We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moments that take your breath away.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula to your Saves list
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Osa Peninsula, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Moments that take your breath away.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This eco lodge went above and beyond for us. From picking us up at the smallest airport I've ever been at to including so many tours in our stay was amazing. Our guide was educated and full of knowledge, including keeping us safe on the night walk from 2 HUGE ferdulance snakes. The waterfall hike was my favorite tour. The wildlife is amazing. The monkeys were my favorite especially when we were laying in bed watching them play right outside our bungalow. I almost didn't see a sloth while in Costa Rica until our guide found out I wanted to see one and found me one to look at. The lodge staff were excellent. We enjoyed Marlon and Luis the most. Marlon gave me a spanish lesson at every meal. Our bungalow was awesome. We will be going back to this lodge again. And you don't need a fitness center. From the hikes you take and the 200+ steps to bungalow 13 or 14, you've had your workout.

Room Tip: Bungalow's 13 and 14 have over 200 steps to the dining room. If you don't like steps, chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear MKDesire,
greetings from the rain forest of the Osa Peninsula. We were excited to read your review and still can feel your excitement and passion that you developed for the wildlife and nature at Lapa Rios. Many of our guests comment that they have seen more wildlife at Lapa Rios (often from the deck of their bungalows or the restaurant or like in your case, just lying in bed) than during the rest of their trip in Costa Rica. Thanks for the special mention of some of our staff members. This means a lot to us and is a great motivation for them to continue to show the best of the Osa to our guests. We are thrilled to hear that you are already planning to come back and we promise to continue to keep you safe from all creatures of the rain forest like all of our other guests in the past 20 years. Happy Holidays and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    32
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
90
215
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ambler
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was an amazing adventure filled with extraordinary wildlife...many different species of monkeys,especially enjoyed the awesome Howler monkeys and their 4:30 AM wake up calls...they cause the forest to reverberate with their calls!
We were treated to gorgeous Scarlet Macaws,Toucans galore,huge Iguanas, dozens of frogs....and so much more.
The naturalists on the property were incredibly well informed,patient, and they made our experience a once in a lifetime treat!
The accommodations were wonderful...beautifully appointed bungalows with a VERY private deck facing the forest and the Pacific...with a terrific hammock, comfortable furniture,and an outside shower. The interior was beautiful as well, and had two more showers....the screens kept out unwanted visitors(bugs)...but allowed for the natural surroundings to enhance your feeling of being in this incredible environment.
The walk up to the main area from our bungalow did prove to be somewhat challenging....however, by the second day, we got smart and made use of the walking sticks that were provided to help ease the trek!
The early morning and night time nature walks were both AWESOME! We highly recommend doing both! We got back in time for a glorious breakfast on the deck and a delicious dinner after the night walk. Each adventure provided a different experience and one that will remain Unforgettable!
The staff at Lapo Rios is well informed, eager to help, and treated us as though we were very special guests!
On both our trips to and from the property( we were met in Porto Jiminez by the Ecolodge's driver)
The driver slowed to show us monkeys, an owl,hawks, and Toucans! His pride and expertise certainly enhanced our adventure!
We had an amazing experience and Highly recommend the Lapo Rios Ecolodge in the OSA Peninsula to anyone who is seeking to get one with nature in a glorious setting!
By the way, there is no WiFi, internet,t.v....so unplug and enjoy!

Room Tip: All amazing...if climbing steps is a BIG problem...ask for bungalows 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethtown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I feel so lucky to have spent 10 days touring Costa Rica and making memories with my 73-year-old mom. We flew from San Jose to Osa Peninsula in a small plane which I thoroughly enjoyed. I was a little nervous at first but enjoyed it better than flying in a jet. The view was amazing and I had my face against the window the whole trip. Once at Lapa Rios, we relaxed at the non-chlorine pool, ate three healthy delicious meals a day, went to the beach and swam in the warm ocean, and spent quality time with my mom while getting pampered. The tours during the day were fun and educational. It was nice to see that Lapa Rios supports the local community. Each evening, a local artist would exhibit their work in the dining room. I feel fortunate to spend time in the rain forest seeing the different plants, animals, birds, and insects. If you're interested in an unusual, educational, healthy, rewarding vacation, then this type of vacation is for you. We were in the middle of the rain forest, yet we ate delicious food, stayed in luxurious rooms with the best smelling organic body lotion and soap, amazing scenery, and felt safe at all times. The staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable. If you're not a big fan of insects, you will still love your stay at Lapa Rios--I did.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with steps, get a room close to the clubhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had an excellent time at Lapa Rios!

We chose Lapa Rios for a week long vacation in September/October of 2013. We had an excellent time hanging out by the pool, going on all the on-property tours and a few off property excursions. The tour guides were knowledgable and friendly and the other staff members were attentive and knew our names.

The bungalows were very private and had morning delivery of coffee. Often they would drop by mid-day with a snack if they knew you were in your room. The rooms are open with screens on the windows to keep out the bugs and there is a hammock on the patio for afternoon naps.

The food on property was excellent and cooked to perfection. There was a lot of variety for a long stay. The wait staff is beyond amazing and made each meal a wonderful experience. Portions are large so you'll never go hungry and the leftovers get fed to the pigs. Love that!

We would absolutely recommend Lapa Rios to anyone looking to visit the jungles of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I can't believe I had the opportunity to visit Lapa Rios and if you are considering it, stop the search and book it now! I promise you won't regret it! It is by far the most amazing place I have ever traveled to and I am definitely going back as soon as possible.
1) The staff is INCREDIBLE. They anticipate every need, are extremely helpful and accommodating, and very professional. But more than that, they are friendly and completely genuine, and I know that I made some great new friendships during my time down there. I felt very warmly welcomed from the moment I arrived.
2) The setting is unforgettable, a true paradise. Animals everywhere, there is never a dull moment in the jungle! Stunning views of the surrounding hills and the bright blue ocean. The various tours/hikes the hotel offers throughout the day are fascinating and a great chance to experience the rain forest in all its glory- sign up for as many as you can!
3) This place is a true eco-lodge, and take it from a Tourism/Ecotourism major, no "greenwashing" here! If you are concerned about having a truly green vacation rest assured Lapa Rios is doing amazing things when it comes to sustainable tourism. I could list all the wonderful things they do within the hotel and out in the community but a lot of it is already on their website, and once you get down there they have a great sustainability tour that highlights all this. By staying here you would be supporting a great cause. It's legitimate, folks. Highly recommend learning more about their efforts, very inspiring.

I could go on and on, but this is already getting long so I'll wrap it up by saying this is one pristine corner of the world that simply needs to be experienced, and no one could provide you with a more perfect experience than Lapa Rios! You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Go in with an open mind/knowing that you will be sleeping in a jungle that never sleeps. There may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed with friends during October's rainy season. Lapa Rios was one of our favorite destinations on our 14 day stay in beautiful Costa Rica. The setting on the Oso Peninsula was magic! The staff were warm, welcoming and attended to your every need. The rooms were pure luxury in the jungle with every ammenity. The gorgeous Pool with its observation deck and breathtaking views, The views from our deck over the ocean with the Scarlet Macaws, Toucans, parrots and countless other birds and monkeys were amazing.....Avatar Land! The FOOD was Delicious,fresh, innovative and healthy, presentation was beautiful, great cocktails and the service absolutley the best! The bartender (Ivan), luv him! gave us a private lesson and let us make his specialty drinks with the recipes. The simple touches of wonderful Costa Rican coffee with steamed milk delivered to your casita with their homemade Banana Bread will never be forgotten. The tours led by their knowledgeable field guides were the best! All of us were touched and left Lapa Rios with an enhanced awareness of nature and an appreciation for the beauty of the Oso Peninsula. Thank you my friends, we cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are amazing!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We came to Lapa Rios for our honeymoon and it was the best decision we made.

With incredibly friendly and helpful staff, Lapa Rios made us feel like family the moment we arrived and were greeted with fruit juice. The land is spectacular. You're right in the jungle and a 10 minute walk to the beach.

We spent 1 week there and didn't feel like we wanted to leave. We absolutely enjoyed every moment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Address: Osa Peninsula, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a private nature reserve spread over 1,000 acres of Central America's last remaining lowland tropical rainforest in Costa Rica, Lapa Rios Ecolodge overlooks the pristine point where the Golfo Dulce meets the wild Pacific Ocean, a destination matching everyone's idea of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Hotel Playa Matapalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.