We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“day out with the grandchildren” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puxton Park

Puxton Park
Cowslip Lane, Hewish, Weston super Mare BS24 6AH, England
01934523500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Hewish
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Farms, Ranch & Farm
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“day out with the grandchildren”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

fun day all round plenty to keep kids amused lots of animals to see and get involved with.soft play area indooors and plenty of picnic areas

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, Managing Director at Puxton Park, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

We are thrilled that you found Puxton Park to be a "fun day all round" and that you found we offered plenty of attractions to keep your children amused. We are always adding new additions to the park so we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

As you state we do offer plenty of picnic areas for people wanting to bring their own lunch and for those who do not, we offer Meadows Restaurant and McPuxton's.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    102
    29
    23
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good value best for families.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Puxton park is really a day out for the children, lots to see and lots to do. I often take my daughter and her three small children for the morning on a Sunday and we then have a traditional carvery Sunday lunch.
This is no restaurant, this is a carvery with good intentions, and the meat is usually very good and the portions generous. The vegetables could do with a little more love and attention, but pound for pound Puxton offers a reasonable day out and a reasonable Sunday lunch and a reasonable price.....be warned though, if you want a quiet meal, this is not the place for you, the small children make very sure of that. Oh, and it's completely self service so if you have very young children you need at least two adults to save on the stress factors and spilt drinks and gravy everywhere.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, Managing Director at Puxton Park, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

It is very pleasing to read your highly positive comments regarding Puxton park as a "good day out for children which is reasonably priced." We are also thrilled to know you are a regular visitor.

We are also pleased to read that you find our Sunday Carvery meat be very good and the portions generous. We are sorry that you feel the vegetables could do with a little more love and attention but we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“puxton park 18 feb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

excellent got to hold barn owl and very disabled friendly and food was excellent loved birds of prey 3 boys had great day

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Kids Parties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just had my son's tenth birthday party there. Really good. He loved it, so did his friends. Staff were all friendly. Reception helped with booking and telling us what was happening and then 'Dan' our party host took over. He was there to help and offer suggestions when we needed it and gave us space to do what we wanted.
The kids all loved the playbarn and especially enjoyed climbing through the maze (so they could come first) and the bouncy thing outside was great fun to try and stay up on whilst their friends tried to pull them down.
Can't recommend it enough for kids parties!! Will definitely do it again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, Managing Director at Puxton Park, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

It is great to receive such excellent feedback about our birthday parties. We are pleased that your son and all of his friends enjoyed sharing his special day with us here at Puxton Park.

We are happy that you found your party host to be helpful throughout your party and that not only would you recommend our parties but you would also hold another party here again!

Many thanks for your highly valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Great for teenies and foodies!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Took my two children there for the day who are 7 and 9 and they had a lovely time..although they are a little old for it i feel. The milking shed is a highlight, shame there were no animals outside due to building work. Everything is clean and well maintained but wellies are a must as a lot of the areas are very very muddy. The restaurant is lovely...very busy but speedy and the value is amazing..a big plate of lamb chops from their farm just over five quid. Special mention must go to the lad who served us Chris...nothing was too much trouble and he was really friendly. Superb customer service from the lad despite it being so busy. The shop is also excellent for meat, cider and cheeses..worth a visit alone!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, Managing Director at Puxton Park, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are thrilled that your brought your two children for a day our at Puxton Park and that they had a "lovely time".

As you point out wellies are recommended and we state this on our website because due to the heavy rainfall we have experienced lately some parts of our park are very wet. Improvements are going on at Puxton Park at the moment however to help minimise flooding in the future.

We are pleased you found the restaurant to be "lovely and amazing value." We would also like to thank you for giving Chris a special mention for his hard work and superb customer service.

Finally, it is nice to read your positive comments about the farmshop which offers an excellent variety of meat, cider and cheeses.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puxton Park also viewed

 
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Puxton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puxton Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.