We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Chequers Inn

The Chequers Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thompson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chequers Inn
Save
You added The Chequers Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Griston Road, Thompson IP24 IPX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Thompson B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The pub is a real olde worlde thatched building tucked away in the village of Thompson.

Have eaten here many times in the past and have always been perferctly satisfied. However on this occassion things were not quite so good. Service was very slow and when the food came the chips were hard and gave the impression that they had been in the kitchen for some time. The burger in spite of being described as coming from a local butcher in all honesty was not the best I had eaten.

The pub was quite full which may have contributed to the slow service. Perhaps it was the usual chefs day off.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Parked here early on Sunday, walked locally then took our seats for lunch.

Low thatched building with several small rooms/bars, good range of beers. Sunday lunch is a fixed price roast (2 or 3 courses) or a La Carte. We had three roasts and an A La Carte. Roasts were nothing exceptional, potatoes were probably last nights roasted for Sunday, meat was not a good cut and yorkshire puddings were firm to hard., A La Carte looked good (Lasagne).

If visting again would only have sandwichs/chips as these would be freshly made; not convinced what we had was not pre-prepared a long time in advance.

Lots of character as a country pub but not somewhere we would recommend for an evening meal.

Did not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Visited the restaurant here on two consecutive nights whilst staying at a local B&B, on both nights the food was most enjoyable and the service friendly and efficient – my husband can certainly recommend the steak & kidney pudding!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Firstly the Chequers is not in Thetford, it is much closer to Watton in Norfolk and adjacent to an excellent walk called the Great Eastern Pingo Trail, so if you enjoy a brisk walk followed by a nice meal in welcoming surroundings then the Chequers fits the bill.
The staff are very welcoming friendly and attentive.
We enjoyed an excellent Sunday lunch, having a good choice of dishes as well as a wide range of drinks.
The building itself is a lovely olde worlde thatched inn tucked away in the village of Thompson.
Do take the time to find this well hidden Norfolk gem!! It will be worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1066 Country
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Didn't stay here, as we were B&B ing just round the corner, but enjoyed a very honest and tasty meal on Sunday evening. The place was well patronised by locals which is always a good sign, the building itself is very interesting, although being 6'3 it was at times challenging, especially after a couple of delicious pints of Adnams bitter.

Steak done to perfection with perfect fries and a flavoursome peppercorn sauce for me, and trout and creamed leaks for Janet.

Very sweet staff as well, knowledgable and keen to help.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

We had to travel up to norfolk to visit realatives who live in watton we could not find anywhere in watton its self to stay on the web and so booked the chequers a pub with accomodation when we arrived we discovered it was a thatch long house with the accomodation in a seperate barn building the room was good clean and warm the best bit was the inn its self for a wendsday night it was busy we had a meal and it was excellent and the bar was lively and very friendly when we are next in watton we will stay here it was excellent value for money the breakfast was scrummy and the guy who ran it was great

  • Liked — the inn next door
  • Disliked — hard bed
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Address: Griston Road, Thompson IP24 IPX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thompson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thompson
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chequers Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chequers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.