enough there are NO mosquitoes. There a lot of stairs but we looked at it as exercise. The pool was never crowded even though towards the end of the week a few families with children arrived.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Ltumazzo,
thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your stay at our eco lodge. First of all, we are very happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and really appreciate your great comments about the high quality level of food and service at the lodge. Thanks for pointing out the fact that there are no mosquitoes at Lapa Rios. It surprises a lot of our guests (just like the fact that there is no need for air conditioning in the rooms due to great cross ventilation). It has to do with the fact that we are located on a hillside and there is no place for water to accumulate (hence the steps to excercise). It was a pleasure for Greivin to lend you his belt for your canpy tour... nothing worse than loosing your pants in mid-air, hahaha. And thanks for giving the belt back (-:
We hope you come back soon and your review will inspire many other travelers to come to the Osa Peninsula and stay at Lapa Rios to experience the rain forest. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Address: Osa Peninsula, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a private nature reserve spread over 1,000 acres of Central America's last remaining lowland tropical rainforest in Costa Rica, Lapa Rios Ecolodge overlooks the pristine point where the Golfo Dulce meets the wild Pacific Ocean, a destination matching everyone's idea of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Hotel Playa Matapalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.