We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely retreat...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Ait Moussa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kasbah Ait Moussa to your Saves list
Kasbah Ait Moussa
Taswit Azlag Ait | Vallée des Roses, El Kelaa M'gouna 45 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A lovely retreat...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A magnificent restored old Kasbah away from the main road and city (so its wise to call them and be picked up-otherwise difficult to find) located among trees and beside a small river. An oasis with lovely "smells" from flowers and many birds flying around!!!
We had a great stay, relaxing after the desert...and were treated like kings from the stuff. Many " design" furniture naturally combined with local craft items.
The food was great with local products and recipes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
86
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place is awesome... elements of exotic Moroccan chic but not at all over the top; the architectural and design elements are restrained in a way more common to an urban modern minimalism. I felt more at home here than any other place I stayed on a 60 day trip through Africa. Love it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Everything about this Kasbah was enchanting. It is impeccably decorated, beautifully tended to and located in a completely magical little piece of land that honestly smells of roses. They grow in the fields all over the area. The service was graceful and attentive. The food was some of the best that we had during our travels in Morocco. I will admit that it would have been tricky to find on our own, but the Kasbah send a very friendly employee to meet us on the main road. I actually think that it's tucked away location only makes it more enjoyable. I joked to my travel companion that waking up in the Kasbah underneath a white gauze canopy, surrounded by beautiful silk pillows, listening to the sound of birds chirping outside and inhaling the scent of roses, was very much like being inside a fairy tale. I hope to visit again in the future for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venaria - Torino
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Kasbah is simply beatiful. Accomodation is fine dinner and breakfast are perfect.
The only big problem is to find it. Nowhere I read it is 10 minutes off road driving. Only a small sign at the entrance on the unpaverd road then it is up to you to find it. We passed over it twice but could not recognize the place because there are no signs and the Kasbah is located behind trees and is not visible at all.
I just wonder why the owner does not put directions. 3-4 indications on the road would be sufficient and would certainly help his business.
We found it after 40 minutes wondering around those dusty roads asking to several people but nobody knows it or, just to try to help you, they provide wrong directions.
We were lucky we found it after 40 min but the simplest way is that you call them once in the area.
As soon as you get in the kasbah you are in paradise.
I would reccomend it.

Room Tip: They are all fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, Montana
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here one night on our way to Fez. It could be hard to find but they will meet you in town so you can follow them. We did find it on our own by sheer luck and nice local people. Once you do get there it is beautiful. Our room was wonderful with it's own private terrace. Dinner and breakfast was wonderful. It was a very relaxed environment and has a nice pool. There is no Wifi which would be my only reason for not doing a longer stay. As in all the Riad's and Kasbah we stayed in if you have problems with stairs you should check and see if they have any rooms on the ground floor because the stairs could be very difficult for some people. Very nice staff as well. Is a little off the beaten path if you want to go into town for dinner etc. We ate there and were only there for one night so it was fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stopped here for just a night on our way east after time in the desert and then exploring Dades Gorge. We wish we had more time here. It's a gorgeously restored kasbah with many modern design elements incoporated into the beautiful original details. You can tell the owners really embraced this as a true design project and you will marvel at the details as you walk around. The roof terrace is especially stunning at sunset. Staff were warm and helpful and we would highly recommend this as a superb stopover as you continue a trek around Morocco in either direction.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Wonderful place. From meeting up with Mustafa on his motorbike at the municipality office in Klaat m'gouna where he showed us the way out of town, down the dusty roads through a couple of local villages, over the bridge and into the valley with amazing almond trees, which were flowering, we found ourselves at the Ait Moussa. Great room, up in the main building. Architecture and atmosphere of the kasbah is great, with good hosts Mustafa and Hussein, and Tuda the morning cook. They were great with the children.

The kids loved the place, especially the splash pool. Shame the water was so cold. Great walks around the almond tree plantations, and the local villages.

Room Tip: The suit that we were shown was nice, but the rooms in the main building with the views across the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah Ait Moussa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Ait Moussa

Address: Taswit Azlag Ait | Vallée des Roses, El Kelaa M'gouna 45 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > El Kelaa M'gouna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in El Kelaa M'gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kasbah Ait Moussa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Ait Moussa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.