We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, facilities and staff but catering let it down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rookery Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rookery Manor to your Saves list
Rookery Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Edingworth Road | Weston-super-Mare, Edingworth, Weston super Mare BS24 0JB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edingworth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice location, facilities and staff but catering let it down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Rookery Manor was selected as it was very reasonably priced for a spa break (we did take advantage of an offer and so paid around £75 / night).
We found it OK and duly checked in and dropped things off in our room before visiting the spa. The spa is clean and the staff pleasant but we were surprised at having to pay £5 each per day for robe and slippers, particularly to later be told that no towel replacements are allowed! Bearing in mind the room rate we decided that wasn't a problem though and then had dinner in the restaurant. I need to point out that the prices were by no means exorbitant but the quality of the food was basic pub catering at best.
The following day we had breakfast and although the continental selections were OK, my smoked salmon and scrambled egg was difficult to describe but in short it was not pleasant. We tried lunch in the spa. My partner ordered sandwiches which were nice but I ordered a tuna nicoise salad which turned out to be a very bad idea. Some leaves with a dollop of tuna mayonnaise was served up. No potatoes, olives, anchovies .... I replaced that with sandwiches and we decided to eat out that night. The following morning we both tried poached eggs on toast (surely that can't go wrong we thought). The eggs had been boiled in water laced with so much vinegar I might as well have been swigging from the bottle!
I have concentrated on the bad points which were the food but I think it is important to point out that despite a small damp problem in the room, the positives were the staff (very friendly), the value for money and the spa itself (complete with outdoor jacuzzi).
The hotel receptionist did point out some new chefs had started and the feedback was taken in good grace so those problems may well not exist any longer.
I'd advise checking other reviews but if you want a reasonably priced spa break and are visiting off season I still think it's worth a visit!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    115
    76
    48
    33
See reviews for
67
209
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My fiancée, 1 yr old son and i made our 2 hour journey down to Edingworth, On arrival we found all the staff to be really nice, our only 1 gripe was that as we had a little baby with us he needed to be fed before the wedding. However at 12:30 on a Saturday we were told the chief had gone home so no one could supply any hot food. We were really disappointed as there was a restaurant and a bar yet no one could muster up anything. However our little knight in shining armour was one of the waitress's who kindly offered to make us some toast & Jam, it was a real life saver as we also couldn't get into our rooms until 2pm so we couldn't even organise any food for him prior to the wedding. Maybe we should have been a little better organised but to be honest as a guest we should have been warned about the closing times.

All in all though a really great venue for a wedding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is lovely , big rooms well decorated, food in restaurant excellent.
Spa catering let it down for me ,The facilities were clean and well maintained the pool ect , but very disappointed with afternoon tea . Had to wait short time as staff busy although pre booked , then when food arrived no plates again a wait . Food had obviosly been made at time of order two hours before as boring sandwiches dryed up ,white plastic bread ! Selection of cakes was not .Why would you want three pieces of the same cake , Half a cup of tea , no pot . Felt ripped off ,not cheap .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

From the moment we booked into this hotel with Emma, the friendly, efficient receptionist, we loved this place.

Our room in Rookery Lodge appeared almost brand new and was exceptionally clean, comfortable and attractive with a delightful balcony overlooking the Somerset countryside.

The venue for the New Year's celebration was really beautiful, with just the right amount of lighting and atmosphere. The buffet was excellent and the staff extremely friendly and efficient.
However, a very big "blip" for us was the disco. The D.J. didn't interact with his audience very well, and the music was, in our opinion, unbearably loud towards the end of the evening. Yes, I know it was New Year's Eve, but we would have preferred quality over quantity!

However, overall, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel to friends and family. Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES,UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I visited the hotel for a week-end stay for our friends son's wedding back in July. Sorry about the delay in writing the review but here goes anyway.

Location is about 10 minutes off the M5 motorway so very easy to get to by car etc. On arrival very impressed with the grounds and set up of the wedding venue, reception area / come bar area was very small but ok because we were all arriving at different times. Checked in within about 10 minutes of arrival and got to our room which was in the old manor house. Very nice and cosy with tea / coffee and biscuits, lovely soft bed and immaculate bathroom.

On our first night we all decided to go into Weston Super Mare for the evening and while waiting for the taxi's decided to have a drink in the bar area, this was the start of my negatives for the hotel. In the bar area there is no draught beers or lagers etc only bottles but how any establishment can justify 350% profit on a bottle of Fosters lager beats me. £3.60 for a 330ml bottle is just not on, and it was even more if you fancied a cider etc?

Our evening out in Weston was very enjoyable and prices in most of the pubs and bars are what you would pay back home, so a nice suprise after the shock of the hotel prices.

In fairness the wedding the following day was a great event, the weather held out so the bride and groom had some memorable photo shoots. The gardens and other areas for the couples photo's could not be faulted. The wedding reception and evening reception was very good and they even had draught beers on, although they were all over £4.00 per pint whatever you drank.

If you could get some sort of a discount to stay at this hotel which would then offset the ridiculous bar prices then I would recommend this hotel. On the other hand within a mile or two of Rookery Manor theres some great pubs doing excellent B&B deals, so my advice is to do your homework before booking.

Room Tip: Research close by pubs for B&B and probably save 50%.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We visited this hotel to attend a friend's wedding. We were greeted by a deserted reception which wasn't a good start however after a short wait the receptionist appeared and checked us in. She was extremely friendly which made up for the fact that she wasn't there to greet us. The weather was attrocious with pouring rain and because reception is a fair distance from the main manor house where our room was, we got quite wet dragging our suitcase across the pathways. It would have been a nice touch if umbrellas were available as it seems most of the rooms require you to walk outside to reach them. Our room was very grand with a four poster bed with memory foam matress, and a huge jaccuzzi bath both of which was totally unexpected. The wedding was very well organised and seemed to go without a hitch but the room the wedding was held in was some distance from reception and our room so again got wet while walking to and fro. Breakfast the next morning was buffet style and of limited choice however it was adequate. When checking out our bill was higher than expected, when this was challenged the receptionist apologised for the error and quickly sorted it out for us. Overall the hotel seems to be mainly pitched at weddings, spa days and functions rather than a weekend retreat. Although you cannot see it,the hotel is set very close to the motorway so the noise in the gardens, which are fabulous even in winter, is very loud and would make it very difficult to sit and relax in the grounds in more clement weather however you could not hear the motorway noise in the bedrooms thanks to great double glazing. This place is more a wedding venue with rooms for guests rather than a proper hotel as there is no proper bar just a small kind of hatch off reception with no draught beer, in fact only one kind beer was available and although we didn't eat in the bistro, the menu looked very limited. Overall though our stay was very comfortable but not sure I would visit again unless I was attending another wedding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Visited the spa and had the "October" special deal - cost £40 and was worth it I think. Nice place to go for a chill out. Would definitely go again, but only if they have deals on as, under normal price structure it is quite expensive. Worth mentioning that they use Elemis products here which are great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edingworth
4.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#5 of 30 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weston Super Mare Seafront
Premier Inn Weston Super Mare Se...
#7 of 30 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#11 of 30 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 30 in Weston super Mare
3.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 30 in Weston super Mare
3.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare - Lympsham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Manor

Address: Edingworth Road | Weston-super-Mare, Edingworth, Weston super Mare BS24 0JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare > Edingworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edingworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and exceptional service awaits you at 16th century Rookery Manor – the South West's award-winning, 4-star boutique hotel and spa.Set in the heart of Somerset, this historic estate is a beautiful backdrop for your spa break, wedding, corporate event, private party or dining experience.Owner Ian Clapp, whose family has lived at the manor for four generations, has created a unique venue with stunning lakeside gardens and a luxurious Elemis spa.Ideally situated in 28 acres of countryside, yet with easy access to the M5, Rookery Manor is the perfect hotel for all kinds of special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Rookery Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Manor Hotel Edingworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rookery Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.